InfiniteMac OSx86

InfiniteMac OSx86 (http://infinitemac.com/forum.php)
-   Lion 10.7 (http://infinitemac.com/forumdisplay.php?f=100)
-   -   10.7.4 AMD Kernel (http://infinitemac.com/showthread.php?t=7687)

misterfrista 06-07-2012 09:06 AM

You have to do the following steps:

-First download the amd_insn_patcher

-Open a terminal and type "sudo su" to without quotes to become root

-Change into your downloaded amd_insn_patcher directory with the terminal
You can do this by typing "cd " (without quotes) and then droping the amd_insn_patcher directory from finder into the terminal and hit enter.

-Type the following commands one line at a time:

cp /usr/lib/dyld ./dyld.orig
cp /usr/lib/system/libsystem_kernel.dylib ./libsystem_kernel.dylib.orig
./amd_insn_patcher dyld.orig dyld.patched
./amd_insn_patcher libsystem_kernel.dylib.orig libsystem_kernel.dylib.patched
chown 0:0 dyld.patched
chown 0:0 libsystem_kernel.dylib.patched
chmod 755 dyld.patched
chmod 755 libsystem_kernel.dylib.patched

Now open 2 more terminal tabs and type sudo su (otherwise your system may freeze in the next step! )
In the first tab type:
mv dyld.patched /usr/lib/dyld

In the second one:
mv libsystem_kernel.dylib.patched /usr/lib/system/libsystem_kernel.dylib

and in the third:
update_dyld_shared_cache

Now you are done!

anonomys209 06-07-2012 10:09 AM

Has anyone tried this on a non-bulldozer CPU? Patching the kernel to enable 64bit apps?

misterfrista 06-07-2012 10:19 AM

I just can tell you that even on bulldozer its not running perfect.

As you can see a few posts above I have heavy authentication issues with a clean bulldozer install and problems like diskutilty doesnt show any device ;)

You can try it but its far away from stable!

hanadriel 06-08-2012 12:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gils (Post 57836)
hello ,

C1E is disable in the bios ?

R.A.W

Already this off.
Do you have another idea to help me?
V4 driver, not the problema.A this version of your kernel performs great.
Only this little problem.

http://http://www.orkut.com.br/Main#...335620826&fr=1
http://www.orkut.com.br/Main#Album?u...335620826&fr=1

R:A:W:X86 06-08-2012 11:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by m4f1050 (Post 57861)
I downloaded both kernerls from first post, which one is the latest one?

v0.9.26 or v3_rev_b?

I'll do some quote from another thread... :-|

There are 10 types of persons: The ones who read the previous posts and the ones who doesn't.

Quote:

Originally Posted by anonomys209 (Post 57862)
...so would I be correct in assuming this still would not provide 64bit support for a Phenom II X6 1075T...?

Someone concernd around here, who has a CCC-Back-up or similiar & could do some testing?

Cause I wonder if launchd would come up during Boot-Up when using the Snow Leopard one...
Be warned that testing this will make the system unbootable (/sbin/launchd from SL will NOT work in Lion!!)!

To know wether it will show up during (non-legacy) boot or not could bring us closer to a 64-Bit solution for the old CPUs...

As long as there is noone, whose able to write an SSSE3 emulation, the only hope for the old CPUs will be to figure out the problematic software & try to patch it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by anonomys209 (Post 57862)
What about iCloud support?

Quote:

Originally Posted by misterfrista (Post 57841)
I always get the message AuthorizationCreate failed while trying to use appstore or every other app whice needs authentification!

Authentication in iCloud, Facetime & AppStore has been an issue for a lot Hackintosh users, caused by various reasons.

Regarding iCloud & Facetime I dunno - I am not using these.
I will test AppStore when I am back home...

btw: misterfrista, Thanks for posting a detailed guide for patching sysenter traps. :)
I PMed you with some instructions for further testing on the AppStore thing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by hanadriel (Post 57876)
Do you have another idea to help me?
http://www.orkut.com.br/Main#Album?u...335620826&fr=1

What's your hardware?

m28ew 06-08-2012 05:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 (Post 57877)
Someone concernd around here, who has a CCC-Back-up or similiar & could do some testing?

Cause I wonder if launchd would come up during Boot-Up when using the Snow Leopard one...
Be warned that testing this will make the system unbootable (/sbin/launchd from SL will NOT work in Lion!!)!

To know wether it will show up during (non-legacy) boot or not could bring us closer to a 64-Bit solution for the old CPUs...


By replacing the launchd with the one from the snow-leo,

the GUI failed to load

http://s13.postimage.org/69myb5693/launchd_2.gif



but I was still able to boot the osx into the single-user mode

http://s8.postimage.org/57m8hdppx/launchd_1.gif




FYI, I've even tried to replace the launchd with the ones from LION DP1 & DP2,
but the results still remain the same



Quote:

Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 (Post 57877)
As long as there is noone, whose able to write an SSSE3 emulation, the only hope for the old CPUs will be to figure out the problematic software & try to patch it.


I'm just wondering,
why the osx snow-leo lets the legacy-AMD users to run some 64-bits apps without SSSE3 support (by booting it with: -legacy -force64) ?

And please correct me if I'm wrong but no SSSE3 emulator is required there
since it has not been applied into the 10.x.x legacy kernel yet

R:A:W:X86 06-08-2012 06:27 PM

Thanks for testing...

Quote:

Originally Posted by m28ew (Post 57878)
By replacing the launchd with the one from the snow-leo,

In order to verify:

You are sure that you have NOT been using the -legacy flag, when taking that screenshot?

(org.chameleon.boot.plist etc)

Quote:

Originally Posted by m28ew (Post 57878)
the GUI failed to load

Nothing else has been expected - I have written in my previous post, that it won't work.

The only idea behind this test was to see if it would boot furhter than "BSD root: blaba" - so we would have some clue, where work on this could be started.

Quote:

Originally Posted by m28ew (Post 57878)
I'm just wondering,
why the osx snow-leo lets the legacy-AMD users to run some 64-bits apps without SSSE3 support (by booting it with: -legacy -force64) ?

And please correct me if I'm wrong but no SSSE3 emulator is required there
since it has not been applied into the 10.x.x legacy kernel yet

Sorry, but I do not realy understand what you are talking about here...

On previous versions of OS X there has not been any essential software that has been using that SIMD extensions, only stuff like QTX etc...

launchd is the most basic process required for OS X to work.
If my assumption is right, then there will be only two ways for the old AMD & Intel Netburst to boot non-legacy, either emulating the unsupported instructions in the Kernel or making a patch for the concerned software...

m28ew 06-08-2012 07:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 (Post 57879)
.

In order to verify:

You are sure that you have NOT been using the -legacy flag, when taking that screenshot?

(org.chameleon.boot.plist etc)


http://s13.postimage.org/6cl4g2jjb/launchd_3.gif



but I could boot into the single-user mode only with the -legacy flag
without it, the boot would remain stuck at the same "USBF..." line



Quote:

Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 (Post 57879)
.Nothing else has been expected - I have written in my previous post, that it won't work.

The only idea behind this test was to see if it would boot furhter than "BSD root: blaba" - so we would have some clue, where work on this could be started.


It's okay mate, nothing to worry about :)

If you need more testing, please just let me know




Quote:

Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 (Post 57879)
Sorry, but I do not realy understand what you are talking about here...

On previous versions of OS X there has not been any essential software that has been using that SIMD extensions, only stuff like QTX etc...

launchd is the most basic process required for OS X to work.
If my assumption is right, then there will be only two ways for the old AMD & Intel Netburst to boot non-legacy, either emulating the unsupported instructions in the Kernel or making a patch for the concerned software...


Please excuse my stupidity :D

what I mean is 64-bits userland on 32-bits kernel

for example, running the 64-bits version of the Geekbench with the 32-bits kernel of the snow-leo (-legacy -force64)

is there any chance that the -force64 method can also be applied to your kernel ?
so we'll be able to run the 64-bits apps, which are not using the SIMD extensions, with the 32-bits kernel of the lion too ?

R:A:W:X86 06-08-2012 08:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by m28ew (Post 57880)
If you need more testing, please just let me know

Yes more testing!^^

Some idea that came across my mind:

launchd works 32-Bit on the old AMD machines.
So why the hell not just run it 32 instead of 64-Bit? :cool:

Please someone try the following:

Code:

sudo -s
cd /sbin
cp launchd launchd_backup
ditto --rsrc --arch i386 launchd launchd_i386
cp launchd_i386 launchd
reboot


sulphide 06-08-2012 08:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by misterfrista (Post 57872)
I just can tell you that even on bulldozer its not running perfect.

As you can see a few posts above I have heavy authentication issues with a clean bulldozer install and problems like diskutilty doesnt show any device ;)

You can try it but its far away from stable!

if run applications under root through terminal, then they work ok, including disk utility. the other way is to enable root user in pref and work as root user... not good though...