InfiniteMac OSx86

InfiniteMac OSx86 (http://infinitemac.com/forum.php)
-   Lion 10.7 (http://infinitemac.com/forumdisplay.php?f=100)
-   -   Lion with AMD (http://infinitemac.com/showthread.php?t=7106)

corrado891 04-15-2011 07:58 PM

Lion with AMD
 
Has anyone had any luck with installing Lion dev preview on an AMD system? If so, any tricks/advice you can pass along?

Thanks!

xXrkidXx 04-15-2011 10:10 PM

Well my first guess is you would need kexts for all your hardware(At the very least the basic stuff to run it) and a patched kernel because AMD can't run vanilla.

scififan68 04-16-2011 02:38 AM

Not until the sources for the kernel comes out, which will be after Lion is officially released.

LinearBurn 04-27-2011 05:25 AM

well realy strange thing happend on the amd hackintosh i installed 10.7 for giggles it crashed ov cource but the weird thing is it correctly indentified my amd quad by model and name ... it locked up on probing pci bus

wastez 04-27-2011 08:52 AM

Can you tell me how you want to run 10.7 with a amd?
Because there is no kernel which allow to run a amd with lion!!!

akimoa 04-27-2011 11:54 AM

he doesnt have any different way then intel users i suppose.... he just tryed and failed

but why not try with andys atom kernel for DP2 but i wont spend the time on it unless the sources are in qualified hands !

LinearBurn 07-20-2011 10:43 PM

try booting lion with the 10.6.8 kernel it should work i used stock vanilla 10.6.8 kernel for a while before i fixed my install on my in tell pc

akimoa 07-21-2011 08:19 AM

Dogs Bollox ....just checked it again u wont boot Lion with legacy kernel from 10.6.8 as simple it is !

Seby 07-21-2011 06:15 PM

Sources are out http://www.opensource.apple.com/release/mac-os-x-107/

Waiting for patched kernel.. hoping this will released soon

friken 07-21-2011 10:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seby (Post 54577)
Sources are out http://www.opensource.apple.com/release/mac-os-x-107/

Waiting for patched kernel.. hoping this will released soon

Yep, can't wait to get a new legacy kernel for 10.7.4.. not sure what the process for upgrading will be from 10.6.8. I'd rather not have to do a full fresh install. I hope nawcom needing to step away for a while doesn't delay getting a legacy kernel. Best of wishes to him though.

Seby 07-25-2011 06:15 PM

Anyone is working on it?

maya77 07-25-2011 09:40 PM

History repeats...

Voodoo Team have done great work on 10.5 kernel for AMD.
10.6 came out, Voodoo Project was dead, and we were not able to run 10.6 on AMD for a long time (at least there was no stable solution).

nawcom made great legacy kernel for 10.6/AMD users. We were happy and satisfied again.
10.7 is out, unfortunately nawcom has some serious medical issues, and we have to wait for some new legacy kernel project.

davisin666 07-25-2011 10:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maya77 (Post 54629)
History repeats...

Voodoo Team have done great work on 10.5 kernel for AMD.
10.6 came out, Voodoo Project was dead, and we were not able to run 10.6 on AMD for a long time (at least there was no stable solution).

nawcom made great legacy kernel for 10.6/AMD users. We were happy and satisfied again.
10.7 is out, unfortunately nawcom has some serious medical issues, and we have to wait for some new legacy kernel project.

And AnV???

wastez 07-26-2011 08:38 AM

What i know is one of the problems that the kernel source is incomplite.

Im not really sure but i think anv also takes the diff from nawcom. (correct me if im wrong)

Looks like it will take a while till we get a legacy_kernel which works.

Unrealized 07-31-2011 07:42 PM

Any news yet? I bought Lion already. :)

I would have tried compiling a kernel with the legacy kernel diff but it would have needed a Lion installation first in order to compile. :-/

Does Lion require full 64-bit mode? (Which isn't possible for me with Legacy Kernel on SL at least)

Hadriel 08-09-2011 09:22 AM

so with a patched kernel, would it be possible to run lion on my PC?
I really want to get a Tri-boot going.
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
16.0 GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. GA-870A-USB3
AMD Radeon HD 6970 2GB

(Any other info on my PC: http://speccy.piriform.com/results/4...wlfmhtwdAsCIrJ)

Seby 08-09-2011 11:35 AM

That's the problem.. we need patched kernel first

Unrealized 08-09-2011 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seby (Post 54842)
That's the problem.. we need patched kernel first

Yep, now if we only had someone to do the job for us.. Or someone willing to buy me a macbook pro so I could compile the Lion kernel with legacy kernel diff ;)

Lordadmiral Drake 08-11-2011 05:25 PM

@unrealized: Can't you compile on your hack under 10.6.7?

