InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #41  
Old 05-29-2010, 04:20 PM
blackknight blackknight is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62
Awesome Andy!!! I am so happy that someone even attempted to get this working and I pretty much knew it had to be you. Also, thanks for the updates. I can't stand it when someone promises to do something that everybody has been waiting for and it ends up being vaporware because they don't let people know what's going on with it. Thanks man.

Hackintosh 1: OS X 10.6.8 / Antec P180B / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 / Phenom II x2 550 @ 3.4 GHz / 2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / Gigabyte Radeon 4550 512MB / ASUS EAH4870X2 2GB@ 800/950 / 2x150GB Velociraptors RAID 0
Hackintosh 2: OS X 10.6.8 / Full-ATX Mac Pro case / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-UD5P / Phenom x4 9950 @3.2GHz / 4x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / HIS Radeon HD 6950 u/l to 6970 / 2x300GB Velociraptors RAID 0 / 4x2TB WD20EARS Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 05-31-2010, 03:58 AM
timberwolf5 timberwolf5 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
hows the progress andy?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-03-2010, 07:22 AM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
progress:
fixed voodoobuild.sh for sl
fixed dyld, it now builds correct with patches applied
fixed libkld build (optional since sl)
still to do: xnu
I will first implement custom amd dyld + syscall 8 (for mapping the segment, required by amd dyld), then I'll focus on the cpuid + sysenter patcher.
just 2 more things to do on the checklist
I'll keep you posted on progress
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-03-2010, 07:15 PM
RayFlower RayFlower is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 93
Awesome, can't wait!

Considered making a sourceforge account with svn/cvs/git or something when its done so people can easier contribute to the project opposed to rapidsharing thing?
Just a suggestion anyway, glad to see that someone is dedicated to make osx available and more accessible to all x86/64 users!
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-04-2010, 07:00 AM
blackknight blackknight is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62
Hey Andy,

I'm wondering if my AMD CPU FSB detection is now implemented as standard in your code. Also, is there any work by anyone on getting full 64-bit mode working on AMD?

Hackintosh 1: OS X 10.6.8 / Antec P180B / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 / Phenom II x2 550 @ 3.4 GHz / 2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / Gigabyte Radeon 4550 512MB / ASUS EAH4870X2 2GB@ 800/950 / 2x150GB Velociraptors RAID 0
Hackintosh 2: OS X 10.6.8 / Full-ATX Mac Pro case / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-UD5P / Phenom x4 9950 @3.2GHz / 4x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / HIS Radeon HD 6950 u/l to 6970 / 2x300GB Velociraptors RAID 0 / 4x2TB WD20EARS Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-04-2010, 07:57 AM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
I am working on full 32 + 64 bit amd xnu
@blackknight: can you post a diff (your patch only, diff between my patch and yours)
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-04-2010, 10:08 AM
blackknight blackknight is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyvand View Post
I am working on full 32 + 64 bit amd xnu
@blackknight: can you post a diff (your patch only, diff between my patch and yours)
At the moment, the graphics card on my system has died, so all I can do is paste the part of the full diff I posted in the first post that applies.

Code:
-    busFreq = EFI_FSB_frequency();
-
+     if (!PE_parse_boot_argn("fsb", &busFreq, sizeof(busFreq))) {
+         // blackknight; added for corrected FSB detection for Phenoms and Shanghais
+        switch (cpuid_family()) {
+            case CPU_FAMILY_AMD_PHENOM:
+            case CPU_FAMILY_AMD_SHANGHAI: {
+                busFreq = 2 * EFI_FSB_frequency();
+            }
+            break;
+             default:
+                busFreq = EFI_FSB_frequency();
+        }
+    }
+    
     switch (cpuid_cpufamily()) {
Look for this code in the tsc.c file. It shouldn't be hard to find. As you can see, it's just a check to see if it's an AMD Phenom or Shanghai or not and doubles the detected EFI_FSB_frequency if it is.

Hackintosh 1: OS X 10.6.8 / Antec P180B / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 / Phenom II x2 550 @ 3.4 GHz / 2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / Gigabyte Radeon 4550 512MB / ASUS EAH4870X2 2GB@ 800/950 / 2x150GB Velociraptors RAID 0
Hackintosh 2: OS X 10.6.8 / Full-ATX Mac Pro case / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-UD5P / Phenom x4 9950 @3.2GHz / 4x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / HIS Radeon HD 6950 u/l to 6970 / 2x300GB Velociraptors RAID 0 / 4x2TB WD20EARS Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-04-2010, 05:33 PM
ashp ashp is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 10
groundbreaking stuff i'm really excited been search ages for work like this on kernels I feel bad that i'm not as capable if there is any way i can help andy, please let me know.

Regards,
Ash
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-09-2010, 02:41 AM
gotytytyty gotytytyty is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks, Andy! I'm very excited to hear the news
I'm using 10.3.0 Blackknight kernel. So far, everythings works wonderful, of course, i still can't run 32bit app in 64bit mode. However, I have a problem with installing After Effect CS5. It keep on asking for 64bit system for it to be installed. I've tried to install it in x64 mode, but I cant even run the installer in this mode.
I dont know if it's a kernel's problem or something else, and I really need After Effect.

Here is my specs:
AMD PHENOM II X4 B50 @3.6ghz (It's originally X2 but I unlocked it to X4. I still feel lucky! )
Mainboard BIOSTAR A3+

Thanks Andy and Blackknight for everything you guys have done so far! It's so meaningful to the OSX86 community

Last edited by gotytytyty; 06-19-2010 at 02:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-09-2010, 11:28 PM
timberwolf5 timberwolf5 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks for the update Andy! Cant wait!



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


Last edited by timberwolf5; 06-15-2010 at 10:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply