InfiniteMac OSx86  

Nice: Get free cryptocurrency tokens (WCX). About ~$10 worth. Claim here. Enjoy!

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #11  
Old 08-18-2009, 02:54 PM
cili0's Avatar
cili0 cili0 is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 20
ok i'm back. Everything worked. I was forced to boot the installer in -x32 (in 64bit KP few seconds after snow is installing).

Now the only bad thing is that SL doesn't correctly recognise my CPU speed (stuck at 2.07Ghz instead of 3.0Ghz even if i installed VoodooPower.kext).

Thanks sk1nhd33t for your great guide!
Cheers!

iHack NB: P35 | SB: ICH9R | CPU: C2D E6850 3.0Ghz | RAM: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB: GA-P35-DS4(rev1.1, bios F14) | GPU: MSI GeForce NX8800GT 1GB | NIC: Realtek R1000 | AUDIO: ALC889a | OS: Retail 10.5.8 & SL 10A432 | BL: Chameleon 2.0RC1(PCEFI v10) + DSDT.aml

(sorry my poor English, I'm Italian)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-18-2009, 03:46 PM
sk1nhd33t sk1nhd33t is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by cili0 View Post
Now the only bad thing is that SL doesn't correctly recognise my CPU speed (stuck at 2.07Ghz instead of 3.0Ghz even if i installed VoodooPower.kext).
try adding these to your smbios.plist, replace the string that corresponds to your processor.

Quote:
<key>SMexternalclock</key>
<string>Your CPU FSB in MHz goes here</string>
<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
<string>Your CPU max speed in MHz goes here</string>
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-18-2009, 04:00 PM
drbee drbee is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Hi,
Thanks for the great guide. Everything works for me but i have one problem. I had 2 partition one with Snow leopard beta and I installed from that 10a432 on another one. The problem is I cannot install Chameleon in snow leopard. I get install error. I tried with efi 10 but the boot file doesn't work.
Anyone knows a way to install Chameleon from SL?? Also other installer packages give me the same error..

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-18-2009, 04:24 PM
sk1nhd33t sk1nhd33t is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 77
@ drbee

do it under Leopard, but since you already tried installing it on snow doing it in leopard will give an error too so

- show all hidden files and delete .Chameleon folder on root (take note of the dot)
- install Chameleon

OR just add the boot-uuid on your snow's boot.plist and let your leopard's chameleon do the booting. No more need to press F12 (ES2L) or F8 (other mobo) if you wanna switch OS from one drive to the other
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-18-2009, 10:03 PM
cili0's Avatar
cili0 cili0 is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk1nhd33t View Post
try adding these to your smbios.plist, replace the string that corresponds to your processor.
Hi sk1nhd33t,

i modified the smbios.plist adding:

Code:
	<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
	<string>3000</string>
and it seems to work (i'm wondering if the cpu is actually working at 3.0Ghz).



I noticed that the VoodooPower.kext i grab somewhere doesn't work!
Where i can found a 64bit VodooPower.kext that works ?

thanks in advance!
cheers!

iHack NB: P35 | SB: ICH9R | CPU: C2D E6850 3.0Ghz | RAM: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB: GA-P35-DS4(rev1.1, bios F14) | GPU: MSI GeForce NX8800GT 1GB | NIC: Realtek R1000 | AUDIO: ALC889a | OS: Retail 10.5.8 & SL 10A432 | BL: Chameleon 2.0RC1(PCEFI v10) + DSDT.aml

(sorry my poor English, I'm Italian)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-19-2009, 08:38 AM
drbee drbee is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks for your help sk1nhd33t.
The problem is I don't have leopard installed. I was using SL 10a421 And i installed from there.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-19-2009, 03:22 PM
Mac_Dude Mac_Dude is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
worked flawless

Snow does perform great , except for sleep.
Sleep does not work , even with sleepenabler.kext

thanks mate
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-20-2009, 04:55 AM
sk1nhd33t sk1nhd33t is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 77
@Mac_Dude

manual sleep working fine here except automatic sleep which cease to function from 10.5.7, here's the combination of kext if ever.

AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement + NullCPUPowermanagement + Sleepenabler = sleep

or just delete AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext, you get sleep but higher temps (about 8-10C)

@ cili0

AFAIK there is no 64bit voodoopower yet which im also waiting and realtekr1000 64.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-20-2009, 01:41 PM
cili0's Avatar
cili0 cili0 is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 20
i searched a while in the superhai forum, and actually there's no 64bit VooodooPower.kext, i don't know where i found that version!

However i fixed the sleep problem, it works in Leopard,SL x32, but KP occurs after wake up in x64.

iHack NB: P35 | SB: ICH9R | CPU: C2D E6850 3.0Ghz | RAM: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz | MB: GA-P35-DS4(rev1.1, bios F14) | GPU: MSI GeForce NX8800GT 1GB | NIC: Realtek R1000 | AUDIO: ALC889a | OS: Retail 10.5.8 & SL 10A432 | BL: Chameleon 2.0RC1(PCEFI v10) + DSDT.aml

(sorry my poor English, I'm Italian)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-20-2009, 02:22 PM
Snow's Avatar
Snow Snow is offline
Tiger
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 263
sk1nhd33t, thx a lot for your proper guide m8, I have made another one based on yours but slightly changed.

I'm now 3 hours and a half in 64bit and no panics

I always figured the USB install method would be best since you are installing from an SL environment.

Anyway, thx again and have fun with the OS



Snow Leopard 10.6.7  Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P  Intel Q6600 @ 3Ghz  Corsair CM2X2048-6400DHX  Gigabyte HD5770 Silent Cell  Samsung SyncMaster 2494SW  ALC889a  Creative T5400 5.1  Maxtor 380215AS  Pioneer DVR-215D  Presonus Inspire 1394  KRK Rokit 5  Wacom Bamboo One 
 SL USB Guide => http://www.infinitemac.com/f57/guide...k-drive-t3705/ 
Reply With Quote