InfiniteMac OSx86  

Nice: Get free cryptocurrency tokens (WCX). About ~$10 worth. Claim here. Enjoy!

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2012, 11:07 AM
pippox0's Avatar
pippox0 pippox0 is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New york
Posts: 54
Smile How to Install OSX Mountain Lion on PC

How Install OSX Mountain Lion 10.8 on PC

What we need:
a) an Intel Core2 Duo/i3/i5/i7 computer ( mine Optiplex 760)
b) an USB pen (8 Gb is fine )
c) an Hackintosh running Mac Os X to create MLion.dmg and USB Pen.

Start Mac Os X Leo /Snow Leo/Lion (what you like ..)

0. Create OSX MLion DMG for Hackintosh
------------------------
a. Download OSX 10.8 MLion GM/RTM/Retail (12A269 )
b. find InstallESD.dmg -> "Install Mac Os X MLion.app/Contents/ShareSupport"
Open and mount InstallESD.dmg
Show HiddenFiles -> here http://gotoes.org/sales/ShowHiddenFilesMacOSX/
Find BaseSystem.dmg inside InstallESD.dmg
Mount BaseSystem.dmg
c. Using Disk utility create an new immage.dmg 8.0 Gb read and write , rename like MLion.dmg
d. Using Disk utility restore BaseSystem.dmg on new image MLion.dmg
e. mount MLion.dmg and rename volume like OSX MLION
Delete packages link inside /System/installation
Copy Packages folder from InstallESD.dmg to MLion.dmg inside /System/Installation/ folder
f. Copy needed Kexts on MLion.dmg inside /System/Library/Extentions
*fakesmc.kext
* nullCPUPowermanagenent.kext
* ElliotForceLegacyRTC.kext -> this only if you experience Bios reset
Used Kexts -> here http://www.mediafire.com/?mru5rjc506e1jbq

Copy Mach_Kernel from InstallESD.dmg to MLion.dmg
Copy OSinstall.mpkg patched for MBR inside /System/Installation/Packages
Copy OSinstall. patched for MBR inside /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Install.framework/Frameworks/OSinstall.framwork/Versions/A folder
OSinstall MBR Patched -> here http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?190q79bm1kk6e99

g. Install Extra_Lion.pkg on MLion.dmg -> here http://www.mediafire.com/?09zjtvcpqqpi9cg
h. Install Chameleon-2.1svn-r1820.pkg on MLion.dmg -> here http://www.mediafire.com/?38pfjtpddjex8xf
Create a folder Postinstallation on MLion.dmg and copy Chameleon-2.1svn-r1820.pkg , Extra.pkg and the three kexts
i. With Disk Utility repair permission on MLion.dmg

1. Create Bootable USB pen with OSX MLion
--------------------------------------------------------------
a. With Disk Utility erase USB pen
GUID + HFS+ journaled
rename it "OSX MLion Boot"
b. With Disk Utility restore MLion.dmg to USB Pen

c. install Extra_Lion.pkg to USB Pen
d. Install Chameleon-2.1svn-r1820.pkg to USB Pen

2. Boot USB pen with OSX MLion and install
--------------------------------------------------------------
switch off PC
a) Boot newly created USB Pen
With Disk Utility Create a HFS+ journaled partition, rename it "OSX MLion"
( You can Install MLion on MBR or GUID partition)
(if you install over a previous OSX [SL 10.6.6-10.6.8 or Lion 10.7.x] , don't create a new partition and you will be able to upgrade your S.O. without loosing anything)
b) Boot again with USB pen and choose to boot HD
Install Kexts on S/L/E on HD with KextWizard -> here http://cl.ly/7wSR
install Extra_Lion.pkg to HD
Install Chameleon-2.1svn-r1820.pkg to HD
c) Done.

Enjoy your OSX Mountain Lion 10.8

PippoX0

iMac: Mac OSX Leopard 10.5.6 (iDeneb v1.4) - CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.0Ghz - MB: ECS P4M890T-M2 - RAM: 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz - Ethernet: RTL8139 - Audio: Realtek ALC662 - Video: nVidia Geforce 7300 512Mb - HDD: 320Gb SATA2 - DVD-RW: SONY DVD RW AW-G170A

Last edited by pippox0; 08-01-2012 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2012, 01:37 AM
tham50 tham50 is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 110
nice tut, just as a little addition: a different is just as fine as a usb device in case you shouldn't have one. using a different disk or partition on a different disk is also much faster than most usb thingies
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2012, 11:31 AM
dnld dnld is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks for the nice tutorial

Thanks for the nice tutorial. Can I adopt the same procedure to install Mountain Lion in Intel D975XBX2 with Core 2 Quad 4GB RAM? Please advice me.

