InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:12 AM
Gurruwiwi Gurruwiwi is offline
Tiger
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 306
Software Update asking me to update Macbook Pro EFI Firmware ?!?!

Hey!

Must be doing something right! Just audio away complete SL install.

I edited the smbios.plist to mimic a Macbook Pro 5,1 since I've got a very close match, and system profiler reads correct Ram and CPU (although says CPU unknown... help welcome!!)

Copied all entries from the web from a real MBP...

Check out the pic.

What up with that ?


.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot 2009-09-01 at 12.06.09 AM.png (51.8 KB, 166 views)

_____________________________________________

Acer 6936g 864G32mn [@ Snow Leopard 10.6.1 32/64bit
C2D 2,4Ghz 4Gb 1066mhz DDR3 9600m GT 512 GDDR3

___Snow Leopard tutorial -> http://www.infinitemac.com/f57/guide...ted-for-t4183/
_________Leopard
tutorial ->http://www.infinitemac.com/f19/guide...-iatkos-t3357/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:22 AM
x986123's Avatar
x986123 x986123 is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 200
It wont work, You dont have an EFI chip. Even if you do it, it wont install, since it has no instructions where it is on your *Hacbook pro*


OS: Snow Leopard Mac OS X 10.6.2 (10C540) | Vanilla Kernel | 64 bit Kernel | EFI64

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz
GPU: 2x SLI Dual GTX 260 (OpenCL working)(QE+CI)
RAM: 6GB DDR3 1600MHz 7-7-7-20

AUDIO: Realtek (5.1 config)
HDD: RAID 0- 1 + 1TB HDD's | 320GB HDD
MOBO: MSI X58 Platinum SLI (Intel ICH10)

CASE: Haf 932 Full Tower Case + Red Cathodes
MONITOR: Asus VK266H 26" 1920x1200 LCD

All working
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2009, 01:26 AM
Gurruwiwi Gurruwiwi is offline
Tiger
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 306
I know that

I'm just saying, Snow at first was very tough to tame, but it sure looks like many are heading to rock solid setups, and with this info, more heavy duty apps will be able to correctly register HW info and work accordingly. I think this is the first time I've seen proof of really tricking Apple for myself

Also, it does help to tune up your system. I decided to post because I've been trying all summer and I'd never come across editing smbios.plist inside of Extra folder.

I may be a reason a a KP or two also.

_____________________________________________

Acer 6936g 864G32mn [@ Snow Leopard 10.6.1 32/64bit
C2D 2,4Ghz 4Gb 1066mhz DDR3 9600m GT 512 GDDR3

___Snow Leopard tutorial -> http://www.infinitemac.com/f57/guide...ted-for-t4183/
_________Leopard
tutorial ->http://www.infinitemac.com/f19/guide...-iatkos-t3357/

Last edited by Gurruwiwi; 09-01-2009 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2009, 03:02 AM
beto2k7 beto2k7 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Can you post ur smbios.plist please?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2009, 06:30 PM
Gurruwiwi Gurruwiwi is offline
Tiger
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 306
Sure thing, as sson as I get home.

_____________________________________________

Acer 6936g 864G32mn [@ Snow Leopard 10.6.1 32/64bit
C2D 2,4Ghz 4Gb 1066mhz DDR3 9600m GT 512 GDDR3

___Snow Leopard tutorial -> http://www.infinitemac.com/f57/guide...ted-for-t4183/
_________Leopard
tutorial ->http://www.infinitemac.com/f19/guide...-iatkos-t3357/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:54 PM
beto2k7 beto2k7 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurruwiwi View Post
Sure thing, as sson as I get home.
Thanks man, also if its not too much of a hassle the list of kext in ur /Extra/Extensions folder?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:18 PM
beto2k7 beto2k7 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Dude can i ask u again for ur smbios.plist? heh
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:25 PM
Cee Cee is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
or could post how exactly you achieved this? i.e how to edit smbios and put it to extra folder etc.
would be soo nice
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-2009, 09:04 PM
Gurruwiwi Gurruwiwi is offline
Tiger
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 306
I can post my smbios.plist, but I achieved this by "cloning" from a real macbook pro with spec similar to mine.

All you have to do is introduce model, a serial number, ram and cpu speeds etc.

It just a more extended smbios edit, not just ram and cpu from just

Like this, in my case.

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>SMbiosvendor</key>
	<string>Apple Inc.</string>
	<key>SMbiosversion</key>
	<string>MBP51.88Z.5671.B99.0867221733</string>
	<key>SMboardmanufacturer</key>
	<string>Apple Inc.</string>
	<key>SMboardproduct</key>
	<string>MacBookPro5,1</string>
	<key>SMfamily</key>
	<string>MacBookPro5,1</string>
	<key>SMmanufacturer</key>
	<string>Apple Inc.</string>
	<key>SMproductname</key>
	<string>MacBookPro5,1</string>
	<key>SMserial</key>
	<string>W834765J1GA</string>
	<key>SMsystemversion</key>
	<string>1.0</string>
	<key>SMUUID</key>
	<string>689999DA-601B-3012-B030-681A6090B999</string>
	<key>SMmemtype</key>
	<string>24</string>
	<key>SMmemspeed</key>
	<string>1066</string>
	<key>SMmemmanufacter</key>
	<string>Corsair</string>
	<key>SMmemserial</key>
	<string>100000000</string>
	<key>SMmempart</key>
	<string>1</string>
<!--
	<key>SMexternalclock</key>
	<string>1066</string>
	<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
	<string>4264</string>
        
-->
</dict>
</plist>

_____________________________________________

Acer 6936g 864G32mn [@ Snow Leopard 10.6.1 32/64bit
C2D 2,4Ghz 4Gb 1066mhz DDR3 9600m GT 512 GDDR3

___Snow Leopard tutorial -> http://www.infinitemac.com/f57/guide...ted-for-t4183/
_________Leopard
tutorial ->http://www.infinitemac.com/f19/guide...-iatkos-t3357/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-2009, 09:06 PM
xXrkidXx xXrkidXx is offline
Leopard
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 478
u did a retail install right? maybe you have the MacBook Pro EFI firmware...
just a guess, i dont deal with hacbooks, just HacPro's



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


Computer: Gateway 838GM | 9.5.0 Vodoo Kernel |2.0 RC4 Chameleon Bootloader | Processor:Intel Pentium 4 630 / 3 GHz | RAM: 512MB | OS: Windows 7 32BIT, OSx86 iPC 10.5.6 | Mainboard Chipset: Intel 915G Express | Graphics Card:Integrated Intel GMA 900 | Video Memory: Dynamic Video Memory Technology 3.0 | Audio:ALC 860 |Card Reader:8 in 1 Integrated| Hard Drives:1x 200GB SATA(Win 7), 1x 320GB SATA(OS X) Both Internal
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes