InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #201  
Old 09-16-2009, 03:46 PM
lancelotu lancelotu is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeytribbiani View Post
Hi!

Hello!
I have followed some of your guide and got my network to run(THANKS ). It all seems to run stable at 64bit. However, I can not get the sound working.

I have installed snow loepard using Chameleon RC2 v3 and used these Kext :
AD1988b.Fix.kext
SleepEnabler.kext
fakesmc.kext
OpenHaltRestart.kext
Disabler.kext

Setup:
Asus P5K-E WIFI
E6750 @ 3.4 GHz
4GB RAM
250GB SATA HDD
GeForce 7300LE 256mb

Where do I find my "DSDT.aml" ? The replacement, just drag and drop?

Sincerely Joey (:

apologize for bad English


You need small tool named iasl to decompile and compile your DSDT.aml to DSDT.dsl and the other way around .

to get the DSDT from your system you need another script called getDSDT.sh

You can get your "starter kit" here :[ATTACH]tools.zip[/ATTACH], just download it and put it on your Desktop

I included a copy of my DSDT.dsl ( use it only for comparison don't drag and drop on your system it will not work ! )

to get your DSDT from your system open terminal and go to to your "starter kit" aka tools directory

e.g

Code:
cd Desktop/tools/
Code:
./getDSDT.sh

you will now have a new file called dsdt.dat . you can't modify this so you have to decompile it first

Code:
./iasl -d dsdt.dat
and you should see something like this :

Code:
Intel ACPI Component Architecture
AML Disassembler version 20080926 [Oct  4 2008]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2008 Intel Corporation
Supports ACPI Specification Revision 3.0a

Loading Acpi table from file dsdt.dat
Acpi table [DSDT] successfully installed and loaded
Pass 1 parse of [DSDT]
Pass 2 parse of [DSDT]
Parsing Deferred Opcodes (Methods/Buffers/Packages/Regions)
.......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Parsing completed
Disassembly completed, written to "dsdt.dsl"

and now you can modify the newly created dsdt.dsl (you can also compare it to the one i added in the "starter kit" to see where are the differences )

just open it with a text editor and add your patches ( read about patching ad1988b here and when you finish adding, just recompile the file with this command:

Code:
./iasl -ta dsdt.dsl
if everything goes well you should see this:

Code:
Intel ACPI Component Architecture
ASL Optimizing Compiler version 20080926 [Oct  4 2008]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2008 Intel Corporation
Supports ACPI Specification Revision 3.0a

ASL Input:  dsdt.dsl - 10047 lines, 335962 bytes, 4861 keywords
AML Output: dsdt.aml - 37950 bytes, 1074 named objects, 3787 executable opcodes

Compilation complete. 0 Errors, 0 Warnings, 0 Remarks, 47 Optimizations
and you will have a file called dsdt.aml in your directory . Just drag this file on your root volume and restart

how yooou doin'
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 09-16-2009, 11:47 PM
adrianmak adrianmak is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
anyone with asus p5k-e wifi-ap motherboard, tried time machine ?
with the on-board network card work with time machine ?
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 09-17-2009, 12:10 AM
Snoc Snoc is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianmak View Post
anyone with asus p5k-e wifi-ap motherboard, tried time machine ?
with the on-board network card work with time machine ?
Hi!

DSDT Time machine fix:

Insert this:
Code:
                Device (GIGE)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, Zero)
                    OperationRegion (GPIO, SystemIO, 0x0800, 0x06)
                    Field (GPIO, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
                    {
                        GO01,   8, 
                        GO02,   8, 
                        GO03,   8, 
                        GO04,   8, 
                        GO05,   8, 
                        GP9,    1
                    }

                    Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
                    {
                        0x09, 
                        0x03
                    })
                    Method (EWOL, 1, NotSerialized)
                    {
                        If (LEqual (Arg0, One))
                        {
                            Or (GP9, One, GP9)
                        }
                        Else
                        {
                            And (GP9, Zero, GP9)
                        }

                        If (LEqual (Arg0, GP9))
                        {
                            Return (Zero)
                        }
                        Else
                        {
                            Return (One)
                        }
                    }
                }

In the next section of Device (P0P9):

Code:
           Device (P0P9)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001C0005)
                Method (_PRW, 0, NotSerialized)
                {
                    Return (GPRW (0x09, 0x04))
                }

                Method (_PRT, 0, NotSerialized)
                {
                    If (PICM)
                    {
                        Return (AR09)
                    }

                    Return (PR09)
                }

                ******INSERT HERE*****

            }

Thanks to Gringo Vermelho
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 09-17-2009, 04:45 AM
adrianmak adrianmak is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Many thanks all of you from this post.


I have an annoying minor problem starting from using leopard.
The Asus P5K-E wifi/ap has two eSATA ports which controlled by jmicro controller. One of the eSATA port is connected to an HDD enclosure.

I found that when the hdd enclosure is online (powered on) it will slow down the bootup time (i.e. bootup time took longer) and the hdd enclosure icon will not display on the desktop. To show it, I have to power off and on.

anybody experience this issue ?
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 09-17-2009, 04:49 AM
adrianmak adrianmak is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoc View Post
Hi!

DSDT Time machine fix:

Insert this:
Code:
                Device (GIGE)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, Zero)
                    OperationRegion (GPIO, SystemIO, 0x0800, 0x06)
                    Field (GPIO, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
                    {
                        GO01,   8, 
                        GO02,   8, 
                        GO03,   8, 
                        GO04,   8, 
                        GO05,   8, 
                        GP9,    1
                    }

                    Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
                    {
                        0x09, 
                        0x03
                    })
                    Method (EWOL, 1, NotSerialized)
                    {
                        If (LEqual (Arg0, One))
                        {
                            Or (GP9, One, GP9)
                        }
                        Else
                        {
                            And (GP9, Zero, GP9)
                        }

                        If (LEqual (Arg0, GP9))
                        {
                            Return (Zero)
                        }
                        Else
                        {
                            Return (One)
                        }
                    }
                }
Are those inserted code for timemachine fix is apply for all network card ?
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 09-17-2009, 12:24 PM
Snoc Snoc is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianmak View Post
Are those inserted code for timemachine fix is apply for all network card ?
It is for the built-in only

Kind regards,
Snoc
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 09-17-2009, 09:35 PM
joeytribbiani joeytribbiani is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Would like to thank Lancelotu for a very nice guide! Everything seems to run perfectly stable without kernel panics
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 09-20-2009, 08:21 AM
OG-Phantom's Avatar
OG-Phantom OG-Phantom is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianmak View Post
Many thanks all of you from this post.


I have an annoying minor problem starting from using leopard.
The Asus P5K-E wifi/ap has two eSATA ports which controlled by jmicro controller. One of the eSATA port is connected to an HDD enclosure.

I found that when the hdd enclosure is online (powered on) it will slow down the bootup time (i.e. bootup time took longer) and the hdd enclosure icon will not display on the desktop. To show it, I have to power off and on.

anybody experience this issue ?
I thought it was just me, I am experiencing this same issue. I am still looking for a fix...

[HACK P5K]
ASUS P5K Deluxe/Wifi [ Q9650 / 8GB OCZ / EVGA 8800 GTX ]
Windows Se7en 500GB SATA
OSX 10.6.4 (vanilla-EFI) 500GB SATA
[HACK EP43]
Gigabyte EP43-DS3L [ E6700 / 8GB OCZ / PNY 250 GTS ]
Windows Vista 64bit 250 SATA
OSX 10.6.4 (vanilla-EFI) 160GB SATA

Last edited by OG-Phantom; 09-20-2009 at 08:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 09-21-2009, 05:19 AM
lancelotu lancelotu is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by OG-Phantom View Post
I thought it was just me, I am experiencing this same issue. I am still looking for a fix...
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianmak View Post
Many thanks all of you from this post.


I have an annoying minor problem starting from using leopard.
The Asus P5K-E wifi/ap has two eSATA ports which controlled by jmicro controller. One of the eSATA port is connected to an HDD enclosure.

I found that when the hdd enclosure is online (powered on) it will slow down the bootup time (i.e. bootup time took longer) and the hdd enclosure icon will not display on the desktop. To show it, I have to power off and on.

anybody experience this issue ?
I don't use eSATA but i remember an update of JMB controller in the latest bios. Did you use the latest bios version ?

Also your console or boot in verbose says somenthing about that?
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 09-21-2009, 05:39 AM
adrianmak adrianmak is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by lancelotu View Post
I don't use eSATA but i remember an update of JMB controller in the latest bios. Did you use the latest bios version ?

Also your console or boot in verbose says somenthing about that?
My motherboard's bios version is 0703. Should I regenerate a new dsdt file after updating a bios ?



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.

Reply With Quote