InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:56 AM
m3s_4ev3r m3s_4ev3r is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Timisoara
Posts: 28
Photoshop CS4 on 10.6.2 [SOLVED]

Hello, I finally ahve made my 10.6.2 COMPLETELY running, I installed Adobe Photoshop CS4 and on every save it crashes the program.

The bug is a 10.6 specific bug that happens to many other applications, but with the arrival of 10.6.2 the bug should be fixed, IT ISN'T. SL 10.6.2 Combo Patch is applied and I still get the same error, I tried to install a security update but it wouldn't let me, "no eligible hardware", oh joy...

Does anyone know anything about this, have YOU applied the patch and Photoshop is running as it should, being able to save and so on?


I am running:
Snow Leopard 10.6.2 + test7 kernel on:

ASUS M3N78
(specs: http://www.deusxmachina.org/manual.pdf
Audio Chipset: VT1708B High Definition Audio 8-channel CODEC (dead, no hope)
)
--------------
AMD Athlon x2 Black Edition 7750 2.7GHz AM2+ 3MB Cache
--------------
Palit nVidia GTS 250 512MB DDR3 (works with GFX UTIL)
--------------
2x2GB GeIL Ultra DDR2 800MHz

Running Snow 10.6.3 + 10.6.3 annapvirth kernel on:

ASUS M3N78
(specs: http://www.deusxmachina.org/manual.pdf
Audio Chipset: VT1708B High Definition Audio 8-channel CODEC (VoodooHDA 17Feb2010 version, only JackOutput, sad about my digital output not working)
)
--------------
AMD Athlon x2 Black Edition 7750 2.7GHz AM2+ 3MB Cache
--------------
Palit nVidia GTS 250 512MB DDR3 (works with GFX Strings)
--------------
2x2GB GeIL Ultra DDR2 800MHz
--------------
Seagate 300GB

Last edited by m3s_4ev3r; 12-31-2009 at 08:21 PM. Reason: found the reason, just need someone with knowledge
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2009, 03:51 AM
m3s_4ev3r m3s_4ev3r is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Timisoara
Posts: 28
Through lots of trial and error I think I found why the 10.6.2 on Hackintosh's doesn't fix Photoshop's behaviour.

I tested AnV's kernel for Snow Leopard, I replaced the original mach_kernel and then applied the 10.6.2 update again, the update adds like 3.6mb of information to the kernel (AnV's kernel size 15.1MB, AnV modified by 10.6.2 patch kernel size - 18.7MB).

Is it possible to move the changes in one of our custom kernels? that would fix LOTS of problems, or am I talking rubbish?

I attached the original AnV Kernel and the modded one.

AnV's original thread here:
http://www.infinitemac.com/f36/anv-q...-kernel-t5082/

And those are the two kernels:
http://www.4shared.com/file/18509825..._by_1062_.html

Running Snow 10.6.3 + 10.6.3 annapvirth kernel on:

ASUS M3N78
(specs: http://www.deusxmachina.org/manual.pdf
Audio Chipset: VT1708B High Definition Audio 8-channel CODEC (VoodooHDA 17Feb2010 version, only JackOutput, sad about my digital output not working)
)
--------------
AMD Athlon x2 Black Edition 7750 2.7GHz AM2+ 3MB Cache
--------------
Palit nVidia GTS 250 512MB DDR3 (works with GFX Strings)
--------------
2x2GB GeIL Ultra DDR2 800MHz
--------------
Seagate 300GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2009, 03:55 AM
xXrkidXx xXrkidXx is offline
Leopard
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 478
umm if you added Andy's kernel and then updated without backing up or anything then you just updated your kernel to vanilla.(AKA Apple's kernel.) Because 10.6.2 adds a new kernel.

Computer: Gateway 838GM | 9.5.0 Vodoo Kernel |2.0 RC4 Chameleon Bootloader | Processor:Intel Pentium 4 630 / 3 GHz | RAM: 512MB | OS: Windows 7 32BIT, OSx86 iPC 10.5.6 | Mainboard Chipset: Intel 915G Express | Graphics Card:Integrated Intel GMA 900 | Video Memory: Dynamic Video Memory Technology 3.0 | Audio:ALC 860 |Card Reader:8 in 1 Integrated| Hard Drives:1x 200GB SATA(Win 7), 1x 320GB SATA(OS X) Both Internal
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2009, 03:59 AM
m3s_4ev3r m3s_4ev3r is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Timisoara
Posts: 28
I have like 3-4 kernels there, when one stops I am using another one.

I am wrong then, my bad, how can I make SL run with vanilla kernel? [injection of some sort, going wild here, still learning] the idea is that if the update doesn't fix photoshop (who is updated with the latest updates) it means that the only thing unchanged is the location of the fix for it, ergo the kernel.

I am running out of ideas ...

Or how can the vanilla's kernel fixes be implemented in a custom kernel, like Andy's
THANKS, Arthur

-I am pissing against the wind here ....-

Running Snow 10.6.3 + 10.6.3 annapvirth kernel on:

ASUS M3N78
(specs: http://www.deusxmachina.org/manual.pdf
Audio Chipset: VT1708B High Definition Audio 8-channel CODEC (VoodooHDA 17Feb2010 version, only JackOutput, sad about my digital output not working)
)
--------------
AMD Athlon x2 Black Edition 7750 2.7GHz AM2+ 3MB Cache
--------------
Palit nVidia GTS 250 512MB DDR3 (works with GFX Strings)
--------------
2x2GB GeIL Ultra DDR2 800MHz
--------------
Seagate 300GB

Last edited by m3s_4ev3r; 12-31-2009 at 04:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2009, 04:05 AM
m3s_4ev3r m3s_4ev3r is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Timisoara
Posts: 28
The only reason for which I switched to 10.6.2 was my graphic card, someone said that 10.6.2 is the only one who supports it.... bad choices over bad choices.

Running Snow 10.6.3 + 10.6.3 annapvirth kernel on:

ASUS M3N78
(specs: http://www.deusxmachina.org/manual.pdf
Audio Chipset: VT1708B High Definition Audio 8-channel CODEC (VoodooHDA 17Feb2010 version, only JackOutput, sad about my digital output not working)
)
--------------
AMD Athlon x2 Black Edition 7750 2.7GHz AM2+ 3MB Cache
--------------
Palit nVidia GTS 250 512MB DDR3 (works with GFX Strings)
--------------
2x2GB GeIL Ultra DDR2 800MHz
--------------
Seagate 300GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2009, 11:51 AM
Imkantus Imkantus is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 779
xXrkidXx is right the second Kernel is the 10.2.0 Vanilla XNU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3s_4ev3r
how can I make SL run with vanilla kernel?
Get Intel Core- or Nehalem computer.
Vanilla is the untouched OS X Kernel and doesn't work on other CPUs - at least not without beeing patched.

I guess the reason Photoshop crashes is wrong CPU Opcode. You need to patch your system using Marvin's AMD Utility again after installing Photoshop on AMD to make it work. On Leopard we have the Voodoo XNU Kernel which does this on-the-fly and doesn't require manual patching, but this feature hasn't been ported yet.

AMD Phenom II X4 955 - ASRock AM3A770DE - 8GB DDR3-1333 - Radeon HD 5570 1GB passiv - BCM4318 802.11b/g - Snow Leopard Retail
+++
AMD Phenom X3 8450 - ASRock AM2NF6G-VSTA (BIOS L2.39) - 4GB DDR2-800 - Radeon HD 4650 512MB - Snow Leopard Retail (retired) / OpenBSD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2009, 02:05 PM
m3s_4ev3r m3s_4ev3r is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Timisoara
Posts: 28
The Thing is that every time I use Marvin's AMD Patcher my sistem crashes,

When it scans System/Library it always crashes.

Running Snow 10.6.3 + 10.6.3 annapvirth kernel on:

ASUS M3N78
(specs: http://www.deusxmachina.org/manual.pdf
Audio Chipset: VT1708B High Definition Audio 8-channel CODEC (VoodooHDA 17Feb2010 version, only JackOutput, sad about my digital output not working)
)
--------------
AMD Athlon x2 Black Edition 7750 2.7GHz AM2+ 3MB Cache
--------------
Palit nVidia GTS 250 512MB DDR3 (works with GFX Strings)
--------------
2x2GB GeIL Ultra DDR2 800MHz
--------------
Seagate 300GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2009, 08:21 PM
m3s_4ev3r m3s_4ev3r is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Timisoara
Posts: 28
Problem Solved, systematically patched every binary file on my system with Marvin's AMD Utility, and EVERYTHING works, even iTunes.

for those wondering, Download Marvin's AMD Utility, don't get cpuid's from the entire system, use only option 2 and then 3, I scanned Applications and then System, and then patched everything, there were errors. When an error occurs open cpuid.txt for the directory you are patching and find the error (READ THE LOG) and delete everything until that line, including that line, save and then continue patching using option 3.

When you get to System directory, there will be encrypted files, option will also create a replace.sh. I entered in single user mode(I wanted to patch the cpuids from there but it didn't worked) and executed the script witch decrypted and replaced the encrypted binaries with unencrypted ones, restart and to the patching as stated above.

I hope this helps everyone who's in a tight spot!

Ty'



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


Running Snow 10.6.3 + 10.6.3 annapvirth kernel on:

ASUS M3N78
(specs: http://www.deusxmachina.org/manual.pdf
Audio Chipset: VT1708B High Definition Audio 8-channel CODEC (VoodooHDA 17Feb2010 version, only JackOutput, sad about my digital output not working)
)
--------------
AMD Athlon x2 Black Edition 7750 2.7GHz AM2+ 3MB Cache
--------------
Palit nVidia GTS 250 512MB DDR3 (works with GFX Strings)
--------------
2x2GB GeIL Ultra DDR2 800MHz
--------------
Seagate 300GB
Reply With Quote