PDA

View Full Version : Trying to understand kexts

Cinema Liver
06-24-2009, 09:33 PM
Hi there.

This is my first time posting on this forum. I'm currently trying to build PCintosh and I have been reading every guide, forum post and tutorial that I can find. However I always get stumped when I come to the kexts section of the guides.

I understand that kexts are somewhat like drivers for windows, what I don't understand is what to do with them. I've kinda come to two conclusions, although both of them may be wrong.

A: Boot-132 is totally generic and works on any system. I use that to kickstart the process and install the Mac OS. Once I am in Macland I might notice a few problems, the sound card dosn't work or the graphics are wonky etc. So I go online and find kexts for each piece of hardware that is having problems. Install them and I''m done? Is that it?

Or

B: Before I start, I find a kext for every single piece of hardware, I then put this into a folder alongside boot-132. During the instalation, boot-132 automaticially installs these kexts?

Are either of these options correct, or have I got it all wrong?

Thanks in advance for all the help.
Cine.

thorazine74
06-26-2009, 08:22 AM
There are many Boot-132 discs, some are generic, some are tailored for specific motherboards; but for Boot-132 to work it doesnt need to have all the kexts for your hardware, just the basic ones to get OS X installed, and thats mostly the storage controllers (SATA and/or IDE) you are using for your HD/DVD, and after having it installed you can install the necesary kexts for your graphics, sound, network...