PDA

View Full Version : network problem, stopped working

eemerge
08-19-2009, 09:24 PM
I've been using iatkos for several months , everything worked fine...

Today, i ran into a little problem. im sharing the internet connection on iatkos with a laptop. Until today all was FINE, today the laptop didnt communicate with the desktop . I checked cable, everything...all were ok.

Before i rebooted iatkos, i had internet. After reboot, the main network card (connected to the ISP modem) just doesnt want to get its IP via DHCP. I keep getting 169.bla bla. Also, another strange thing i cant 'connect' the laptop with the desktop.i even tried entering addresses manually.

So my guess is something is bad with the network on Mac OS. But i cannot figure it out since everything seems ok there., no problems reported no nothing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

SaCleoCheater
08-19-2009, 09:48 PM
I've had this problem in the past and here's how I've solved it...

Use a direct ethernet cable from your Laptop to your iATKOS System. (Try to use a Wireless connection on your Hackintosh to connect to the internet.
On the Desktop (Running OS X), Open System Preferences and click "Network"
In the sidebar, click the Ethernet port.
Set "Configure:" to "Manually".
For the IP address, type 192.168.2.1
(Windows requires direct network computers to use a subnet mask) For the Subnet Mask, type 255.255.255.0
Now, click apply. If you want to Share files from the Mac and PC, then click "Advanced..." If not, skip to the Windows PC part.
Browse to the WINS tab and type in your network workgroup name in the "Workgroup" box. If you haven't changed the workgroup name on your Laptop, the default is either "MSHOME" or "WORKGROUP" (without quotes).
Once you've typed in the Workgroup name, click OK then Apply.
Back on the Windows system...
Open network connections, right-click your Ethernet connection and click properties.