InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2010, 10:23 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Legacy kernel 10.4.0 updated

I finished the modifications to the kernel.
It now builds for both 32/64bit easily.
The patch is also here, as well as the binaries
Update: I fixed the patcher and updated it to be able to recognize any Intel instruction.
Since we don't have an auto-patching dyld yet, it's only for application binaries + dyld qua patching but it's definitely good progress.
I also created an auto-patching cpuid + sysenter tool which can operate on any Mach-O file, even directly on universal binaries.
There is also an extended tool included for patching certain sse3 instructions along with cpuid + sysenter.
Update (V4): I worked on the patcher so that it can decrypt and patch encrypted binaries (works, shows failures untill DSMOS has arrived though)
Kernel patcher (V3): Updated code to solve minor issues and not to generate output files if there is no patching done
Kernel patcher (V4): Updated code to solve no output file generated on UB if x86_64 part had no patches needed but i386 part did
Update (V5): Fixed CoreSymbolication support and fixed backtraces

Patch (V5):
http://rapidshare.com/files/42308129...ated5.diff.zip

Kernel Binaries (V5):
http://rapidshare.com/files/42308342...0.4.0_rel5.zip

AMD Instruction Patcher (V4):
http://rapidshare.com/files/42192593...patcher_V4.zip

Last edited by andyvand; 10-04-2010 at 04:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2010, 11:43 PM
eMatoS's Avatar
eMatoS eMatoS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Argentina
Posts: 185
Testing it now, I had to boot with arch=i386 and patcher_opts=2 like before otherwise kp or instant reboot. Seems to work fine for now, I've seen a new message in the console, I guess it's related to the kernel or sysenter patch but I don't know for real.
Code:
com.stclairsoft.DefaultFolderX.helper	sysctlbyname_with_pid: sysctl  failed:Invalid argument
com.stclairsoft.DefaultFolderX.helper	proc_native: sysctlbyname_with_pid  failed:Invalid argument
Overall the system feels snappier (advanced tech term hehe) but perhaps it's a placebo effect.
Thank you again Andy for your work

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @2.3Ghz - Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI nForce4 SLI - nForceLAN by eno - SuperNForceATA by Medevil - RAM:2 GB DDR 333Mhz Audio: ALC850 Video: XFX nVidia GeForce 8400GS 256Mb (0x06e4) QE & CI from Chameleon 2 RC4Ethernet: Realtek RTL 8139 Series (working out of the box) OS: Snow Leopard 10.6.4 (aryajuanda's guide) + Windows XP 64bits
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2010, 05:26 AM
$The-King$ $The-King$ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 67
thanks this work my quicktime but it crashes with mp4 and safari when open vedio on it with quick time
thanks andy for all your work

Phenom ll x4 955
ASUS M5A97
Sapphire HD6850
Kingston 2*2 GB
WDblue 500GB*2
WD green 640GB
Win 7 & SL10.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2010, 05:30 AM
jackokk jackokk is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Thank you very much for your hard work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2010, 10:16 PM
davisin666 davisin666 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 98
Gracias amigo, no me iba a dar la paja de parchar xDDD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2010, 11:49 PM
bltz bltz is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Like for eMatoS:
  • without arch=i386 and patcher_opts=2: reboot
  • with arch=i386 but without patcher_opts: kernel panic (see attachment but it's similar to those I've reported before)
  • with both it boots and somewhat works but still not really usable.
Unlike eMatoS I still have the same problems I wrote about here:
http://osx86.net/f36/qoopz-anv-xnu-1...post50208.html
(graphics problems, and missing dates and times) now with a 10.6.3 install on an AMD Athlon64 3200+
Attached Images
File Type: jpg kp-updated-legacy-kernel.jpg (78.9 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2010, 01:03 AM
Imkantus Imkantus is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by eMatoS View Post
sysenter patch but I don't know for real.
Does SYSENTER patch work via Kernel this time? (going to try later by myself...)

AMD Phenom II X4 955 - ASRock AM3A770DE - 8GB DDR3-1333 - Radeon HD 5570 1GB passiv - BCM4318 802.11b/g - Snow Leopard Retail
+++
AMD Phenom X3 8450 - ASRock AM2NF6G-VSTA (BIOS L2.39) - 4GB DDR2-800 - Radeon HD 4650 512MB - Snow Leopard Retail (retired) / OpenBSD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2010, 09:35 AM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by $The-King$ View Post
thanks this work my quicktime but it crashes with mp4 and safari when open vedio on it with quick time
thanks andy for all your work
try running them in 32 bit.
it is ssse3 related
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2010, 02:20 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Try the latest kernel on, lots of updates and it works now like a charm
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2010, 02:21 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imkantus View Post
Does SYSENTER patch work via Kernel this time? (going to try later by myself...)
It does now for dyld.
libSystem.B(_debug/_profile).dylib won't get patched as I haven't been able to build a stable custom dyld yet.
There is however now a tool for AMD which can do the hard work for you...



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.

Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes