InfiniteMac OSx86  

Nice: Get free cryptocurrency tokens (WCX). About ~$10 worth. Claim here. Enjoy!

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2012, 04:07 AM
Godofwar Godofwar is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 177
How to run snow leopard at higher resolutions without graphics card support?

ASUS M4A79XTD EVO is my motherboard but it only lists 1024x resolution which is low for desktop resolution.


Edit: Another question. Is it possible to run my gtx 570 and 8800 gts 320mb card on my motherboard at same time? Does Hackintosh Snow Leopard support 8800gts 320mb card? Is there a way I can make 8800 320mb card be detected by snow leopard, and when I'm my windows 7 side to detect only the 570 card? Or is this all not possible to be done on an Amd Phenom II x4 965 3.4ghz(running at 3.8ghz right now).


Also, I didn't try this yet. But why can't I just install 400 series drivers for my 570 card? Aren't 400 and 500 series both fermi cards? Kepler graphics cards are the 600 series right?

Last edited by Godofwar; 08-30-2012 at 04:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2012, 05:45 PM
Lacedaemon's Avatar
Lacedaemon Lacedaemon is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 48
What I did on NVIDIA GeForce 9200: Edit the "Graphics Mode" string inside com.apple.Boot.plist.

System Specifications
Enermax Ostrong w/ Red Trim
Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.0
Mac OS X 10.8.2
6 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3 RAM
1 TB 5400 RPM Hard Drive
Intel Core i5 3470 3.2 GHz
ASUS ATI Radeon HD 5450 512 MB
Antec TriCool 80mm Blue LED Fan


Got AMD? Join the Cult of AMD group on OSx86.net!

Please hit the Thanks button if I helped in any way!

Acert0sh - Hackintosh for Acer PCs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2012, 04:32 AM
Godofwar Godofwar is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lacedaemon View Post
What I did on NVIDIA GeForce 9200: Edit the "Graphics Mode" string inside com.apple.Boot.plist.
How do you do that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2012, 07:27 PM
Lacedaemon's Avatar
Lacedaemon Lacedaemon is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godofwar View Post
How do you do that?
Normally, com.apple.Boot.plist is protected by root, so you can edit it with the following:

Code:
sudo nano /Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist
Password: <password here>
When you type that, you should see a bunch of XML and what-not. If the Graphics Mode string isn't already there, add it so it looks like this:

Code:
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>Resolution Here</string>
Tip: You can download Chameleon Wizard to update your bootloader and make editing the org.chameleon.Boot.plist easier.

System Specifications
Enermax Ostrong w/ Red Trim
Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H Rev 1.0
Mac OS X 10.8.2
6 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3 RAM
1 TB 5400 RPM Hard Drive
Intel Core i5 3470 3.2 GHz
ASUS ATI Radeon HD 5450 512 MB
Antec TriCool 80mm Blue LED Fan


Got AMD? Join the Cult of AMD group on OSx86.net!

Please hit the Thanks button if I helped in any way!

Acert0sh - Hackintosh for Acer PCs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2012, 08:36 PM
Godofwar Godofwar is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lacedaemon View Post
Normally, com.apple.Boot.plist is protected by root, so you can edit it with the following:

Code:
sudo nano /Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist
Password: <password here>
When you type that, you should see a bunch of XML and what-not. If the Graphics Mode string isn't already there, add it so it looks like this:

Code:
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>Resolution Here</string>
Tip: You can download Chameleon Wizard to update your bootloader and make editing the org.chameleon.Boot.plist easier.
Thanks, but I'm running Lion now.


Reply With Quote