InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #111  
Old 10-27-2009, 07:58 PM
frenchbeast frenchbeast is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Sleep, Restart, Shutdown not working ...

Hello,

I have a D630 with an NVidia graphic card
When i install SL the first time, shutdown, restart and sleep work
After i apply the driver pack, sleep, restart and shutdown won't trigger the hardware to stop
I just have a blank (black) screen

I have to push the power button few seconds to shutdown the system completely

I was wondering if someone had this issue and found something, like a kext preventing the system shutdown/restart/sleep ...

Any clue will be welcome !!

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 10-29-2009, 04:50 AM
blacklabelsktr2 blacklabelsktr2 is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Anyone Else get this when they run ps -ef in terminal? Is there a fix for this? I know it's to do with the mouse.. I dont think making a new User Daemon will fix this.. After using the system for about an hour it will no longer let me open applications, giving me the error "unknown error -10810" Maybe 64bit mouse drivers/Touchpad drivers would fix?

monitor.app/Contents/MacOS/Activity Monitor -psn_0_98328
0 265 1 0 0:07.31 ?? 0:11.24 /Applications/Utilities/Activity Monitor.app/Contents/MacOS/activitymonitord
0 267 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 270 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 273 1 0 0:00.01 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 277 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 280 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 283 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 290 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 293 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 296 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 299 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 302 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 305 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 308 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 311 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 314 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 317 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 320 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 323 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 326 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 329 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 332 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
0 335 1 0 0:00.00 ?? 0:00.01 /usr/sbin/ffscrolldaemon
//------REMOVED rest of the enteries.. there are about 30 more...you get the idea*************** <-
0 512 195 0 0:00.05 ttys000 0:00.08 login -pf xxxxx
501 513 512 0 0:00.01 ttys000 0:00.01 -bash
0 516 513 0 0:00.00 ttys000 0:00.00 ps -ef

---------->
Laptop: Dell D630 w/Docking Station
OS: SL 10.6.1
Ram: 4GB
GPU: Quadro 135m
Wifi: RTL8187SE
Audio: Sigmatel 9205
Not Working: Built in Ethernet (don't need it) and primary wifi card (not yet supported)

Last edited by blacklabelsktr2; 10-29-2009 at 04:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 10-29-2009, 07:14 PM
eXpresion eXpresion is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Hi blacklabelsktr2,
I have this issue too ! Its because of the ffscrolldaemon, its getting started many many times so the system gets out of memory. If I type "killall -9 ffscrolldaemon" in the terminal I can use the system again....

Does anybody knows how to fix this ?
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:15 PM
blacklabelsktr2 blacklabelsktr2 is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXpresion View Post
Hi blacklabelsktr2,
I have this issue too ! Its because of the ffscrolldaemon, its getting started many many times so the system gets out of memory. If I type "killall -9 ffscrolldaemon" in the terminal I can use the system again....

Does anybody knows how to fix this ?
As picture shown here: http://img382.imageshack.us/img382/6...91013at170.png
I'm beginning to wonder if unchecking "Keep it running at all times" would be a fix, or if that would cause your keyboard and mouse stop functioning all together. I'm too afraid to try things like this out. Somewhere on google I thought I saw a page in reference to the -10810 error, where someone came up with a solution to limit the process to only running 5 active processes (I forget where I saw this.) But this could also be a solution.
Maybe another way could be to rewrite FFScroll completely, but I won't think that would solve the issue really. If interested in trying though see here: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...howtopic=88811

Like I said, I haven't actually tried any of them out. Just trying to research to find best solution.

---------->
Laptop: Dell D630 w/Docking Station
OS: SL 10.6.1
Ram: 4GB
GPU: Quadro 135m
Wifi: RTL8187SE
Audio: Sigmatel 9205
Not Working: Built in Ethernet (don't need it) and primary wifi card (not yet supported)
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 10-30-2009, 12:04 AM
achtung achtung is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Label</key>
<string>ffscroll</string>
<key>Program</key>
<string>/usr/local/bin/FFScrollDaemon</string>
<key>RunAtLoad</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</plist>

