PDA

View Full Version : xcode breakpoints


erick2red
01-30-2009, 07:36 PM
hey, i'm using XCode 3.1 IDE to develop, and using voodoo kernel rc1, the point is that until now, xcode ignore the breakpoints i set.
Xcode skip breakpoints is a known issue when "Load Symbols lazily" option is checked, but this time, there's no difference for me....
there is other issue like this in the voodoo kernel issue list, but same as before.
i haven't tried with the kernels before rc1

i hope to know if someone out there has went through this, anyway i'll keep seraching for a solution, starting by downloading xcode 3.1.2 and then i'll report my status about the issue

erick

chocmac
02-03-2009, 10:39 PM
Hi erick,
I have the same problem. I am using xcode 3.1.2 though and have tried various options to no avail. Using 9.5.0 kernel. Don't think I can or should use older kernels since I'm on am

erick2red
02-03-2009, 11:17 PM
Hi erick,
I have the same problem. I am using xcode 3.1.2 though and have tried various options to no avail. Using 9.5.0 kernel. Don't think I can or should use older kernels since I'm on am
i mean voodoo beta's.

i'm having other issues, that may be cause by the kernel, by i can't post into voodoo developer site.
They say something about 9.6.0 in january 2009, but i'm still waiting

mx1975
02-04-2009, 05:54 AM
I have the same issue. XCode 3.1.2 on 10.5.6 voodoo kernel. let me know if you figure out.

erick2red
02-04-2009, 02:30 PM
I have the same issue. XCode 3.1.2 on 10.5.6 voodoo kernel. let me know if you figure out.
i'm having the same issue with Eclipse IDE, i'll try netbeans now, but i'm still thinking that is something about the kernel.
i think i will try voodoo beta

erick2red
02-04-2009, 02:37 PM
i'm having the same issue with Eclipse IDE, i'll try netbeans now, but i'm still thinking that is something about the kernel.
i think i will try voodoo beta
tested right no on xcode, still don't working

erick2red
02-04-2009, 06:30 PM
i'm having to some SIGBUS issues and i think it's because the kernel

erick2red
02-05-2009, 06:52 PM
now i change my kernel to 9.6.0 Voodoo based from Andy (on this same forum) and breakpoint now get recognize the first time on xcode, but when go to "Step Over" give me an error, netbeans, stop on the breakpoints and it's able to continue, but not show the debug marker....

i would like someone to recommend one kernel to develop

mx1975
02-09-2009, 05:45 AM
Did you find a solution for this problem? I'm using voodoo 9.5.0.

erick2red
02-09-2009, 05:13 PM
Did you find a solution for this problem? I'm using voodoo 9.5.0.
no, someone told me about TOH 9.2 but that too old, anyway i should try

erick2red
03-07-2009, 06:19 PM
ToH kernel works, 9.5 fassl works, iĺl try fassl to check functionality

overmind
04-27-2009, 06:10 PM
ToH kernel works, 9.5 fassl works, iĺl try fassl to check functionality

Got any luck?

erick2red
04-27-2009, 06:13 PM
Got any luck?
about what?

overmind
04-27-2009, 07:12 PM
about what?
In dealing with fassl.

erick2red
04-27-2009, 07:56 PM
Looks fine, but i find myself missing Sleep capability of Voodoo RC1.

overmind
04-27-2009, 08:04 PM
Excuse me for my incompetence, Is it possible to exchange kernel without reinstalling full OS?

erick2red
04-27-2009, 08:14 PM
yes, copy the kernel to /
change permissions to 644 then at boot prompt type the name of it.

First you need to get the kernel that you want to install, then goes to Terminal app, and do this:

cd /my/path/folder/where/new/kernel/is
sudo cp mynewkernel /mynewkernel
sudo chmod 644 mynewkernel
sudo chown 0:0 mynewkernel


after that reboot and at boot prompt type "mynewkernel" or the name you give it. So try -v so you can see what's happens.
You need to be care of two things:
1. Don't overwrite the old kernel, so you can boot again into the system. if something goes wrong.
2. If you can boot whit the kernel, you need to check out later some issues, about System.kext version matching, usb, and othger issues.

overmind
04-29-2009, 05:24 PM
In addition, can you tell where to get fassl kernel itself? Can't find it by own means at all. :(

erick2red
04-29-2009, 05:32 PM
You can get it from iatkos 5i, that's the one i tried. if you want i can send it to you. PM your email address.

erick2red
04-29-2009, 06:54 PM
Done, already send it.

overmind
05-06-2009, 09:27 PM
Oh my, looks like I'm in dead end with my AMD until voodoo team fix this issue:
http://www.koushikdutta.com/2009/05/breakpoints-not-working-when-debugging.html

And the kernel you've sent me is for Intel, not for AMD, isn't it?

erick2red
05-06-2009, 09:59 PM
Don't know, never know the author of fassl kernel.

overmind
05-06-2009, 10:45 PM
I've got some progress in investigation.
I've found related bugrecord: http://code.google.com/p/xnu-dev/issues/detail?id=246&colspec=ID%20Status%20Stars%20Priority%20Owner%20S ummary
Then I've downloaded Voodoo beta 2c, but I've failed to load it too. :[

This kernel and the one you have sent me stucks on this call:
"ACPI_SCM_PlatformPlugin::start - waitForService(resourceMatching(AppleIntelCPUPower Management) timed out
SAM Multimedia: READ or WRITE failed, SENSE_KEY = 0x06, ASC = 0x29, ASCQ = 0x00
...
SAM Multimedia: READ or WRITE failed, SENSE_KEY = 0x06, ASC = 0x29, ASCQ = 0x00"
Any ideas?

ewangke
06-01-2009, 09:40 AM
ToH kernel works, 9.5 fassl works, iĺl try fassl to check functionality

thank you.
my email: [email protected]

erick2red
06-01-2009, 04:44 PM
I've got some progress in investigation.
I've found related bugrecord: http://code.google.com/p/xnu-dev/issues/detail?id=246&colspec=ID%20Status%20Stars%20Priority%20Owner%20S ummary
Then I've downloaded Voodoo beta 2c, but I've failed to load it too. :[

This kernel and the one you have sent me stucks on this call:
"ACPI_SCM_PlatformPlugin::start - waitForService(resourceMatching(AppleIntelCPUPower Management) timed out
SAM Multimedia: READ or WRITE failed, SENSE_KEY = 0x06, ASC = 0x29, ASCQ = 0x00
...
SAM Multimedia: READ or WRITE failed, SENSE_KEY = 0x06, ASC = 0x29, ASCQ = 0x00"
Any ideas?
i had voodoo beta c working right, after you told me, i tried and works like a charm.
Just mess up my Shutdown/Reboot fix.

erick2red
06-16-2009, 03:07 PM
Testing right now voodoo2 9.7 and guess what?. It stops at breakpoints. So issue fixed, please someone tell the voodoo team so i can't.