PDA

View Full Version : Best OSX Version for AMD: Kalyway, Zephyroth etc?

AfxTwn
07-28-2008, 06:29 PM
Hi,

I am a newbie to the OSX86 world and want to dual boot it along with my Windows XP. My current specs are:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ processor
ASRock ALiveNF5-eSATA2+ R3.0 motherboard
Nvidia nForce 520 chipset
2GB of DDR2 Ram
Nvidia GeForce 6600 graphics card
2x Maxtor 6L200M0 189GB Sata HDD
Creative Audigy 2 Platinum soundcard

I have downloaded the Kalyway 10.5.2 OSX and burned it to a DVD as this was recommended on a few websites as a good/stable operating system for AMD PC's. I am not sure if it this is the best one as I have seen lots of other versions mentioned and I am also not sure whether it will install ok on my Sata hard drive. Could someone please tell me what would be the ideal OSX version to get for my specs and if it will be ok to install as a dual boot on my Sata hard drive. I currently have XP installed so I know I would have to partition my drive and I have downloaded Partition Magic 8 but I am not too sure how to do this.

I have previously tried to install OSX but I messed up a lot as I forgot to select the customize option and choose which parts I wanted to install (I also am not too sure what to select but I would imagine I just install anything that matches my PC's specs like the AMD stuff or nVidia stuff).

Any help would be greatly I appreciated.

Taisto
07-28-2008, 07:26 PM
As for me there is no best, or perfect Leo install either for Intel or AMD. Try install Zephyroth 10.5.2 Rev2 or LawlessPPC Phenom&AMD 10.5.4 relase. They both work on Athlon 64X2 CPUs. You shouldn`t have any problems with GFX Card - I have ATI and i`m not really in topic but i guess there`s a lot of kexts and installrs for GF6XXX Cards around. I`m not sure about nForce5 chipset - saw ppl reporting it as "no working" but im not sure.