PDA

View Full Version : BSD Process : "lssave" causing kernel panic

othmam
02-22-2009, 07:28 PM
Hi

This is what I'm getting randomly without a specific action, I'm using the voodoo 9.5.0 kernel on iDeneb 10.5.6.
Pllllllllllzzz help me on this??? that's the only problem left so I can have a fully working OSX86 on my Dell latitude D510.

Will be awaiting your answers

I have a Dell Latitude D510
2gb RAM DDR2
Hard Drive 55gb
Intel GMA900
Intel Pentium M 1.73GHz

Sorry I'm new to this, if you need additional information please do tell me

Ali C.
02-22-2009, 09:03 PM
Try typing -legacy -x -v at the boot prompt and let us know how it acts then.

othmam
02-23-2009, 02:56 PM
I wanted to specify that the KP happens after 3 or 4 hours of using the computer. There is no specific action that trigers it or at least I think so. So I'm wondering if your command is not only for startup problems??? And I got out of luck, my iDeneb DVD has a scratch and doesn't want to install, so I installed XxX 10.5.6 with the same kernel and apparently it has the same problem :( .
Would you mind explaining the command you wrote about in your post?? I mean what's legacy for??

Sorry for being so stupid :(

Ali C.
02-23-2009, 07:02 PM
-legacy loads OS X in 32-bit mode, so if you have some kind of issue with 64-bit mode, you can resolve it. I have my doubts this is the root of the problem since it does boot, but you never know.
-x triggers Safe Mode and only loads the crucial drivers. This should help narrow down whether your problem is something with the OS itself or a hardware kext.
-v allows you to "see" the bootup process in diagnostic text. If the boot process is hanging anywhere, the line it "hangs" at could give further insight into the KP problems.

And you aren't stupid. We were all n00bs sometime. :)

othmam
02-23-2009, 10:24 PM