InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:22 PM
bandit250 bandit250 is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 16
Atheros card 9285

can any one help me with finding the kext for this card?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2009, 08:05 PM
flip360 flip360 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 299
try 10.6.2 update

MSI P5Q / C2D E8400 @ 3.0 Ghz / 8GB DDR2 800Mhz / PCIe ECS 9600GT 1Gb / ALC1200 / Windows 7 / OS X 10.8
ASUS K50IN (SX004L) / C2D T6400 @ 2.0 Ghz / 4GB DDR2 800Mhz / nVidia G102M 512Mb / 15.6" HD/LED / ALC662 / Dell 1490 802.11g / Windows 7 / OS X 10.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2009, 10:46 PM
marchele marchele is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Atheros AR9285

So, the AR9285 work? can you post the kext? thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2009, 10:51 PM
flip360 flip360 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Macedonia
Posts: 299
I have had the AR9285 WiFi card and it was recognized with the 10.6.2 update (just have to put your device-id in Atheros21.kext), airport is recognized but its not scanning or connecting to any network..I swapped it yesterday with a Dell 1490 and it showed up as native airport Brcm43xx, scanned and connected to networks immidiately, so i have to say that the Atheros card is still not working...

MSI P5Q / C2D E8400 @ 3.0 Ghz / 8GB DDR2 800Mhz / PCIe ECS 9600GT 1Gb / ALC1200 / Windows 7 / OS X 10.8
ASUS K50IN (SX004L) / C2D T6400 @ 2.0 Ghz / 4GB DDR2 800Mhz / nVidia G102M 512Mb / 15.6" HD/LED / ALC662 / Dell 1490 802.11g / Windows 7 / OS X 10.8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2009, 08:13 AM
scififan68 scififan68 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 229
Try this kext: http://www.mediafire.com/?ttozmhzxwtj

GA-Z68XP-UD3: Lion 10.7.3, Windows 7 Professional 64bit SP1 and FreeBSD 9-RELEASE, Core i5 2500K @ 3.3GHz, 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 ram(Soon), 1GB GDDR5 Nvidia Geforce GTX 560 Ti, 2X 1TB Samsung F3 SATA HDDs, 1X WDC Blue 500GB HDD; Dell Mini 10v: Obsidian Black, 2GB DDR2 533MHz Ram, 1.6GHz Intel Atom N270, 120GB HDD, 6-Cell, Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.8 Build 10K549
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2009, 08:46 AM
Imkantus Imkantus is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 779
There are various people around, who have reported this card not to work with new AirPortAtheros21.kext ...

I just wanted to let you know that netkas released a legacy kext that injects the Device-ID, so that you don't need to edit the Kernel Extension itself.
http://netkas.org/?p=315

AMD Phenom II X4 955 - ASRock AM3A770DE - 8GB DDR3-1333 - Radeon HD 5570 1GB passiv - BCM4318 802.11b/g - Snow Leopard Retail
+++
AMD Phenom X3 8450 - ASRock AM2NF6G-VSTA (BIOS L2.39) - 4GB DDR2-800 - Radeon HD 4650 512MB - Snow Leopard Retail (retired) / OpenBSD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2009, 09:52 AM
meistersinger meistersinger is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Installing Snow Leopard on an ECS Elitegroup Nvidia MCP-61 chipset motherboard

I have the following hardware:

ECS Elitegroup motherboard with nVidia MCP61 chipset (with latest Award BIOS installed)
2 GB Memory
AMD 64x2 5200+ cpu
eVGA Geforce 6200 PCIe Videocard
TI-based Firewire 400 card.
2-Hitachi 1tb SATA Hard drives
2-Maxtor 500gb SATA Gard drive
1 Seagate 500 IDE hard drive
1 LiteOn 24x DVD burner


I have tried, without success, to install Snow Leopard on this machine
using the methods found 1) ihackintosh.com, 2) on prasys' blog and 3)the methods outlined all over the web on installing snow leopard to a USB flash drive, as well as a small partition on a second hard drive while running under leopard.

Each method always ends the same way. I end up with a type 14 error and the system does a panic and coredump. I have used modbin's test7 kernel, as well as qoozl with the same results. I have tried Chameleon 1.1, 2.0rc1, 2.0rc2, and 2.0rc3 with the same results. I have also installed the latest NForceATA kexts, Latest NVIDIA video injector kexts and the latest dsmos kexts in ~/Extra/Extensions, rebuilt the Extensions cache under ~/Extra, and still get the same results.

WHAT AM I DOING WRONG?

a very frustrated meistersinger.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2009, 10:01 AM
Imkantus Imkantus is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by meistersinger View Post
WHAT AM I DOING WRONG?
You're posting in the wrong forum into a topic with a different subject.

AMD Phenom II X4 955 - ASRock AM3A770DE - 8GB DDR3-1333 - Radeon HD 5570 1GB passiv - BCM4318 802.11b/g - Snow Leopard Retail
+++
AMD Phenom X3 8450 - ASRock AM2NF6G-VSTA (BIOS L2.39) - 4GB DDR2-800 - Radeon HD 4650 512MB - Snow Leopard Retail (retired) / OpenBSD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2009, 05:20 AM
CaryDude CaryDude is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
A little less "hack", a little more science?

So everybody wants to get this card going under Snow Leopard, but we're not really getting to the root of the problem, just throwing kexts at each other.

My System Profiler shows the card with an unknown locale and no country code.



That shouldn't be. We can see in IORegistryExplorer where that's coming in.



There's been numerous discussions on Apple's site (like http://discussions.apple.com/message...ageID=10629655 ) where folks' country codes aren't being detected right on 802.11n cards under Snow Leopard. What's supposed to happen is that the card listens to hear the beacons of access points in the area, and determines what the IO80211Locale and IO80211CountryCode are by picking them out of beacons it hears. Supposedly Apple (ok, Atheros) fixed those issues in the 10.6(2) release that gave us the Atheros support to begin with, but I still see this in my kernel log:



So being a creative guy, I tried modifying the Info.plist file and adding this in at the end of the file:

Code:
                        </array>
                        <key>IOProviderClass</key>
                        <string>IOPCIDevice</string>
                                <dict>
                                <key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
                                <string>com.apple.driver.AirPort.Atheros21</string>
                                <key>IO80211Locale</key>
                                <string>FCC</string>
                                <key>IO80211CountryCode</key>
                                <string>US</string>
                                </dict>
But they ended up at the wrong level, appearing on the AirPort_AthrFusion21 not the AirPort_AthrFusion21Interface where they need to be.



Somebody good with plists might be able to help us force this, but I think what's really needed is somebody who understands the interaction between the driver and the hardware. We can all flip the Airport off and on, so we're waking it up, but it's ears aren't listening. Once we figure out how to make the ears open up, they'll hear the beacons they're supposed to, figure out what locale and country code to use, and we'll be beyond this (and on to figure out the darned AttansicL1E ethernet card--which, I think, is having similar issues on the transmit side.)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2010, 02:14 PM
collac432 collac432 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
I completely agree with CaryDude

I've been searching for info about this problem since a long time ago, and what CaryDude says is the better explanation i've readed.

I would like to have more knowledge on how kexts and hw interact, but is not the case

I hope somebody can help us.

Regards.


Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes