PDA

View Full Version : What version OS X for my Q6700

Red_Stafford
05-17-2009, 10:41 PM
Hi all I am new to all this Mac OS X on a PC so go easy on me I have iDeneb v1.4 coming my way shortly and I was hoping you guys could tell me if this is the best version to (use see my spec below) because I have noticed there are quite a few different ones about iPC and other.

Intel Quad Q6700
Gigabyte EP45-DS3
Radeon HD 4870
4gig 1333 Ram

Also once I have iDeneb v1.4 ISO is it just a case of burning to DVD then booting from the DVD and installing it on a seperate partition to my Vista install to allow for dual booting, also will I be able to upgrade to 10.5.7 without any problems ?

Can I purchase a OS X 10.5 CPU Drop-in DVD and install a vanilla setup with this ?

I have also been reading up on installing retail version of Mac OS X and using Boot-123, what are the pros & cons in doing it this way and is this the road I should be going down

Red_Stafford
05-19-2009, 11:16 AM
I have installed iDeneb v1.4 but when I boot into OSX the white screen comes up with the grey apple and then I get a circle with a line through it appear and it doesnt go any further, can any of you guys help us ?

distantstorm
05-19-2009, 11:42 PM
I'm not a troubleshooting expert but you will need to give more information I would think. Try booting in verbose mode (-v option at bootloader) and see what is displayed when system hangs (perhaps take a photo if you can).

Also it would probably help if you could say what options you selected when you installed iDeneb. It's not a distro I have used (I'm more familiar with iPC installs) but Gigabyte boards such as yours are usually pretty compatible and so I would imagine you would need minimal options selected to get going.

It's a lucky person that attempts an OSX install and has no problems on first attempt so don't worry, you'll get there.