PDA

View Full Version : iDeneb 1.4 on an ASUS M3A78

hardcoded
05-22-2009, 01:38 AM
Greetings.

I'm fairly knowledgeable with PCs but I'm new to the OSx86 scene so please, bear with me. ;) I'm desperately trying to get iDeneb to work on my computer. So far, I tried 2 distros, iDeneb and iPC, both being 10.5.6. releases. I've read various posts on multiple forums and there are numerous success stories about iDeneb and my chipset model so this is what I choose to stick to. These are my hardware specs.:

- Athlon 64 X2 5400+
- 4GB 800MHz DDR2 RAM
- ASUS M3A78 motherboard (AMD770/SB700 chipset)
- PNY Geforce 9800 GT 1024MB
- USB mouse & keyboard
- SATA HD and DVD

ACPI mode is set to S1. SATA mode is set to AHCI. The HD (320GB capacity) is partitioned 50/50 between NTFS (Vista 64) and HFS+ Journaled. Dual boot was sorted out via the bcdedit/chain0 method and is working fine. Based on my research, I came up with the following driver list:

- Voodoo 9.5.0 kernel
- AppleATIATA
- AppleSMBIOS 800
- Seatbelt Fix
- ALC1200 audio
- Realtek R1000 ethernet interface
- NVInject 0.2.1 1024MB

The media is verified to be consistent and the installation happens quickly. It then hangs in the first boot, right after the blue screen then halts at a grey screen with only the mouse cursor (moveable) showing. This happens regardless of boot flag used (-v, -x, -f and "Graphics Mode").

I know I'm almost there and it's just a matter of choosing the right packages. For this, I turn to you, OSx86 community. Please, help a newbie.

Many thanks.

Edison

thorazine74
05-22-2009, 09:41 AM
Try removing nvinject and see if you boot in low res, I think 10.5.4 could be too old for your 9800, I'm not sure but its worth a try. You may need a more recent OS X release or an updated set of Nvidia kexts to get graphics acceleration.