InfiniteMac OSx86  

Nice: Get free cryptocurrency tokens (WCX). About ~$10 worth. Claim here. Enjoy!

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #21  
Old 07-17-2009, 03:54 PM
warback warback is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Hello,

For "Still waiting for root device" just going to the Bios and change "ACPI Suspend type" to S3, or another mode and reboot

enjoy
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-14-2009, 01:51 AM
WallyFTW WallyFTW is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by newhariharan View Post
my system config is this

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Intel DP45SG Main Board
With 2*2GB DDR3 Ram
XFX 9600GT 1GB DDR3 Graphics Card
Creative sound audugy value

i have installed iPC OSx86 10.5.6 Universal PPF5 Final it says installation is successfully completed ..... but after the installation is over it is not opening .....

in the -v mode it says ...... firewire unable to determine security mode..

still waiting for the root device
after the restart it is loading with a stop sign in the middle of the apple logo

Same prob .........
I used to have this. Go into your BIOS. See if you can find anything that has something labeled with "1394", a common firewire port. If you find the 1394 option, set it to disabled and you'll get passed that firewire error. but now I'm stuck with some hang, hope you don't.

~ Jon
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-04-2009, 08:32 PM
gravicle gravicle is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
still waiting for root device on ASUS p5n-MX nForce 610i

Hey there!



Mac osX has now become an obsession for me....

I 've had a really hard time trying to make ANY osX work.

Here are my Specs:

Mobo: ASUS P5N-MX (CHIPSET: NVIDIA GeForce 7050 /Southbridge: nForce 610i)

Intel CELERON-D 347 CPU 3.0 GHz with instructions: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 EM64T

phoenix ACPI BIOS 802

128MB onboard gfx

2gig DDR-2 400MHz Hynix RAM

PATA 160GB + 40GB HDD

PATA DVD/RW..... i've just one ATA cable...thus the HDD & DVD/RW are on the same cable

I don't know if I have a jmicron controller or not...



I have tried the following distros, with their respective problems:

iATKOS V5i : installed OK but then STILL WAITING FOR ROOT DEVICE

iATKOS V7 : installed OK but then STILL WAITING FOR ROOT DEVICE

iDeneb v1.5 10.5.7 : installed OK but then STILL WAITING FOR ROOT DEVICE (during install i got error SAM MULTIMEDIA READ OR WRITE ERROR but the installer proceeded)

iPC_OSx86_10_5_6_Universal_PPF5_Final : cannot even boot the CD due to STILL WAITING FOR ROOT DEVICE

Kalyway 10.5.2 : cannot update system uuid



To solve the "STILL WAITING FOR ROOT DEVICE " I tried this:

1. played a LOT with jumpers and cables (u understand that....ryt).. no result

2. 2. Tried configuring the BIOS in ways listed here as well as according to the guide http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...owtopic=167180, did a LOT of tinkering.. HUH...to no avail


2. tried a plethora of flags in all imaginable combinations: -v -f -x -s platform=x86PC platform=ACPI rd=diskXsY (with all values of X & Y) rd=diskX idehalt=0

3. tried patching the iPC iso with iPC_v1.1_PPF patch... but the DVD din't boot = AS USUAL

4. tried various kernels but not all : AppleNforceATA, AppleNforceATA_TEST, Vanilla, SleepKernel, Voodo

I've spent countless hours trying to resolve it and went through numerous guides... none to much avail. The mobo is compatible as detailed here http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php...178149&st=0 but its all on SATA/SATA. As far as I know IDE is rather more compatible.



Please help. I'll not let it go until I'm done with it. I've installed MANY times but never saw an APPLE screen beyond the grey one ...with a CROSS on it



Thanks in advance.

MOBO: Asus P5N-MX (GeForce 7050/ nForce 610i); CPU : CELERON D 3.0GHz (SSE3);


Samsung PATA DVD-RW ; Hard drive: 160G IDE Seagate


Video : Onboard 128 M; RAM : 2G
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-06-2009, 06:03 AM
gravicle gravicle is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
FiNALLLLLy
I got past the ERROR....

as you Said... I played with the IDE/SATA drivers in the iATKos v7 customization & Selected INTEL SATA/IDE driver....

And lo! it went past the "still waiting for Root device"



But then the boot stopped at a blank BLACK SCREEN... GoDDD Damn....

I booted with -V flag... also tried -x (safe mode) but it never reaches anywhere. Any ideas. please...