works for me. The problem with the original one is the <key>KeepAlive</key> key. Its obvious that the daemon only has to be started once at startup. Just modify the path to the executable if you've installed it somewhere different.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 10-30-2009, 12:27 AM
blacklabelsktr2 blacklabelsktr2 is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by achtung View Post
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Label</key>
<string>ffscroll</string>
<key>Program</key>
<string>/usr/local/bin/FFScrollDaemon</string>
<key>RunAtLoad</key>
<true/>
</dict>
</plist>

works for me. The problem with the original one is the <key>KeepAlive</key> key. Its obvious that the daemon only has to be started once at startup. Just modify the path to the executable if you've installed it somewhere different.
Thanks thought this could be it. I just used the Ligon application in first post to edit the file. I'll try it out and see if I still have issues.

---------->
Laptop: Dell D630 w/Docking Station
OS: SL 10.6.1
Ram: 4GB
GPU: Quadro 135m
Wifi: RTL8187SE
Audio: Sigmatel 9205
Not Working: Built in Ethernet (don't need it) and primary wifi card (not yet supported)
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 11-02-2009, 07:57 PM
xover xover is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Working now

After much difficulty this kext pack is now mostly working for me (only the trackpad fails). One of the big issues was that the video drivers for GMAX3100 did not work...perhaps they are only good for WXGA and not WXGA+ like I have. In any case, a generous soul provided working drivers in this post:

http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...post&p=1299847

Another key to success was that (using Chameleon 2 RC3) having extensions in /Extra behaved differently from having them in /System/Library/Extensions. I moved everything to /S/L/E/.

Also note that, while I'm not sure of the necessity of having done so, I booted in Linux, dumped and decompiled the DSDT, edited in the "usual" ways, and recompiled it. I basically followed what you see in the link below:

http://www.projectosx.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=515

Dell D630 Bios A16 OSX 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
2.0 GHz T7300 4MB Cache C2D - Working (both cores)
2 GB RAM - Working
GMA X3100 Graphics Card, WXGA+ 1440x900 - Working (+QE/CI)
Dell Wireless 1390 Card - Working
Broadcom NetXtreme 5755M Gigabit Ethernet - Working
Sigmatel 9205 Sound Card - Working
PS/2 Keyboard - Mostly Working, Not Recognized
PS/2 Trackpad - Not Working
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 11-02-2009, 08:12 PM
xover xover is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
I forgot to say also that, when I copied the SL install disk over to a USB nerdstick, the D630 refused to boot from it. It was therefore necessary to first install Snow Leopard on the main hard disk using a USB enclosure and nearby Mac Mini (which I also used for terminal work). Then I could transfer the drive over to the D630 for further work.

Note also that when I subsequently used Migration Assistant to transfer from the old Leopard hackintosh setup, it hosed the SL installation. I restored from backup and avoided making that mistake a second time.

Dell D630 Bios A16 OSX 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
2.0 GHz T7300 4MB Cache C2D - Working (both cores)
2 GB RAM - Working
GMA X3100 Graphics Card, WXGA+ 1440x900 - Working (+QE/CI)
Dell Wireless 1390 Card - Working
Broadcom NetXtreme 5755M Gigabit Ethernet - Working
Sigmatel 9205 Sound Card - Working
PS/2 Keyboard - Mostly Working, Not Recognized
PS/2 Trackpad - Not Working
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 11-03-2009, 05:24 AM
xover xover is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Some people asked for my DSDT. You can find it attached:
Attached Files
File Type: zip dsdtD630.zip (11.0 KB, 93 views)

Dell D630 Bios A16 OSX 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
2.0 GHz T7300 4MB Cache C2D - Working (both cores)
2 GB RAM - Working
GMA X3100 Graphics Card, WXGA+ 1440x900 - Working (+QE/CI)
Dell Wireless 1390 Card - Working
Broadcom NetXtreme 5755M Gigabit Ethernet - Working
Sigmatel 9205 Sound Card - Working
PS/2 Keyboard - Mostly Working, Not Recognized
PS/2 Trackpad - Not Working
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 11-03-2009, 10:39 AM
howoarang howoarang is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by xover View Post
Some people asked for my DSDT. You can find it attached:
OK, but this is the same as from Dell d630 pack, and with this dsdt.aml, I have problem with recognize USB devices



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.

Reply With Quote