PDA

View Full Version : Noob here with a billion questions!

19transam81
01-23-2009, 05:31 AM
Hi i stumbled upon this forum from afterdawn.com. Anyway this duel boot thing is pretty sweet. Currently i have a macbook that i duel boot with leopard and XP SP2. I love leopard so much that i would like to put it on my desktop however i still need XP on that machine as well. Now i have store bought copies of both operating systems. I have no idea where to start. I know some things about computers, i mean i can partition a drive and put XP on a pc all day. But this seems like a little bit more of a project. Can i put my store bought copy of leopard on my PC just like i would if i was putting on XP? I want to put leopard on my dell. Its new and it has an intell chip. Please help get me started :)

Aydinz
01-23-2009, 08:46 AM
we need detailed models of all your hardware to start:

CPU:
MotherBoard:
Graphics Card:
RAM:
any other components like wireless cards and things as well :)

lanceomni
01-23-2009, 02:38 PM
aren't u off topic here????.

note by Puttabong: @erick2red, I deleted your post.

No I would say he is right on topic if not ahead of the game. I think it should be the goal for most of us to do a retail install. People use these distros because they come prepackaged and make installing a great deal less difficult. Repackaging OSX and sharing it with others is illegal no matter how you slice it. Likewise you are at the mercy of the distro's creator. No offense to our dev teams out there. ;) I would hope that if you were using a distro you would also have a purchased copy of OSX. This doesnt change the fact that its illegal but I think of it as moral grey area.

I think there should be a bigger push towards distros designed to compliment the retail disk to do a retail instal. There has been a lot of discussion on this topic and I think it is the way to go.

erick2red
01-23-2009, 02:55 PM
note by Puttabong: @erick2red, I deleted your post.