InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2010, 10:23 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Legacy kernel 10.4.0 updated

I finished the modifications to the kernel.
It now builds for both 32/64bit easily.
The patch is also here, as well as the binaries
Update: I fixed the patcher and updated it to be able to recognize any Intel instruction.
Since we don't have an auto-patching dyld yet, it's only for application binaries + dyld qua patching but it's definitely good progress.
I also created an auto-patching cpuid + sysenter tool which can operate on any Mach-O file, even directly on universal binaries.
There is also an extended tool included for patching certain sse3 instructions along with cpuid + sysenter.
Update (V4): I worked on the patcher so that it can decrypt and patch encrypted binaries (works, shows failures untill DSMOS has arrived though)
Kernel patcher (V3): Updated code to solve minor issues and not to generate output files if there is no patching done
Kernel patcher (V4): Updated code to solve no output file generated on UB if x86_64 part had no patches needed but i386 part did
Update (V5): Fixed CoreSymbolication support and fixed backtraces

Patch (V5):
http://rapidshare.com/files/42308129...ated5.diff.zip

Kernel Binaries (V5):
http://rapidshare.com/files/42308342...0.4.0_rel5.zip

AMD Instruction Patcher (V4):
http://rapidshare.com/files/42192593...patcher_V4.zip

Last edited by andyvand; 10-04-2010 at 04:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2010, 11:43 PM
eMatoS's Avatar
eMatoS eMatoS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Argentina
Posts: 185
Testing it now, I had to boot with arch=i386 and patcher_opts=2 like before otherwise kp or instant reboot. Seems to work fine for now, I've seen a new message in the console, I guess it's related to the kernel or sysenter patch but I don't know for real.
Code:
com.stclairsoft.DefaultFolderX.helper	sysctlbyname_with_pid: sysctl  failed:Invalid argument
com.stclairsoft.DefaultFolderX.helper	proc_native: sysctlbyname_with_pid  failed:Invalid argument
Overall the system feels snappier (advanced tech term hehe) but perhaps it's a placebo effect.
Thank you again Andy for your work

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @2.3Ghz - Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI nForce4 SLI - nForceLAN by eno - SuperNForceATA by Medevil - RAM:2 GB DDR 333Mhz Audio: ALC850 Video: XFX nVidia GeForce 8400GS 256Mb (0x06e4) QE & CI from Chameleon 2 RC4Ethernet: Realtek RTL 8139 Series (working out of the box) OS: Snow Leopard 10.6.4 (aryajuanda's guide) + Windows XP 64bits
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2010, 01:03 AM
Imkantus Imkantus is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by eMatoS View Post
sysenter patch but I don't know for real.
Does SYSENTER patch work via Kernel this time? (going to try later by myself...)

AMD Phenom II X4 955 - ASRock AM3A770DE - 8GB DDR3-1333 - Radeon HD 5570 1GB passiv - BCM4318 802.11b/g - Snow Leopard Retail
+++
AMD Phenom X3 8450 - ASRock AM2NF6G-VSTA (BIOS L2.39) - 4GB DDR2-800 - Radeon HD 4650 512MB - Snow Leopard Retail (retired) / OpenBSD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2010, 02:21 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imkantus View Post
Does SYSENTER patch work via Kernel this time? (going to try later by myself...)
It does now for dyld.
libSystem.B(_debug/_profile).dylib won't get patched as I haven't been able to build a stable custom dyld yet.
There is however now a tool for AMD which can do the hard work for you...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2010, 03:28 PM
RayFlower RayFlower is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 93
Thanks for yet another kernel andy!

I still have the problems i had before with steam and abobe cs3 pse and cs5 and some au plugins though.

Just out of curiosity, does this make any sense to you?:

Code:
/Users/my_user/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/[email protected]/half-life\ 2/hl2_osx ; exit;
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libtier0.dylib
  Referenced from: /Users/my_user/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/[email protected]/half-life 2/hl2_osx
  Reason: image not found
Trace/BPT trap
logout
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2010, 02:57 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
There is another update to the kernel.
This time it can auto patch encrypted binaries (decrypting them to the new dsmos_page_transform, I figured out how it works).
Ignore the failures at beginning boot, they are because it waits for "DSMOS has arrived".
It will continue to load the binaries untill they are succesfully loaded
All that is left now is getting a stable custom dyld built (for library + framework auto patching) and then we will have everything where we need it
I could however use some help on this because the issue (I think) is that the coresymbolication functions aren't available.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2010, 01:52 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
New version of the AMD instruction patcher.
This version fixes issue of no output file generation on universal binaries when i386 part needed patching but x86_64 part didn't
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2010, 05:22 PM
snovich's Avatar
snovich snovich is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Thank you andy!

Everything working here for me. I can use Logic 9 64 bit with 32 bit plugins, like on my macbook!!! I'm booting mac os with:
arch=i386 -force64 -maxmem=4096 busratio=20

I'm using andy kernel v4 and AMD sysenter trap patch (10.6.4)(I patched sysenter_patch with maxxuss patcher gui)

ANDY THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR ALL YOUR HARD WORK!!!

I have Amd Phenom x4 965 Processor


Last edited by snovich; 09-28-2010 at 10:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2010, 04:37 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Again an update.
This time I fixed CoreSymbolication support and fixing that issue also fixed backtracing issues.
Debugging is thus available
Normally no more CS errors thus
I decided to abandon 64 bit kernel for now (untill I can figure out what's wrong with it)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-15-2010, 05:26 AM
$The-King$ $The-King$ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 67
thanks this work my quicktime but it crashes with mp4 and safari when open vedio on it with quick time
thanks andy for all your work

Phenom ll x4 955
ASUS M5A97
Sapphire HD6850
Kingston 2*2 GB
WDblue 500GB*2
WD green 640GB
Win 7 & SL10.6.8
Reply With Quote
Reply