InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #471  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:29 AM
delgadilloalex delgadilloalex is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by paced98 View Post
Got the Finder app! Have not tested yet, but I have found my DP2 lion and does have the setting to run in 32bit mode Please test and check if it does work by replacing finder in System/Library/CoreServices

DOWNLOAD HERE
can u please upload xpchelper from dp2 in show hidden files

root/usr/libexec/xpchelper

i would like to see if it fixes endless crash thats consuming cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #472  
Old 04-12-2012, 05:05 AM
Unrealized's Avatar
Unrealized Unrealized is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by delgadilloalex View Post
can u please upload xpchelper from dp2 in show hidden files

root/usr/libexec/xpchelper

i would like to see if it fixes endless crash thats consuming cpu.



There is nothing wrong with the xpchelper, It's a kernel bug.

My Hardware
CPU: Intel Celeron G530
Memory: 4.00 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
OS: Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 - Vanilla kernel
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Reply With Quote
  #473  
Old 04-12-2012, 10:03 AM
JadedRaverLA JadedRaverLA is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Making the XPCHelper issue slightly better...

Hey everybody,

When I saw that an attempt was being made to create an AMD compatible kernel of Lion, I dug out an old PC (all my newer systems are actual Macs) and installed 10.7.3 on it. I ran into the same xpchelper issue that everyone else here mentioned. Although I'm not a good enough coder to improve the kernel itself, I did manage to make the problem less annoying.

First up:

Code:
tell application "Activity Monitor" to activate
do shell script "launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchAgents/com.apple.ReportCrash.plist"
do shell script "launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.ReportCrash.Root.plist" user name "adminuser" password "adminpwd" with administrator privileges
This AppleScript is very simple. It just launches Activity Monitor (so that you can see when xpchelper goes crazy. Then, it unloads the crash reporter (both from the user and as root) so that when xpchelper DOES crash, crash reporter doesn't go crazy creating system logs and writing them to disk. The downside is you can't get crash reports of other crashes, but for now, it's a huge help. You obviously need to replace adminuser and adminpwd with your administrative username and password. Then save the code in AppleScript Editor as an application. You can either save it to the desktop for quick access or use the login manager to set it to autorun. The downside is you still need to watch Activity Monitor for when xpchelper goes crazy, but simply clicking it and hitting the Quit Process button takes care of it until the next time it goes nuts.

I'm trying to make it so you don't need to do that:

Code:
property currenttime : 0
property previousbreak : 0 as integer
property currentbreak : 0 as integer
on idle
	set currenttime to time of (current date)
	set currentbreak to (currenttime / 60 / 60 / 30) as integer
	if currentbreak is not equal to previousbreak then
		do shell script "/usr/bin/killall xpchelper" user name "adminuser" password "adminpwd" with administrator privileges
		set previousbreak to currentbreak
	end if
end idle
This is a basic script that runs as an idle process and simply kills all xpchelper processes every two minutes. It does keep you from having to watch Activity Monitor but in my experience killing the process when its not going crazy leads to more app crashes, so its not ideal. Still, if you want to use it, again replace aminuser and adminpwd with the necessary details, compile and save in AppleScript Editor. This time you need to save as format Application, and check the box next to keep open.

I'm working on a method where it looks at CPU Utilization of the xpchelper processes and kills only the ones that have gone crazy. I don't have that quite working yet though, and it may need to kill all instances as the bad ones are crashing and reforming too quickly.

Anyway, hope that helps. On my system 10.7.3 is fairly useable on an old AMD system, which is pretty impressive given that none of it was possible just a couple weeks ago.
Reply With Quote
  #474  
Old 04-12-2012, 11:27 AM
Unrealized's Avatar
Unrealized Unrealized is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Or you can just chmod -x it so it's not executable, and crash dumps wouldnt be written AT ALL. It's not the xpchelper which is eating the CPU here, It's the ReportCrash (or whatever) process.

My Hardware
CPU: Intel Celeron G530
Memory: 4.00 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
OS: Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 - Vanilla kernel
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3

Last edited by Unrealized; 04-12-2012 at 11:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #475  
Old 04-12-2012, 09:09 PM
Lacedaemon's Avatar
Lacedaemon Lacedaemon is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 48
Hey guys,

I have an AMD Athlon II X4 645, and my "About this Mac" used to say "Unknown CPU 3.1 GHz". When I installed OS X, I didn't have a dsdt.aml; However, when I finally extracted and compiled my own, my processor now says "3.1 GHz Intel Core i5". Is it possible to install Lion now that it displays an Intel CPU? I've attached a screenshot of my current "About this Mac".

Thanks,
Lacedaemon
Attached Images
File Type: jpg About This Mac.jpg (6.5 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
  #476  
Old 04-13-2012, 04:50 AM
delgadilloalex delgadilloalex is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 33
[quote=JadedRaverLA;57074]Hey everybody,

Code:
tell application "Activity Monitor" to activate
do shell script "launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchAgents/com.apple.ReportCrash.plist"
do shell script "launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.ReportCrash.Root.plist" user name "adminuser" password "adminpwd" with administrator privileges
this works but most apps crash after bout 10 min except safr,and afew others
but when activitymon.app crashes cant run it any more



Quote:
Originally Posted by Unrealized View Post
Or you can just chmod -x it so it's not executable, and crash dumps wouldnt be written AT ALL. It's not the xpchelper which is eating the CPU here, It's the ReportCrash (or whatever) process.
it still runs activitymon. but mess. is access denied over and over
so then it wouldent boot with out it so.........single user boot
chmod 755
got so excited. thanks thou.

Last edited by delgadilloalex; 04-13-2012 at 04:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #477  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:24 PM
Unrealized's Avatar
Unrealized Unrealized is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lacedaemon View Post
Hey guys,

I have an AMD Athlon II X4 645, and my "About this Mac" used to say "Unknown CPU 3.1 GHz". When I installed OS X, I didn't have a dsdt.aml; However, when I finally extracted and compiled my own, my processor now says "3.1 GHz Intel Core i5". Is it possible to install Lion now that it displays an Intel CPU? I've attached a screenshot of my current "About this Mac".

Thanks,
Lacedaemon
No, it's just a text string

My Hardware
CPU: Intel Celeron G530
Memory: 4.00 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
OS: Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 - Vanilla kernel
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Reply With Quote
  #478  
Old 04-14-2012, 12:16 AM
paced98 paced98 is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Somewhere in Earth
Posts: 40
Any news on a newer kernel yet?
Reply With Quote
  #479  
Old 04-14-2012, 07:35 PM
Godofwar Godofwar is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unrealized View Post
As I've said (for the 7th time, just counted!) many times, you need to use iAtkos L2 or a real mac. You don't really "update", but you install it to it's own partition via Snow Leopard.

Run OSInstall.mpkg from iAtkos L2 dvd and you should be set, pick an empty partition and just drop in the kernel afterwards.
Hi, thanks for your help. What kernel do I need for Amd Phenom IIx4 965? Does a kernel exist for that? And how do I just drop the kernel in? Is there a new folder that will be created on my snow leopard side that has Lions operating system in it that I can browse and drop the kernel in some how? Thank you my friend. I can install Lion on Snow Leopard side with iAtkos L2, do I need to be at Snow Leopard 10.6.8 or is being at 10.6.6 for Lion disc alright too or you are unsure?


Anyone have any Iatko's Lion Wallpaper? Iatko's has a pretty cool looking lion logo.

Last edited by Godofwar; 04-14-2012 at 08:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #480  
Old 04-15-2012, 12:13 AM
lunfai lunfai is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godofwar View Post
Hi, thanks for your help. What kernel do I need for Amd Phenom IIx4 965? Does a kernel exist for that? And how do I just drop the kernel in? Is there a new folder that will be created on my snow leopard side that has Lions operating system in it that I can browse and drop the kernel in some how? Thank you my friend. I can install Lion on Snow Leopard side with iAtkos L2, do I need to be at Snow Leopard 10.6.8 or is being at 10.6.6 for Lion disc alright too or you are unsure?


Anyone have any Iatko's Lion Wallpaper? Iatko's has a pretty cool looking lion logo.
PM'ed you with instructions.



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.

Reply With Quote
Reply