Unrealized 08-11-2011 07:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lordadmiral Drake (Post 54877)
@unrealized: Can't you compile on your hack under 10.6.7?

It needs the newest Xcode, which needs Lion. :(

scififan68 08-11-2011 07:43 PM

I have a computer with Lion on it, though I doubt the patches would just work without changing anything.

shaetech 08-12-2011 12:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unrealized (Post 54845)
Yep, now if we only had someone to do the job for us.. Or someone willing to buy me a macbook pro so I could compile the Lion kernel with legacy kernel diff ;)

Much work involved in compiling the kernel? I have a MBP running Lion... also have a PC (amd proc) that I want to get Lion onto...

Lordadmiral Drake 08-12-2011 10:20 AM

I have a hackintosh running Lion on an i5-2500K + 8GB memory. I just gotta get latest xcode, then I could compile.

Unrealized 08-12-2011 12:45 PM

They have no use, unless you know C++ :-/

Lordadmiral Drake 08-14-2011 05:53 PM

I meant that, someone, who has the skills should implement the changes in the code, then send me the files to compile if he cant do that himself

naidb 08-16-2011 04:08 AM

macxxx
 
I want a lion like a lion, but the new kernel is released again. I was waiting.
Spec grade fuel to reflect that.
cpu phenomellx3 720 be unlock b20 x4.
gigabyte ma785gmt-us2h.
memmory 2x2 4G ddr3 1600 corsere.
display ghaphic hd5670 1G ddr5 sapphire.
I now use snow10.6.8 legacy_kernel 10.8.0 by nowcom.

andyvand 08-23-2011 03:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shaetech (Post 54883)
Much work involved in compiling the kernel? I have a MBP running Lion... also have a PC (amd proc) that I want to get Lion onto...

Allready on it... I'm currently adapting the source patches of my latest kernel for Lion.
Work is progressing well... ;)
Keep you guys posted when the final build is made... :D
NOTE: Lion will require a 64bit CPU...

Unrealized 08-23-2011 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by andyvand (Post 55048)
Allready on it... I'm currently adapting the source patches of my latest kernel for Lion.
Work is progressing well... ;)
Keep you guys posted when the final build is made... :D
NOTE: Lion will require a 64bit CPU...

I can't even think of a person who wouldn't have a 64-bit cpu nowadays.

Seby 08-24-2011 10:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by andyvand (Post 55048)
Allready on it... I'm currently adapting the source patches of my latest kernel for Lion.
Work is progressing well... ;)
Keep you guys posted when the final build is made... :D
NOTE: Lion will require a 64bit CPU...

Thanks! :D Good luck

andyvand 08-24-2011 11:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seby (Post 55068)
Thanks! :D Good luck

Thanks, I finished making the patches yesterday.
Now some minor changes to the build scripts and I can upload the sources + built product (NOTE: I'm using Xcode 3.2.6 atm for building them, wastez will afterwards recompile the sources with Xcode 4.1 for final build)

$The-King$ 08-24-2011 02:34 PM

is the new kernel will fix kernel panic that occur when set sata on raid mode ? :)

Lordadmiral Drake 08-24-2011 08:01 PM

Great news, can't wait for it. Now I got to get my Laptop to boot my Lion install USB-Stick
(Freezes on startup while detecting devices when stick is plugged)

m4f1050 08-25-2011 01:19 AM

Subscribed! I have OS X 10.6.8 on AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 6000+ (on an XFX NForce 750a motherboard) and would like 10.7.x! :)

Seby 08-25-2011 07:43 AM

Guys, do you think my pc will run Lion?

Amd Turion 64x2
Nvidia 8400m gs 256mb

Edihigh 08-25-2011 09:08 AM

Thanks AnV i really thought amd on Hackintosh is dead :)

Unrealized 08-25-2011 11:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by andyvand (Post 55075)
Thanks, I finished making the patches yesterday.
Now some minor changes to the build scripts and I can upload the sources + built product (NOTE: I'm using Xcode 3.2.6 atm for building them, wastez will afterwards recompile the sources with Xcode 4.1 for final build)

Good luck! :)

Benoit934 08-25-2011 08:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by andyvand (Post 55075)
Thanks, I finished making the patches yesterday.
Now some minor changes to the build scripts and I can upload the sources + built product (NOTE: I'm using Xcode 3.2.6 atm for building them, wastez will afterwards recompile the sources with Xcode 4.1 for final build)

I hope you successful :D

eXcalibre 08-26-2011 10:30 PM

timescale
 
Any idea on the timescale of the released kernel?

just keep to give Lion a try.:D

Benoit934 08-26-2011 10:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eXcalibre (Post 55213)
Any idea on the timescale of the released kernel?

just keep to give Lion a try.:D

Me when a fix a bug i have two other bugs if he have the same problem we can wait :D

m4f1050 08-28-2011 04:50 PM

Desperate on this as well. I upgraded to a GeForce GTS 450 from on-board GeForce 8200 (no QE/CI) had to use Opera for Youtube LOL

Problem in 10.6.8 is my system freezes! I am actually running a QuickTime video on the background just to get a few hours of use. Before I could only use the system a few minutes.

Next thing im going to try (since I don't use it) is disable the HDMI on the board.

akimoa 08-28-2011 05:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by m4f1050 (Post 55240)
Desperate on this as well. I upgraded to a GeForce GTS 450 from on-board GeForce 8200 (no QE/CI) had to use Opera for Youtube LOL

Problem in 10.6.8 is my system freezes! I am actually running a QuickTime video on the background just to get a few hours of use. Before I could only use the system a few minutes.

Next thing im going to try (since I don't use it) is disable the HDMI on the board.

im asuming u on 10.6.8 AMD with nawcoms latest kernel ...if thats the case go back a few kernels like to 10.6.6 or 10.6.5 to avoid the freezes and when u do that be shure also go back in ACPI Kexts otherwise older kernel won't boot ..the freezes occure since the kernel changed a bit from older version wich he wasn't able to solve yet

todesto 08-29-2011 07:11 PM

can't wait
 
Just when I though I was out.....They pull me right BACK in! (quote from Godfather III ;))

I was gonna stay with 10.6.7 with my AMD system, but now I see the light!

Thanks Andy!

mayx 08-30-2011 07:36 AM

Thank you, Andy, you save my amd machine. :'(

Hope you success! ;)

m4f1050 08-31-2011 06:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by akimoa (Post 55243)
im asuming u on 10.6.8 AMD with nawcoms latest kernel ...if thats the case go back a few kernels like to 10.6.6 or 10.6.5 to avoid the freezes and when u do that be shure also go back in ACPI Kexts otherwise older kernel won't boot ..the freezes occure since the kernel changed a bit from older version wich he wasn't able to solve yet

I solved the freezing issue by running a script that opens a blank mp4 and sets the window size to 0,0,0,0 before I was hiding it but it was putting the GTS 450 to sleep and it would freeze. Ive had 3 days running without a freeze now. BUT I would like Lion 10.7 if possible. I have AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ CPU. And I am using Legacy Kernel 10.8 (by ????) <-- how do I find out?

friken 09-02-2011 09:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by andyvand (Post 55075)
Thanks, I finished making the patches yesterday.
Now some minor changes to the build scripts and I can upload the sources + built product (NOTE: I'm using Xcode 3.2.6 atm for building them, wastez will afterwards recompile the sources with Xcode 4.1 for final build)

Hi Andy, been a while since you posted the above. Any update for us? Thanks again for the work on this. You've got more than a few of us w/ AMDs itching to move to lion :)

I'm starting to hear more firm release dates on bulldozer too. Fingers crossed that it won't be too tough to get it working in osx.

maya77 09-03-2011 05:54 PM

nawcom may do it again!

Quote:

Originally Posted by nawcom
... Oh I also thought about AMD stuff. I havent really played with AMD lately. I guess I should, since not anyone really has gotten it working. I did see AnV make a lion legacy kernel, but since tested, it has failed every AMD user. So we still have some things to get finished I suppose.


nightf4ll 09-03-2011 09:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maya77 (Post 55366)
nawcom may do it again!

Long life AMD god Nawcom! ;) Now I have some hope of running Lion on my hackintosh.. :D

friken 09-03-2011 10:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maya77 (Post 55366)
nawcom may do it again!

Sweet! Would love a lion AMD kern.

My big worry is that bulldozer comes out and is as good as I hope and we have to wait a year or three to get a patched kern for it :/

nightf4ll 09-04-2011 12:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by friken (Post 55368)
Sweet! Would love a lion AMD kern.

My big worry is that bulldozer comes out and is as good as I hope and we have to wait a year or three to get a patched kern for it :/

Hmm, why dont u switch to Intel instead buying those new AMD processors? When they come out, Intel will have to reduce prices and the only extra cost for you will be new MB.

friken 09-04-2011 03:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nightf4ll (Post 55371)
Hmm, why dont u switch to Intel instead buying those new AMD processors? When they come out, Intel will have to reduce prices and the only extra cost for you will be new MB.

Not sure intel will drop prices. Right now it's ~3-4x cost difference to go intel between pricey mobos and way overpriced cpus. My 3 year old $100 (cheaper now) phenom2x2 unlocked 4 core and OC'd to 3.8Ghz has been a great thing for price/performance. My mobo was $39. Soooo short answer, I'm a cheap bastard ;)