PDA

View Full Version : Need Kext placement info.

01-14-2010, 09:20 PM
I am new to the whole retail installation method, I tried a retail install before and I couldn't install kext files at all, so I was wondering if I should install my kext files to the "Extra/Extensions" folder, and if so how should I go about doing that the right way? Also If I do need to install them here, will they override any kext that has the same name?( I have patched versions of kexts files that have the same name as some kexts in the Extensions folder)

Imkantus
01-15-2010, 12:06 PM
When you put them to /Extra/Extensions you need to build an Extensions.mkext chache for them in the upper folder [/Extra] - I prefer to use this utility for that purpose:
https://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/development_tools/mkexttool.html
Bur be aware, that you need to select x86_64 slim down, when you want to boot 64-Bit Kernel & Extensions.

Some Extensions like ApplePS2 drivers do not work correctly in /E/E if you put Extensions to /System/Library/Extensions be sure to fix the file permissions:sudo -s
cd /System/Library/Extensions
chmod -R 755 *
chown -R root:wheel *See here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_system_permissions#Traditional_Unix_permissio ns) if you want further informations about what you are doing here.
Once done delete /System/Library/Chaches/com.apple.kext.chaches folder to have the Extensions chache beeing rebuild on next boot. (On Leopard this is /System/Libary/Extensions.mkext) - when you use an up-to-date bootloader you can also force the system to rebuild the chache by using -f boot parameter.

01-15-2010, 04:21 PM
ok, good, I have patched GMAx3100 kext files, and the stock files already exsit in the Extensions folder, Will the Extra/Extensions folder override the originals?