Donald.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2012, 09:21 PM
pippox0's Avatar
pippox0 pippox0 is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New york
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnld View Post
Thanks for the nice tutorial. Can I adopt the same procedure to install Mountain Lion in Intel D975XBX2 with Core 2 Quad 4GB RAM? Please advice me.

Donald.
Sure ... remember to set Sata AHCI

Pippox0

iMac: Mac OSX Leopard 10.5.6 (iDeneb v1.4) - CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.0Ghz - MB: ECS P4M890T-M2 - RAM: 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz - Ethernet: RTL8139 - Audio: Realtek ALC662 - Video: nVidia Geforce 7300 512Mb - HDD: 320Gb SATA2 - DVD-RW: SONY DVD RW AW-G170A
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2012, 08:32 AM
dnld dnld is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by pippox0 View Post
Sure ... remember to set Sata AHCI

Pippox0
Sorry to inform that my newly prepard usb drive unable to boot. After giving -v but could not going to installation windows/menu, it is returning back to initial stage "boot:". Please help me to solve this problem.

Last edited by dnld; 08-11-2012 at 09:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2012, 07:15 AM
macsrthebomb macsrthebomb is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Where is AHCI setting in BIOS on 760?

PIPPOX0, I too have an Optiplex 760 (2nd from the smallest), and have been 90% successful in trying to get ML installed on it. I am completely stumped as to where you can set the AHCI settings in BIOS on the 760. I also have a 755 which the BIOS is completely different (760 has a gui, 755 doesn't). I have tried using the myHack EDP setup located at http://osxlatitude.com and am able to get ML installed, up and running, but cannot seem to get any of the kext to work without hosing the boot. Might I simply ask you where you set the AHCI in BIOS? I just cannot find it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2012, 07:22 AM
dnld dnld is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
I tried all possible way to install Mountain Lion on my "Intel D975XBX2". Unfortunately not a single installation process help me to install properly. I could boot it on safe mode only. So I think ML does not support this motherboard. If some body could install it properly than please give some tips so that I can use ML on my system. My Processor is Core 2 Quad 2.4Ghz and memory 4GB, Graphics card GeForce 8400 GS 512MB with 1TB HDD SATA (Set to AHCI).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2012, 08:03 AM
pippox0's Avatar
pippox0 pippox0 is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New york
Posts: 54
For Mmacsrthebomb :

To set AHCI in Optiplex 760 Bios , use F2 to get bios setting , then go to Drives -> Sata Operation -> AHCI ....

That's All dude ...

PippoX0
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Optiplex760_Bios_AHCI.JPG (102.8 KB, 15 views)

iMac: Mac OSX Leopard 10.5.6 (iDeneb v1.4) - CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.0Ghz - MB: ECS P4M890T-M2 - RAM: 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz - Ethernet: RTL8139 - Audio: Realtek ALC662 - Video: nVidia Geforce 7300 512Mb - HDD: 320Gb SATA2 - DVD-RW: SONY DVD RW AW-G170A
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2012, 08:15 AM
pippox0's Avatar
pippox0 pippox0 is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New york
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnld View Post
I tried all possible way to install Mountain Lion on my "Intel D975XBX2". Unfortunately not a single installation process help me to install properly.
My Processor is Core 2 Quad 2.4Ghz and memory 4GB, Graphics card GeForce 8400 GS 512MB with 1TB HDD SATA (Set to AHCI).
Hi, your tech specs are adeguate, try iAtkos (Lion) release (search on Google ..) is more user friendly ... then try to upgrade to ML.

See ya

PippoX0

iMac: Mac OSX Leopard 10.5.6 (iDeneb v1.4) - CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.0Ghz - MB: ECS P4M890T-M2 - RAM: 2Gb DDR2 800Mhz - Ethernet: RTL8139 - Audio: Realtek ALC662 - Video: nVidia Geforce 7300 512Mb - HDD: 320Gb SATA2 - DVD-RW: SONY DVD RW AW-G170A

Last edited by pippox0; 08-21-2012 at 08:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2012, 09:48 PM
dnld dnld is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by pippox0 View Post
Hi, your tech specs are adeguate, try iAtkos (Lion) release (search on Google ..) is more user friendly ... then try to upgrade to ML.

See ya

PippoX0
Dear PippoX0,

Presently I am using iAtkos (Lion) only. But upgraded to 70.7.4 with combo update. I tried to upgrade the same with ML retail release, but it does not help. (I tried it in other hard disk so that present installation can be use without re install again.).

Thanks for the guidance.
Dnld


Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes