InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #61  
Old 06-07-2012, 09:06 AM
misterfrista misterfrista is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 21
Lightbulb

You have to do the following steps:

-First download the amd_insn_patcher

-Open a terminal and type "sudo su" to without quotes to become root

-Change into your downloaded amd_insn_patcher directory with the terminal
You can do this by typing "cd " (without quotes) and then droping the amd_insn_patcher directory from finder into the terminal and hit enter.

-Type the following commands one line at a time:

cp /usr/lib/dyld ./dyld.orig
cp /usr/lib/system/libsystem_kernel.dylib ./libsystem_kernel.dylib.orig
./amd_insn_patcher dyld.orig dyld.patched
./amd_insn_patcher libsystem_kernel.dylib.orig libsystem_kernel.dylib.patched
chown 0:0 dyld.patched
chown 0:0 libsystem_kernel.dylib.patched
chmod 755 dyld.patched
chmod 755 libsystem_kernel.dylib.patched

Now open 2 more terminal tabs and type sudo su (otherwise your system may freeze in the next step! )
In the first tab type:
mv dyld.patched /usr/lib/dyld

In the second one:
mv libsystem_kernel.dylib.patched /usr/lib/system/libsystem_kernel.dylib

and in the third:
update_dyld_shared_cache

Now you are done!
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 06-07-2012, 10:09 AM
anonomys209's Avatar
anonomys209 anonomys209 is offline
#ADHDMedia
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California, USA
Posts: 71
Has anyone tried this on a non-bulldozer CPU? Patching the kernel to enable 64bit apps?

• AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
• ASUS M4A78LT-M
• 12GB DDR3
• XFX Radeon HD 5750 1GB
• 160GB HDD | OSX 10.6.7
• 500GB HDD | OSX 10.7.2
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 06-07-2012, 10:19 AM
misterfrista misterfrista is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 21
I just can tell you that even on bulldozer its not running perfect.

As you can see a few posts above I have heavy authentication issues with a clean bulldozer install and problems like diskutilty doesnt show any device

You can try it but its far away from stable!
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 06-08-2012, 12:10 AM
hanadriel hanadriel is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gils View Post
hello ,

C1E is disable in the bios ?
R.A.W

Already this off.
Do you have another idea to help me?
V4 driver, not the problema.A this version of your kernel performs great.
Only this little problem.


Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 06-08-2012, 11:44 AM
R:A:W:X86's Avatar
R:A:W:X86 R:A:W:X86 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4f1050 View Post
I downloaded both kernerls from first post, which one is the latest one?

v0.9.26 or v3_rev_b?
I'll do some quote from another thread...

There are 10 types of persons: The ones who read the previous posts and the ones who doesn't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anonomys209 View Post
...so would I be correct in assuming this still would not provide 64bit support for a Phenom II X6 1075T...?
Someone concernd around here, who has a CCC-Back-up or similiar & could do some testing?

Cause I wonder if launchd would come up during Boot-Up when using the Snow Leopard one...
Be warned that testing this will make the system unbootable (/sbin/launchd from SL will NOT work in Lion!!)!

To know wether it will show up during (non-legacy) boot or not could bring us closer to a 64-Bit solution for the old CPUs...

As long as there is noone, whose able to write an SSSE3 emulation, the only hope for the old CPUs will be to figure out the problematic software & try to patch it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anonomys209 View Post
What about iCloud support?
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterfrista View Post
I always get the message AuthorizationCreate failed while trying to use appstore or every other app whice needs authentification!
Authentication in iCloud, Facetime & AppStore has been an issue for a lot Hackintosh users, caused by various reasons.

Regarding iCloud & Facetime I dunno - I am not using these.
I will test AppStore when I am back home...

btw: misterfrista, Thanks for posting a detailed guide for patching sysenter traps.
I PMed you with some instructions for further testing on the AppStore thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanadriel View Post
Do you have another idea to help me?
What's your hardware?

AMD FX 4100
MSI 760GM-P23
Radeon HD6570
OS X Lion Retail 10.7.5
Lion Kernel Project
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 06-08-2012, 05:12 PM
m28ew m28ew is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 View Post
Someone concernd around here, who has a CCC-Back-up or similiar & could do some testing?

Cause I wonder if launchd would come up during Boot-Up when using the Snow Leopard one...
Be warned that testing this will make the system unbootable (/sbin/launchd from SL will NOT work in Lion!!)!

To know wether it will show up during (non-legacy) boot or not could bring us closer to a 64-Bit solution for the old CPUs...

By replacing the launchd with the one from the snow-leo,

the GUI failed to load





but I was still able to boot the osx into the single-user mode






FYI, I've even tried to replace the launchd with the ones from LION DP1 & DP2,
but the results still remain the same



Quote:
Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 View Post
As long as there is noone, whose able to write an SSSE3 emulation, the only hope for the old CPUs will be to figure out the problematic software & try to patch it.

I'm just wondering,
why the osx snow-leo lets the legacy-AMD users to run some 64-bits apps without SSSE3 support (by booting it with: -legacy -force64) ?

And please correct me if I'm wrong but no SSSE3 emulator is required there
since it has not been applied into the 10.x.x legacy kernel yet
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 06-08-2012, 06:27 PM
R:A:W:X86's Avatar
R:A:W:X86 R:A:W:X86 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 95
Thanks for testing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by m28ew View Post
By replacing the launchd with the one from the snow-leo,
In order to verify:

You are sure that you have NOT been using the -legacy flag, when taking that screenshot?

(org.chameleon.boot.plist etc)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m28ew View Post
the GUI failed to load
Nothing else has been expected - I have written in my previous post, that it won't work.

The only idea behind this test was to see if it would boot furhter than "BSD root: blaba" - so we would have some clue, where work on this could be started.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m28ew View Post
I'm just wondering,
why the osx snow-leo lets the legacy-AMD users to run some 64-bits apps without SSSE3 support (by booting it with: -legacy -force64) ?

And please correct me if I'm wrong but no SSSE3 emulator is required there
since it has not been applied into the 10.x.x legacy kernel yet
Sorry, but I do not realy understand what you are talking about here...

On previous versions of OS X there has not been any essential software that has been using that SIMD extensions, only stuff like QTX etc...

launchd is the most basic process required for OS X to work.
If my assumption is right, then there will be only two ways for the old AMD & Intel Netburst to boot non-legacy, either emulating the unsupported instructions in the Kernel or making a patch for the concerned software...

AMD FX 4100
MSI 760GM-P23
Radeon HD6570
OS X Lion Retail 10.7.5
Lion Kernel Project
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 06-08-2012, 07:51 PM
m28ew m28ew is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 View Post
.

In order to verify:

You are sure that you have NOT been using the -legacy flag, when taking that screenshot?

(org.chameleon.boot.plist etc)





but I could boot into the single-user mode only with the -legacy flag
without it, the boot would remain stuck at the same "USBF..." line



Quote:
Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 View Post
.Nothing else has been expected - I have written in my previous post, that it won't work.

The only idea behind this test was to see if it would boot furhter than "BSD root: blaba" - so we would have some clue, where work on this could be started.

It's okay mate, nothing to worry about

If you need more testing, please just let me know




Quote:
Originally Posted by R:A:W:X86 View Post
Sorry, but I do not realy understand what you are talking about here...

On previous versions of OS X there has not been any essential software that has been using that SIMD extensions, only stuff like QTX etc...

launchd is the most basic process required for OS X to work.
If my assumption is right, then there will be only two ways for the old AMD & Intel Netburst to boot non-legacy, either emulating the unsupported instructions in the Kernel or making a patch for the concerned software...

Please excuse my stupidity

what I mean is 64-bits userland on 32-bits kernel

for example, running the 64-bits version of the Geekbench with the 32-bits kernel of the snow-leo (-legacy -force64)

is there any chance that the -force64 method can also be applied to your kernel ?
so we'll be able to run the 64-bits apps, which are not using the SIMD extensions, with the 32-bits kernel of the lion too ?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 06-08-2012, 08:24 PM
R:A:W:X86's Avatar
R:A:W:X86 R:A:W:X86 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by m28ew View Post
If you need more testing, please just let me know
Yes more testing!^^

Some idea that came across my mind:

launchd works 32-Bit on the old AMD machines.
So why the hell not just run it 32 instead of 64-Bit?

Please someone try the following:

Code:
sudo -s
cd /sbin
cp launchd launchd_backup
ditto --rsrc --arch i386 launchd launchd_i386
cp launchd_i386 launchd
reboot

AMD FX 4100
MSI 760GM-P23
Radeon HD6570
OS X Lion Retail 10.7.5
Lion Kernel Project
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 06-08-2012, 08:37 PM
sulphide sulphide is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterfrista View Post
I just can tell you that even on bulldozer its not running perfect.

As you can see a few posts above I have heavy authentication issues with a clean bulldozer install and problems like diskutilty doesnt show any device

You can try it but its far away from stable!
if run applications under root through terminal, then they work ok, including disk utility. the other way is to enable root user in pref and work as root user... not good though...



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.

Reply With Quote
Reply