InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #61  
Old 09-25-2009, 03:41 AM
gnychis gnychis is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
hi all... I have a Thinkpad X300, that whenever I put to sleep, I see the wireless light blink, and the the laptop wakes up. It seems as though the wireless card is waking the system after a second or two every time I sleep it.

Does anyone have any recommendations for this in terms of the DSDT? I've attached mine if it helps.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DSDT.dsl.zip (29.9 KB, 26 views)
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-05-2009, 05:37 AM
msingh msingh is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
DSDT advice needed

Hello,

My system is a Dell D830.

After a lot of tinkering around, I managed to install Snow Leopard on it. Please see my guide.

I did a few DSDT mods to get some basic fixes.

Now, the system sleeps (S3 suspend to ram) but does not deep sleep (S5 suspend to disk), shutdown or reboot. I am using OpenHaltRestart.kext and SleepEnabler.kext. The latter made it possible to even suspend.

I am including my dsdt.dsl (which includes my fixes, by the way).

I see tantalizing references to the sleep button, SBTN, etc., but I have not found any systematic documentation for the code (btw. I am comfortable with coding as I do plenty of numerical coding in my work).

Can anyone take a look and let me know what I need to do to fix my poweroff and hibernate problem ?

The DSDT repository does not contain a fixed DSDT for my laptop.

PS: Microsoft's ASL compiler should be outlawed.
Attached Files
File Type: zip dsdt.dsl.zip (20.9 KB, 62 views)

Dell Optiplex 745 Q965 Chipset
10.5.5 retail /boot-132/ EFI.
System.plist edited to 10.5.6 (needed for iWork'09)
Intel HD Audio ADI1983.
1152x864@32bit ATI (0x1002 0x7187 0x0000) Radeon X1300. Hardware accelerated. QE supported. Can't get my monitor's 1440x900 resolution as in Linux
Network : Atheros 5005G (0x168c, 0x3A1D) card aka Atheros 2413.
Dell Latitude D830 Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M, Suspend works, hibernate/shutdown/reboot don't Snow Leopard
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-20-2009, 04:07 PM
2nerd4u 2nerd4u is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk1nhd33t View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentiumpc View Post
change _HID to _CID

Device (PWRB)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0C0C")) ---> Name (_CID, EisaId ("PNP0C0C"))
Name (_UID, 0xAA)
Name (_STA, 0x0B)
}


This one I got it off some site, cannot remember where. (credit goes to him/her)
This will activate your power button to bring up the shutdown menu.

hmm weird, tried doing this on my gigabyte board but the shutdown menu wont show, when i press the power button my hack will just sleep thats it
mine will shut down instantly
edit: well actually it just goes to sleep mode verry fast^^ too bad my system wont wake from sleep...

Last edited by 2nerd4u; 10-20-2009 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 12-21-2009, 01:26 PM
Sweaty Sweaty is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14
DSDT shutdown patch

With this and new restart patch chameleon booter from Duvel (strong beer that) I have only fakesmc as an added kext, although I'm about to reinstall voodoohda so I can hopefully have two soundcards working.. anyway this is mm67's work I just found it a pain to find the detail on insane so posting it here.. Thanks to all who put together these fixes. Need to add the two operation region bits and change your method PTS

Code:
    OperationRegion (DEBG, SystemIO, 0x80, One)
    Field (DEBG, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
    {
        DBG1,   8
    }

    OperationRegion (PMRS, SystemIO, 0x0430, 0x13)
    Field (PMRS, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
    {
            ,   4,
        SLPE,   1,
                Offset (0x08),
        GPSE,   16, 
        GPSS,   16,
                Offset (0x12),
            ,   1, 
        SWGC,   1 
    }

    Method (_PTS, 1, NotSerialized)
    {
        Or (Arg0, 0xF0, Local0)
         Store (Local0, DBG1)
        Store (Zero, \_SB.PCI0.LPCB.AG3E)
        If (LEqual (Arg0, 0x05))
        {
            Store (Zero, SLPE)
            Sleep(0x10)
        }
    }
also your LPCB has to be like so

Code:
            Device (LPCB)
            {
                Name (_ADR, 0x001F0000)
                OperationRegion (LPC0, PCI_Config, 0xA4, 0x02)
                Field (LPC0, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
                {
                    AG3E,   1
                }
I suppose add device ID if you need it, I'm on ICH10 so don't.