P.S.: I tried to delete NVIDIA drivers but I cannot even reach the -s mode. Black screen Everywhere.

MOBO: Asus P5N-MX (GeForce 7050/ nForce 610i); CPU : CELERON D 3.0GHz (SSE3);


Samsung PATA DVD-RW ; Hard drive: 160G IDE Seagate


Video : Onboard 128 M; RAM : 2G
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-23-2009, 09:46 AM
VaHiX VaHiX is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
rd=disk

I use iPC 10.5.6 and when I try rd=disk0s2 parameter in DVD boot menu my system boot without any error but I put it in plist string parameter and grub command list but still waiting for root device. I change sata configuration and acpi suspend parameter in bios too.
I use P5KC, cpu E2140, sata driver
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-09-2010, 10:55 PM
Breathless Breathless is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
The answer for me....

FOR ANYONE HAVING THE "STILL WAITING FOR ROOT DEVICE" ERROR....

Watch this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJJgAJq1lvo

The problem is that you need to specify to the install DVD where your hard drive is located. It looks to the wrong port, or a non existing port (trying it in each port did nothing for me). For me with my P6T Deluxe V2, swapping the sata cable around to the different ports did not work when using the boot123 method described in this thread (although 'swapping' did work when I used the "MyHack" method on a different occasion) :

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...0#entry1426154


In any case, I had to put my hard drive on sata port 1, and my cd rom on port 2. I then booted up off the Boot123 cd as per the instructions on the original page in that thread, swapped in my Mac OSX DVD, and then typed in the flag:

rd=disk1s3

If you put the drive on a different port your disk number may be different. You would then have to experiment in that case. I'll quote another post on this error:

http://www.ihackintosh.com/2009/05/s...r-root-device/

"If you know the number of your Hard Drive then at the Darwin prompt (after boot press F8) write: rd=DiskX where X is the number of your OSX hard drive.

For instance if your hard drive is 0 (zero is the first hard drive) then write:
rd=disk0
if you do not know your hard drive then there is a try and error method of trying all the disk possibilities on your computer starting with: rd=disk0 then rd=disk1 then rd=disk2 then rd=disk3 etc. another good option is to disconnect other HD and leave the OSX HD as first and write disk0."


However, as soon as I did this (rd=disk1s3), my installation proceeded and everything was cake from then on. Hope this helps someone.

This should be added to the first post in this thread as I believe this is what the problem is for 90% of the people who have this problem.

Breathless
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-10-2010, 01:46 AM
Breathless Breathless is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
FOR ANYONE HAVING THE "STILL WAITING FOR ROOT DEVICE" ERROR....

Watch this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJJgAJq1lvo

The problem is that you need to specify to the install DVD where your hard drive is located. It looks to the wrong port, or a non existing port. Trying the 'swapping' method on the fly to different ports did nothing for me on my P6T Deluxe V2 when using the boot123 method described in the guide that I followed

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...owtopic=208724

(although 'swapping' did work when I used the "MyHack" method on a different occasion).


In any case, I had to put my hard drive on sata port 1, and my cd rom on port 2. I then booted up off the Boot123 cd as per the instructions in that thread, swapped in my Mac OSX DVD, and then typed in the flag:

rd=disk1s3

I didn't have to type the other jiberrish described on the youtube video where it references the above flag, just exactly what I bolded above.

If you put the drive on a different port your disk number may be different. You would then have to experiment. However, as soon as I did this, my installation proceeded and everything was cake from then on. Hope this helps someone.

I think this should be referenced on the first page in this thread since I think this is the cause of 90% of peoples issue with this error.

Breathless

Last edited by Breathless; 04-22-2010 at 02:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:09 AM
Krypto Krypto is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
Grr...I'm still getting this error..

My specs:
Motherboard: MSI RS482M4
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
GPU: Integrated GPU ATI Radeon Xpress 200 series
Memory: 3gb RAM
DVD-RW: Lite-ON Sohw-1693s

I tried iPC, iAtkos, iDeneb and even Hazards 10.6.2...
Please help...Still waiting for root device..
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:40 PM
Breathless Breathless is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Did you try what I said?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-22-2010, 09:48 PM
Krypto Krypto is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
You mean the rd=disk1s3? Yeah I did. It's a no-go; in fact I tried:
rd=disk0s0
rd=disk1s0
and yeah I'm not gonna stretch this any further, but you can say I basically tried it all the way to rd=disk10s10

Both WAYS.


Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes