InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2009, 06:04 PM
ziggy_909 ziggy_909 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
boot up problems

Hi

is there a way to boot into osx86 after installing a bad kext..

i had a working system and installed a bad kext and now it hangs after reboot i tried the usual -x, -f -s option but no luck...

i really don't want to reinstall from scratch.. as finding a solution to this will help me in the future... and save a lot of time updating etc...

Nvidia nForce3Ultra 250 Ultra chipset
Socket 939 - AMD +4200 Athlon64 CPU
PNY Geforce 6200 AGP 128Mb
Memory 1024 (512x2) pc 3200
Realtek ALC 655 6 Channel Audio
SilentX 240W power supply
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2009, 06:35 PM
lanceomni's Avatar
lanceomni lanceomni is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 521
Yes you can. Which kext was it that you installed?

MOBO: Z77MX-QUO-AOS CPU: Core i7 3770K GPU: MSI N760 TF 2GD5/OC Case: Modded MacPro2,1
Memory: 32GB Corsair Vengeance (CMY32GX3M4A1600C9) Wifi: Airport Extreme bcm94321MCA BIOS: HermitCrab Labs H3A.816M
Monitor: AOC Q2963Pm 29" WFHD 2560x1080 21:9
Interests: KDE on Apple Darwin, Keeping it real with the command line, Helping those that help themselves
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2009, 11:22 PM
ziggy_909 ziggy_909 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
off the top of my head i don't know the full names but i would recognize them in my extensions folder,
of if i could have a look at my download/desktop folder a copy of them would be there..

Nvidia nForce3Ultra 250 Ultra chipset
Socket 939 - AMD +4200 Athlon64 CPU
PNY Geforce 6200 AGP 128Mb
Memory 1024 (512x2) pc 3200
Realtek ALC 655 6 Channel Audio
SilentX 240W power supply
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2009, 12:32 AM
lanceomni's Avatar
lanceomni lanceomni is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 521
It is strange that you cant boot into Single User Mode using -s If you can't boot into Single User Mode you may have other problems. You can give it a try if you like but you may end up making the problem worse. I highly recommend doing steps 4 & 5 and also keep a note of the kexts you remove as you may wish to restore them.

You can boot your Install DVD and modify them via Terminal. When you get into the installer choose Terminal from the tool bar.

1. We need to find the volume OSX is installed on. For example I labeled mine "Leopard" If your not 100% sure you can check by typing:
Code:
ls /Volumes
2. Now we can change directories to your volume's /System/Library folder (Replace "Leopard" with the name of your OSX volume)
Code:
cd /Volumes/Leopard/System/Library
3. Now lets get a list of those kexts
Code:
ls Extensions/
4. Lets make a backup copy of your extensions folder just in case you need to restore some files. First make a folder to save them in. Well call it backup.
Code:
mkdir /Backup
5. Now lets copy the contents of your Extensions folder to your backup folder. (Highly recommend you do this)
Code:
cp -r Extensions/ /Backup/Extensions
6. Now we can do some editing. If you see a kext you want to remove then you can use (Replace PROBLEM.kext with the one you want to remove)
Code:
rm -Rf Extensions/PROBLEM.kext
Repeat this step for the kexts you want to remove.

7. Now that we are finished removing we want to delete the extensions cache to force OSX to rebuild it with the ones you just removed.
Code:
rm -rf Extensions.mkext
Now reboot with -v -f

[EDIT] If you want to restore one of these kexts do the same as above but replace Step 6 with the below (replacing KEXTTORESTORE with the one you want to restore.

6a. Copy the kext from your backup folder to your Extensions folder
Code:
cp -r /Backup/KEXTTORESTORE.kext Extensions/KEXTTORESTORE.kext
Repeat this step for each additional kext you need to restore.

6b. Correct permissions for our extensions folder.
Code:
chmod -R 755 Extensions/
6c. Correct ownership for our extensions folder.
Code:
chown -R root:wheel Extensions/
6d. Touch the extensions folder
Code:
touch Extensions/
Continue with Step 7 from above.

MOBO: Z77MX-QUO-AOS CPU: Core i7 3770K GPU: MSI N760 TF 2GD5/OC Case: Modded MacPro2,1
Memory: 32GB Corsair Vengeance (CMY32GX3M4A1600C9) Wifi: Airport Extreme bcm94321MCA BIOS: HermitCrab Labs H3A.816M
Monitor: AOC Q2963Pm 29" WFHD 2560x1080 21:9
Interests: KDE on Apple Darwin, Keeping it real with the command line, Helping those that help themselves

Last edited by lanceomni; 01-13-2009 at 12:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2009, 03:49 AM
cmdshft's Avatar
cmdshft cmdshft is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hackensack, NJ
Posts: 240
Make note that if you have a space in any directory, you must use a backslash in that spot.

Code:
Shadow-of-Intent:~ harataiki$ /Users/harataiki/Desktop/untitled\ folder
If you don't, it will tell you the directory doesn't exist.

Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.8 (9L30) | Chameleon 2.0 RC3 | Intel Pentium 4 3Ghz 800Mhz FSB HyperThread 1MB L2 cache SSE3 1MB L2 cache works, cosmetic display of 512KB L2 cache | Asus P4V8X-MX VIA Chipset, VIA-VT8237 Southbridge | AC97 VIA8237 | Dual 1GB 333Mhz DDR SDRAM | nVidia PNY GeForce 7600GS 512MB 8x AGP DVI/TV-Out/VGA [NVinject 0.2.1; QE/CI/QuartzGL/Rotation] | Darwin Kernel Version 9.7.0: Sun Jun 14 20:48:28 IST 2009; Voodoo 2.0 Intel alpha3 :xnu-1228.12.14/BUILD/obj/RELEASE_I386 i386
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-14-2009, 01:57 PM
lanceomni's Avatar
lanceomni lanceomni is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 521
Was there something in my post? Or was this just for reference?

MOBO: Z77MX-QUO-AOS CPU: Core i7 3770K GPU: MSI N760 TF 2GD5/OC Case: Modded MacPro2,1
Memory: 32GB Corsair Vengeance (CMY32GX3M4A1600C9) Wifi: Airport Extreme bcm94321MCA BIOS: HermitCrab Labs H3A.816M
Monitor: AOC Q2963Pm 29" WFHD 2560x1080 21:9
Interests: KDE on Apple Darwin, Keeping it real with the command line, Helping those that help themselves
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:59 PM
cmdshft's Avatar
cmdshft cmdshft is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hackensack, NJ
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by lanceomni View Post
Was there something in my post? Or was this just for reference?
Just reference, many people don't know this.

Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.8 (9L30) | Chameleon 2.0 RC3 | Intel Pentium 4 3Ghz 800Mhz FSB HyperThread 1MB L2 cache SSE3 1MB L2 cache works, cosmetic display of 512KB L2 cache | Asus P4V8X-MX VIA Chipset, VIA-VT8237 Southbridge | AC97 VIA8237 | Dual 1GB 333Mhz DDR SDRAM | nVidia PNY GeForce 7600GS 512MB 8x AGP DVI/TV-Out/VGA [NVinject 0.2.1; QE/CI/QuartzGL/Rotation] | Darwin Kernel Version 9.7.0: Sun Jun 14 20:48:28 IST 2009; Voodoo 2.0 Intel alpha3 :xnu-1228.12.14/BUILD/obj/RELEASE_I386 i386
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2009, 02:43 AM
lanceomni's Avatar
lanceomni lanceomni is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 521
That is true. Ive been PC command line savvy for 15-20 years and only recently sat down and read up on Unix. Learning it makes life a great deal easier.

MOBO: Z77MX-QUO-AOS CPU: Core i7 3770K GPU: MSI N760 TF 2GD5/OC Case: Modded MacPro2,1
Memory: 32GB Corsair Vengeance (CMY32GX3M4A1600C9) Wifi: Airport Extreme bcm94321MCA BIOS: HermitCrab Labs H3A.816M
Monitor: AOC Q2963Pm 29" WFHD 2560x1080 21:9
Interests: KDE on Apple Darwin, Keeping it real with the command line, Helping those that help themselves
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2009, 04:18 AM
cmdshft's Avatar
cmdshft cmdshft is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hackensack, NJ
Posts: 240
I took a rather pointless class at Devry my second semester there, which was an introduction to UNIX.

We would connect to the school's UNIX server and were taught the very basics (I already knew this stuff, took it for the credits and would fall asleep as everyone else snickered quietly about the finger command...) on Windows with PuTTY (oh the irony), and toy around for a bit.

I usually tried to read man pages. I still need to buy myself a UNIX handbook.

Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.8 (9L30) | Chameleon 2.0 RC3 | Intel Pentium 4 3Ghz 800Mhz FSB HyperThread 1MB L2 cache SSE3 1MB L2 cache works, cosmetic display of 512KB L2 cache | Asus P4V8X-MX VIA Chipset, VIA-VT8237 Southbridge | AC97 VIA8237 | Dual 1GB 333Mhz DDR SDRAM | nVidia PNY GeForce 7600GS 512MB 8x AGP DVI/TV-Out/VGA [NVinject 0.2.1; QE/CI/QuartzGL/Rotation] | Darwin Kernel Version 9.7.0: Sun Jun 14 20:48:28 IST 2009; Voodoo 2.0 Intel alpha3 :xnu-1228.12.14/BUILD/obj/RELEASE_I386 i386
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2009, 04:38 AM
lanceomni's Avatar
lanceomni lanceomni is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, US
Posts: 521
Ever used the man command?
Code:
man cp
Gives you a manual for any command. Its pretty useful however sometimes they make no sense.

For example, using the same word you are trying to define.... in the definition. But yeah If you come across a good comprehensive book on UNIX command line or better yet the OSX's UNIXish command line let me know.



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


MOBO: Z77MX-QUO-AOS CPU: Core i7 3770K GPU: MSI N760 TF 2GD5/OC Case: Modded MacPro2,1
Memory: 32GB Corsair Vengeance (CMY32GX3M4A1600C9) Wifi: Airport Extreme bcm94321MCA BIOS: HermitCrab Labs H3A.816M
Monitor: AOC Q2963Pm 29" WFHD 2560x1080 21:9
Interests: KDE on Apple Darwin, Keeping it real with the command line, Helping those that help themselves
Reply With Quote
Reply