Also attaching blackosx's duvel+rekursor version of RC4 here, replace your chameleon boot file with the one from here and add these to boot.plist to get unique UUID and restart fix:
Code:
    <key>DeviceID</key>
    <string>XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX</string>

    <key>RestartFix</key>
    <string>YES</string>
Attached Files
File Type: zip boot_RC4_Duvelv2.1_Rekursor.zip (215.6 KB, 71 views)

Last edited by Sweaty; 12-21-2009 at 01:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 12-21-2009, 02:24 PM
mm67 mm67 is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweaty View Post
With this and new restart patch chameleon booter from Duvel (strong beer that) I have only fakesmc as an added kext, although I'm about to reinstall voodoohda so I can hopefully have two soundcards working.. anyway this is mm67's work I just found it a pain to find the detail on insane so posting it here.. Thanks to all who put together these fixes. Need to add the two operation region bits and change your method PTS

Code:
    OperationRegion (DEBG, SystemIO, 0x80, One)
    Field (DEBG, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
    {
        DBG1,   8
    }

    OperationRegion (PMRS, SystemIO, 0x0430, 0x13)
    Field (PMRS, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
    {
            ,   4,
        SLPE,   1,
                Offset (0x08),
        GPSE,   16, 
        GPSS,   16,
                Offset (0x12),
            ,   1, 
        SWGC,   1 
    }

    Method (_PTS, 1, NotSerialized)
    {
        Or (Arg0, 0xF0, Local0)
         Store (Local0, DBG1)
        Store (Zero, \_SB.PCI0.LPCB.AG3E)
        If (LEqual (Arg0, 0x05))
        {
            Store (Zero, SLPE)
            Sleep(0x10)
        }
    }
It's only this :
Code:
    OperationRegion (PMRS, SystemIO, 0x0430, 0x13)
    Field (PMRS, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
    {
            ,   4,
        SLPE,   1,
and this:
Code:
        If (LEqual (Arg0, 0x05))
        {
            Store (Zero, SLPE)
            Sleep(0x10)
        }
that make the shutdown work, rest of the code is Gigabyte specific. This address 0x0430 is also motherboard specific, it is PMBASE+30h. Address of PMBASE is defined in FACP, on most boards it can also be checked from processor definitions. For example I have this in my dsdt:

Processor (CPU0, 0x00, 0x00000410, 0x06)

Here 0x00000410 is referring to PMBASE+10h so I use 0x430 on my Gigabyte board. On my MSI board's dsdt I have this:
Processor (P001, 0x01, 0x00000810, 0x06) {}

So in MSI shutdown code I use this:
OperationRegion (PMRS, SystemIO, 0x0830, 0x13)

Last edited by mm67; 12-21-2009 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 12-21-2009, 03:43 PM
Sweaty Sweaty is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 14
Ok cheers mate, had to add the other bits on my board (asus p5ql/epu) to get it to compile, I'll try the simpler way later.. At least it did work the way I bodged it

EDIT: OK fixed code as you suggested I needed to use 0x830, also got rid of unnecessary bits, sometimes I needed to turn PSU off with 0x430 (before I could restart, shutdown was complete), that seems fixed now. Thanks a lot.

Last edited by Sweaty; 12-22-2009 at 02:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 01-09-2010, 08:36 AM
adityaxavier adityaxavier is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Hi Guys,

Im in a fix.. Everywhere there is a DSDT Fix for getting the USB port to be displayed as Built-in but i need the opposite..
USB - 3 shows as built-in, but it has bluetooth. hence on sleep i loose bluetooth.. if i remove the entry altogether, i have it as external but my sleep fails..

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Am having Lenovo T60p. with ICH7-M chipset.

Thanks,
Xavier
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 01-18-2010, 02:42 PM
ping99 ping99 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Shutdown & Restart with sleep fix-Thanks to Sweaty & mm67

Many thanks to Sweaty and mm67. You are really nice. This resolve the problem I thought it would never be resloved.

I just made a small change to Method (_PTS, 1, NotSerialized) in order to resolve sleep issue on my notebook CQ60-202TX. Now let me put all together step by step as a guide. This might help newbie.

1 Add OperationRegion below before Method (_PTS, 1, NotSerialized)
OperationRegion (DEBG, SystemIO, 0x80, One)
Field (DEBG, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
{
DBG1, 8
}

OperationRegion (PMRS, SystemIO, 0x0430, 0x13)
Field (PMRS, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
{
, 4,
SLPE, 1,
Offset (0x08),
GPSE, 16,
GPSS, 16,
Offset (0x12),
, 1,
SWGC, 1
}

2 Check Device (LPC) if there is a similar Operation Region "LPC" like below. If you don't have LPC device, just search Name (_ADR, 0x001F0000), sometimes the device name is different.
Device (LPC)
{
Name (_ADR, 0x001F0000)
OperationRegion (LPC0, PCI_Config, 0xA4, 0x02)
Field (LPC0, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
{
AG3E, 1
}
If there is no OperationRegion LPC, please add code above. In my dsdt's OperationRegion LPC0, there is an EXPE instead of AG3E. So I did not modify it, but had to change a bit in Method (_PTS, 1, NotSerialized) . See mine below:
OperationRegion (LPC0, PCI_Config, 0x40, 0xC0)
Field (LPC0, AnyAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
{
Offset (0x60),
, 10,
EXPE, 1
}

3 Add code below in Method (_PTS, 1, NotSerialized) like this
Method (_PTS, 1, NotSerialized)
{
Or (Arg0, 0xF0, Local0)
Store (Local0, DBG1)
Store (Zero, \_SB.PCI0.LPC.EXPE) //Please change to \_SB.PCI0.LPC.AG3E if you don't have the EXPE, but add AG3E.
If (LEqual (Arg0, 0x05))
{
Store (Zero, SLPE)
Sleep(0x10)
}
Else
{
//**Original Code, this resolved my sleep issue.
}
}

//This is written by mm67. You are really nice.
This address 0x0430 is also motherboard specific, it is PMBASE+30h. Address of PMBASE is defined in FACP, on most boards it can also be checked from processor definitions. For example I have this in my dsdt:

Processor (CPU0, 0x00, 0x00000410, 0x06)

Here 0x00000410 is referring to PMBASE+10h so I use 0x430 on my Gigabyte board. On my MSI board's dsdt I have this:
Processor (P001, 0x01, 0x00000810, 0x06) {}

So in MSI shutdown code I use this:
OperationRegion (PMRS, SystemIO, 0x0830, 0x13)

4 Add these in your com.apple.Boot.plist and then put "boot_RC4_Duvelv2.1_Rekursor" under your boot partition.
<key>DeviceID</key>
<string>******XX-***X-***X-***X-************</string>
<key>RestartFix</key>
<string>YES</string>

Now you can remove OpenHaltRestart.kext and PlatformUUID.kext or other similar kexts.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 01-29-2010, 10:05 AM
pocenk pocenk is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
does anyone have dsdt for EP45-DS5? i'm trying to patch myself and always failed

please help
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 01-31-2010, 02:11 AM
Nameci's Avatar
Nameci Nameci is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentiumpc View Post
Most portable system don't sleep on closing the LID, I tried to find a DSDT fix for it but cannot find it. (google is my best friend.) so I wrote 1 to fix my own.

If you have a better or alternative method, please let me know. Thanks.

Device (LID0)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0C0D")) //LID detection
Method (_PRW, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Return (Package (0x02)
{
0x0B,
0x04
})
}
Name (LIDS, One)
Method (_LID, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Store (^^PCI0.SBRG.EC0.SF13, LIDS) //LID register
XOr (LIDS, One, Local0)
IF (Local0) //if LID is closed
{
Notify (SLPB, 0x80) //Set system to sleep
}
Return (LIDS)
}


LID device should be easy to find, just need to add a line to notify the system to sleep.

On most system, (I think) depends on the OS to set the system to sleep bit OS X don't understand the notification sent by the LID device, so I did it in the hardware instead.
Noob here.

Never did work on my dsdt, I have errors after compiling on which it cannot find the registers. After much of googling, I have edited one value on my dsdt, on the LID0, instead of 0x03 I have made it to 0x04. I have sleep on lid close now, but I still don't have wake on lid open or wake on keyboard press after sleep via Fn+F1.

Here is my DSDT.dsl if somebody care to point me to the right direction.

Thanks in advance.



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Enjoy $50 in free credits.

Attached Files
File Type: zip DSDT.dsl.zip (14.7 KB, 4 views)

Hasee W230N  iAtkos S3 v2 10.6.3 updated to 10.6.4 via Apple Software Update . Intel T8300 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo
Intel Mobile GM965 ICH8 . Intel X3100 . Atheros Ar9280 WiFi . Realtek RTL8101E . ALC 883 . Optiarc DVD+RW . KingSpec MLC SSD 32Gb SATA

"Do I want a real Mac? Yes of course!!!"

Last edited by Nameci; 01-31-2010 at 02:15 AM. Reason: Forgot to attach file
Reply With Quote