InfiniteMac OSx86  

Nice: Get free cryptocurrency tokens (WCX). About ~$10 worth. Claim here. Enjoy!

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #11  
Old 03-01-2010, 04:25 PM
PROTOCOLX's Avatar
PROTOCOLX PROTOCOLX is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands
Posts: 15
I think it possible with clonezilla, but I have problems with it cause it won't let me restore a cloned partition to a new one.. Only a cloned device will be restored successfully.. But then you will get the exact same size from your cloned device.. That's not always wanted...

Processor: Intel Pentium 4 x2 3400 Mhz SSE3 Prescott Motherboard: ASUS P4P800-E deluxe Memory: 3GB Corsair dual channel Video: ASUS ATI AH3650 Silent 512MB AGP Case: Chieftec Bigtower Install: Kalyway 10.5.2 updated to 10.5.8
NEW:  Macbook Pro 15 inch, 2GB memory.. http://www.osx86.nl Download: iGenius Intel®MacCare http://thepiratebay.org/user/PROTOCOLX/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-02-2010, 08:02 AM
skodabenz skodabenz is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tamilnadu, India
Posts: 2
Answering some of my own questions in my previous post,

1) The FireWire GUID error (in iGenius) was solved by removing AppleFWAudio.kext and IOFireWire* kexts from /System/Library/Extensions and deleting /System/Library/Extensions.mkext and rebooting with -v -f option.

2) No need to touch the EFI System Partition.

3) iPortable can be restored to a GPT Partition.

4) Clonezilla (in my opinion) is good for cloning only whole disks, it is not good for cloning individual partitions. For cloning HFS+ Clonezilla relies on Partclone (http://partclone.org/) to do the job. So maybe partclone alone can be used to clone the partition. Try http://partedmagic.com/ .

5) After restoring the iPortable volarchive I only had to reinstall Chameleon's MBR boot code (440 bytes).

My Ideas :

I think it is always better to rely on the native image format for Mac (dmg). There are tools like HFSExplorer and DMGExtractor (both java cross-platform apps) to do the job, from http://hem.bredband.net/catacombae/index2.html . HFSExplorer allows one to view HFS/HFS+ filesystems from a dmg file (including zlib,bzip2 and other compressed ones), from a raw dump (dd copy) of a HFS+ partition or even a partition itself (in both Windows and Linux). DMGExtractor converts compressed or uncompressed dmg files to raw image format which can be written to a partition or disk using dd tool.

I have tested these tools in both Windows (mine is Win 7 Pro x64) and Linux (Fedora 12 x64). For Linux users using OpenJDK, which comes natively wwith many linux distros, these tools will not work. They need to download the JRE version from Sun's website.

BTW I have downloaded iPortable Snow but couldn't get it to get past the "Creating your account" screen at all (mach_kernel with arch=i386 and -v ). The screen just freezes but the mouse cursor still moves. I waited for about an hour before pressing the power button (force shutdown). If I restart I get a bule screen with a cursor problem.


I tried almost all the ways you described like :-

touch /private/var/db/.AppleSetupDone (in single user mode - restarting after the screen freeze)

platform=X86PC or PciRoot=0 or PciRoot=1


I also get a few errors everytime I boot iPortable (not necessarily in the same order) :-

launchctl : Convert to launchd /etc/mach_init.d/dashboard/advisoryd.plist

FakeSMC : key info not found MSDS, length - 6

ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::start - wait For Service (resourcematching (AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement) timed out

system shutdown false


I had absolutely no problem in User Registration in iGenius 10.5.6 . I am unable to even see the desktop of iPortable Snow. Please help me.

Few other problems and doubts I still have :

1) Shutdown/Restart problem. It occurs randomly, not always.

2) What is DSDT?

I found out the cause of the problem of "Rebuild this volume" error when iPortable is restored. It is due to the fact thet HFS+ filesystems use a block size of 4096 bytes while the partitioning programs use a block size of 512 bytes. This error will not occur if the the size of the destination partition in bytes is a multiple of 4096, or the number of 512 byte sectors in the destination is a multiple of 8 (4096/512 = 8).

For Example : 7 GB partition => 7*1024*1024*1024 bytes = 7516192768 bytes => 7516192768/4096 = 1835008 (therefore multiple of 4096)
or 7516192768 bytes => 7516192768/512 = 14680064 sectors of 512 bytes each => 14680064/8 = 1835008 (therefore multiple of 8)

No error will occur when restoring iPortable to the above mentioned partition. But

7.6 GB Partition => 8160437862.4 bytes => not a multiple of 4096 => the error will occur.

For GPT partitioning I use GPT fdisk by Rod Smith - http://rodsbooks.com/gdisk/ and http://sourceforge.net/projects/gptfdisk/ .

Finally I used DSDT Patcher GUI to create dsdt.aml file in my iGenius Mac. Can I copy the same file to iPortable Snow or do I need to create a new dsdt.aml file in iPortable Snow? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-04-2010, 02:49 PM
PROTOCOLX's Avatar
PROTOCOLX PROTOCOLX is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands
Posts: 15
No you don't need a different DSTD file for Leopard or Snow Leopard...

But about the bluescreen... I just found out that iPortable Snow has a 64bit problem...

Did you try legacy_kernel or any other kernel in 32bits modus?

Cause mach_kernel or any other kernel in 64bits modus will result in bluescreens with mouse...

So iPortable Snow x86 is really x86...

This wasn't planned, but I think I accidentally removed some 64bit code or something ... I gonna fix this, and put it in the Clonezilla image when it is finished..

But you should try too boot in 32bits modus with any other kernel but no mach_kernel...

THX skodabenz.. for the links... I gonna try parted magic!!

Processor: Intel Pentium 4 x2 3400 Mhz SSE3 Prescott Motherboard: ASUS P4P800-E deluxe Memory: 3GB Corsair dual channel Video: ASUS ATI AH3650 Silent 512MB AGP Case: Chieftec Bigtower Install: Kalyway 10.5.2 updated to 10.5.8
NEW:  Macbook Pro 15 inch, 2GB memory.. http://www.osx86.nl Download: iGenius Intel®MacCare http://thepiratebay.org/user/PROTOCOLX/

Last edited by PROTOCOLX; 03-04-2010 at 03:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-08-2010, 09:30 PM
snowstorm snowstorm is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Destinony has won again. Please help.

I’m a 63 year-old construction worker displaced by an illegal work force and making a documentary about the working man’s plight. Apple stopped supporting Mac PC, which means I need a completely new system to finish my project, but no funds. I got a special piece of software that requires to be run on Intel Mac. So I’m hacking my old homebuilt PC to emerge as a Hackintosh.

I researched and found that the leader of this board also uses the same board. I bought a legal copy of SL and downloaded his iPortable Snow x86. But my Intel PC wouldn’t recognize the flash drive and asks me if I want to format it.

After checking bios setup, I figure the old bios needs updating and attempt to go online. The last time I went online with this computer was dial up and now I’m on High speed cable. After much effort, I can’t configure it to work and so use my older Mac, G-4-Tiger, to download the appropriate bios from Asus. After much difficulty getting to a dos prompt, I finally attempt a bios refresh through Afuse on a floppy. I then get an error telling me the bio’s ID is incorrect. Then to move on, I use my old Mac to place the SL hack on an properly formated IDE drive and place it directly in the Intel PC computer. After several bios changes, all I get is a blinking bare prompt (blinks faster than the usual dos prompt) but not able to type. I then plug in my usb keyboard and still not able to type.

Suggestions would be much appreciated.

Asus P4P800e-Duluxe with 2.5 gig mem
IDE drives, non usb keyboard and mouse.
XP Windows
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-18-2010, 05:07 PM
avatar1349 avatar1349 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
wifi on a compaq mini 110

Hi Protocolx

Running iportable_snow_x86 on a compaq mini 110 and got the sound and power management working.
Trying to get wifi working and tried and edited different kext.
The internal wireless card is a broadcom 94132 which, apparently is somewhat similar to a brcm4312.

Is there a other workaround to get this thing going?

Any info or comment is welcome

edited 18/04

Got the broadcom wifi driver loaded, but can't be initialized (using the AppleAirportBrcm4311.kext)



avatar1349

Last edited by avatar1349; 04-19-2010 at 08:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-07-2010, 01:43 AM
PROTOCOLX's Avatar
PROTOCOLX PROTOCOLX is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands
Posts: 15
snowstorm

I think you have to look to iPortable first aid.. To fix your problem..

(a little late... )

Processor: Intel Pentium 4 x2 3400 Mhz SSE3 Prescott Motherboard: ASUS P4P800-E deluxe Memory: 3GB Corsair dual channel Video: ASUS ATI AH3650 Silent 512MB AGP Case: Chieftec Bigtower Install: Kalyway 10.5.2 updated to 10.5.8
NEW:  Macbook Pro 15 inch, 2GB memory.. http://www.osx86.nl Download: iGenius Intel®MacCare http://thepiratebay.org/user/PROTOCOLX/
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-21-2012, 10:41 PM
nikolasvielberth95 nikolasvielberth95 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
iPortable

my English is bad..i know
I have some problems installing iPortable snow..
ERROR: "Unable to Unmount"
ive tried permissions for the dmg but it doesnt help.

if you could upload a ready usb stick with all files it would be perfect
(maybe on your piratebay account)

how can I remove the bootfix?
which files ?
I hav access over MacDrive in WIndows.
greetz
nikolasvielberth95

ps: whats about the windows installer?

Last edited by nikolasvielberth95; 08-21-2012 at 10:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-21-2012, 10:47 PM
nikolasvielberth95 nikolasvielberth95 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
ive read about igenius??
i will test it.


Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes