PDA

View Full Version : leo4all vs zephyroth

shitan
05-22-2008, 05:48 AM
Ok, so I had this wonderful zephy install that made me very happy that died for no apparent reason.

I am thus in to reinstall my mac os install... and now that a few new distributions are out, I am wondering which to choose (i had zeph rev.1)

Since I have an AMD 4400+, A8N32-SLi, I am restricted ( i believe) to three distros:
- zephyroth
- leo4all
- the elusive JaS distro, which I don't think is actually out (for 10.5), except for a few beta testers..

So...I don't really know what's the difference between all? My only grudge with zephyroth is that it killed (in the version i had) X11, which I needed for matlab. Any advice? How should I make my decision?

dpollard55
05-22-2008, 06:08 AM
I'm not sure of the differences (sorry I'm still new to the osx86 scene) but I think Kalyway has a 10.5.2 release for AMD as well. I'm using Zephyroth updated to the 9.2.2 kernel and System kext, and so far I haven't had any problems. I guess the only way to really make a decision would be to try all 3 and see which one you personally like the best.

WinLinMac01
05-22-2008, 07:00 AM
Honestly, it all depends on "your" experience. If you find Zephyroth is working best for you, stick with his relese, if you think Eddie11c gives you better mileage, I would suggest to use his distro then. I would exactly go with what dpollard55 has to say. It doesn't hurt. =)

bhast2
05-22-2008, 07:17 AM
i agree with both dpollard55 and WinLinMac01

it depends on your system and how well it will run
i have an AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+
and i have tried every amd version out there
and zephyroth ran ok i had a few minor issues with it and so i tried other versions
kalyways i ran it for like a week ran ok but not as smooth as Zephyroth release
than i tried Leo4allv2 didn't like my g card very well so i went back the Kalyways
than leo4allv3 came out and it runs great on my system very smooth