PDA

View Full Version : Installation Help

samurai_47
01-19-2009, 01:37 AM
Hi, im very new to this whole Mac on the PC thing, ive gotten 2 different copies of OS X, one is LawlessPPC Phenom AMD v10.5.4 and the other is OS 10.5.1 AMD version (srry dont know the distribution). So far ive tried to install on my laptop, desktop, and a USB HDD, all have failed. The AMD distro will only recognize my DVD drive on my laptop and the USB HDD, if its plugged in. I used Acronis to make a new partition on my desktop and my USB HDD. so that makes 3 partitions on my desktop and 2 in the USB HDD, both i made primary and labeled them 0xAF type drives.

The LawlessPPC distro will say Still waiting for root device when i try to install on my laptop, when i try on my desktop, it will get about 25% through the install then go to black and say something about a server crash (srry i cant be more specific). The AMD distro will get 75% through the install then crash to the same screen. oh and in regards to the root device problem, ive tried all the boot option solutions.

Heres my Specs for the two computers.

Laptop
HP Pavilion dv2845 se
Wistron MoBo
AMD Turion x2 2.1GHz SSE,SSE2,SSE3
4GB RAM
nForce Chipset
nVidia GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M (Windows says 128mb, Ubuntu says 512mb?)
SATA Western Digital HDD 250GB - 1 Partition
Current OS - Unbuntu 8.10

Desktop
ASUS m2n-SLI
nForce Chipset
AMD X64 Athlon X2 4400+ 2.3GHz SSE,SSE2, SSE3
2GB RAM
ATI Redeon HD 2600 Pro 512mb
Western Digital HDD 500Gb - 3 partitions, 1 - 127GB - Main, 2 - 287GB - Storage/Games, 3 - 50GB - OSX Drive (0xAF)
Current OS - Vista Ultimate 32bit

Portable HDD
Seagate FreeAgent Go 120GB
2 Partitions - 1 Storage, 2 - OS X (0xAF)

Sorry for the lengthy post, but i wanted to make sure i gave you guys all that info that i could. plz help i would very much apreciate it, oh and im trying to get the new iPC release too.

KusariNinja
01-19-2009, 12:08 PM