PDA

View Full Version : Can't Get Past "Do You Own Another MAC?" Screen

hongbiaoke
02-11-2009, 08:26 AM
I've installed iDeneb v1.3 10.5.5 on my Dell XPS M1530, everything went well until I got to the "Do you own another Mac?" screen. I clicked on no, do not import and continue, after about 1 min it goes back to the "welcome screen" (Select your language). I did a bit of research and found this:

Boot into the Leopard Install DVD and hit F8 then type -s to enter the single user mode and type
/sbin/fsck -fy
/sbin/mount -uw /
passwd root
touch /var/db/ .AppleSetupDone
reboot

I did that, and nothing...so I went back and did it again and took a pic

http://www.geocities.com/hongbiaoke/IMG_0337.JPG

I am a n00b at this and this is my first time messing with OSx86, any suggestions? Thank you!

ozzeh
02-11-2009, 08:56 AM
(had the same problem on my dv2000, did the above but modified the steps a bit)

if I'm not mistaken the error message is telling you that diskutil cant be run in single-user mode. try the above procedures but take out the fsck and passwd commands, fsck is not required, and I have no idea why you need to use passwd.

throttlemeister
02-11-2009, 09:32 AM
and I have no idea why you need to use passwd.
Because OSX does not have a user and root does not have a password set. Without password, OSX will not allow you to log in.

You do not need to do a diskutil repairpermissions. It does not work, as you already found out.

Not running fsck is stupid and shows lack of understanding of UNIX. In single user mode, the filesystem is readonly for a reason. Before remounting that filesystem for writing, you should ALWAYS make sure the filesystem is clean and not corrupted. Failing to do so will mess up your system sooner or later. It is not a question of IF, rather WHEN if you choose to ignore that rule.

Just:
fsck -fy
mount -uw /
passwd root
touch /var/db/.AppleSetupDone
reboot