InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2009, 05:38 PM
JoesMorgue's Avatar
JoesMorgue JoesMorgue is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 103
OS X won't re-install

I have a Compaq computer, and I did a system restore and it restored over my OS X directory.

I did a few reinstalls from iPC Live x86 and they have failed. Booting OSX results in a system reboot, or a waiting for device, or waiting for network.

I'm frustrated! Before, it wouldn't boot off the HD, and I had to boot the install CD and then launch OSX. Right now, I would be happy if I could get back to that even.

Tiger: G4 PowerPC Dual Core 400 Mhz w/640 MB RAM
20 Gig ATA HD all HFS+
Internal DVD
Access to Server
True Tiger

Leopard: Acer Intel Atom Dual Core@1.6Ghz w/1 Gig Ram
160GB HD-133GB NTFS, 15.68GB HFS+
SD slot
No Net access
iDeneb 1.6 Lite

Compaq SR5710F DualCore@2.3Ghz w/3 Gigs Ram
80 Gig ATA HD (NTFS - Vista)
200 Gig ATA HD (NTFS-Data)
Access to Server

Server: Compaq 1.8 Single Core Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition
~2 TB online....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2009, 07:42 PM
00010's Avatar
00010 00010 is offline
Leopard
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: RETIRED
Posts: 417
How did you install before, more info is needed.

RETIRED
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2009, 08:22 PM
xXrkidXx xXrkidXx is offline
Leopard
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 478
Pop in your distro(I.E. iPC or your retail disc)
Reformat the hardrive. Dick Utility, Select Drive, Erase and re Partition
Continue your install.
And boot it up!
You said something about not being able to boot without the disc.. well Google for Chameleon 2 RC4 Installer. Then Download and run the packedge, no need for installer disc to boot.

Computer: Gateway 838GM | 9.5.0 Vodoo Kernel |2.0 RC4 Chameleon Bootloader | Processor:Intel Pentium 4 630 / 3 GHz | RAM: 512MB | OS: Windows 7 32BIT, OSx86 iPC 10.5.6 | Mainboard Chipset: Intel 915G Express | Graphics Card:Integrated Intel GMA 900 | Video Memory: Dynamic Video Memory Technology 3.0 | Audio:ALC 860 |Card Reader:8 in 1 Integrated| Hard Drives:1x 200GB SATA(Win 7), 1x 320GB SATA(OS X) Both Internal
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2009, 01:11 AM
JoesMorgue's Avatar
JoesMorgue JoesMorgue is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXrkidXx View Post
Pop in your distro(I.E. iPC or your retail disc)
Reformat the hardrive. Dick Utility, Select Drive, Erase and re Partition
Continue your install.
And boot it up!
You said something about not being able to boot without the disc.. well Google for Chameleon 2 RC4 Installer. Then Download and run the packedge, no need for installer disc to boot.
I'm sorry to say, that the iPC Live disk that I'm using now is the same one I used to install it last time, and I have re-partitioned the drive.

I either get a waiting for device, (Tried several re=diskXsX commands with the same result) the computer just reboots without any info as to why, or it locks up (hard) when detecting netwerking...

Tiger: G4 PowerPC Dual Core 400 Mhz w/640 MB RAM
20 Gig ATA HD all HFS+
Internal DVD
Access to Server
True Tiger

Leopard: Acer Intel Atom Dual Core@1.6Ghz w/1 Gig Ram
160GB HD-133GB NTFS, 15.68GB HFS+
SD slot
No Net access
iDeneb 1.6 Lite

Compaq SR5710F DualCore@2.3Ghz w/3 Gigs Ram
80 Gig ATA HD (NTFS - Vista)
200 Gig ATA HD (NTFS-Data)
Access to Server

Server: Compaq 1.8 Single Core Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition
~2 TB online....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2009, 01:43 AM
00010's Avatar
00010 00010 is offline
Leopard
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: RETIRED
Posts: 417
I would give Empire EFI a shot or use SnowOSX Universal 3.6.

RETIRED
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-27-2009, 01:45 AM
00010's Avatar
00010 00010 is offline
Leopard
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: RETIRED
Posts: 417
SnowOSX Universal is only for intel, But how are you partitioning with the GUIDE or MBR partition map?

RETIRED
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-27-2009, 02:25 AM
xXrkidXx xXrkidXx is offline
Leopard
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoesMorgue View Post
I'm sorry to say, that the iPC Live disk that I'm using now is the same one I used to install it last time, and I have re-partitioned the drive.

I either get a waiting for device, (Tried several re=diskXsX commands with the same result) the computer just reboots without any info as to why, or it locks up (hard) when detecting netwerking...
Root Device- You didn't install drivers for your chipset.
Reboot- You didn't select a kernel compatible with your comp
Network- No idea..

Computer: Gateway 838GM | 9.5.0 Vodoo Kernel |2.0 RC4 Chameleon Bootloader | Processor:Intel Pentium 4 630 / 3 GHz | RAM: 512MB | OS: Windows 7 32BIT, OSx86 iPC 10.5.6 | Mainboard Chipset: Intel 915G Express | Graphics Card:Integrated Intel GMA 900 | Video Memory: Dynamic Video Memory Technology 3.0 | Audio:ALC 860 |Card Reader:8 in 1 Integrated| Hard Drives:1x 200GB SATA(Win 7), 1x 320GB SATA(OS X) Both Internal
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2010, 02:12 PM
JoesMorgue's Avatar
JoesMorgue JoesMorgue is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXrkidXx View Post
Root Device- You didn't install drivers for your chipset.
Reboot- You didn't select a kernel compatible with your comp
Network- No idea..
Can somebody tell me the drivers I need for my chipset? I got this right the first try before with knowing very little about what I was doing. Now, I'm thinking about what I'm clicking and trying to use what I have learned with poor results...

The kernel is another area where I'm lost...Every install, I've used AMD compatable kernels...

Netwerk, If I can run my HacIntosh, I'd be happy if limited to just this machine, as I have 2 sets of NTFS drivers that give me read-write access to a 500GB of data...



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


Tiger: G4 PowerPC Dual Core 400 Mhz w/640 MB RAM
20 Gig ATA HD all HFS+
Internal DVD
Access to Server
True Tiger

Leopard: Acer Intel Atom Dual Core@1.6Ghz w/1 Gig Ram
160GB HD-133GB NTFS, 15.68GB HFS+
SD slot
No Net access
iDeneb 1.6 Lite

Compaq SR5710F DualCore@2.3Ghz w/3 Gigs Ram
80 Gig ATA HD (NTFS - Vista)
200 Gig ATA HD (NTFS-Data)
Access to Server

Server: Compaq 1.8 Single Core Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition
~2 TB online....
Reply With Quote