InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2010, 06:50 PM
blackknight blackknight is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62
Blackknight (AnV/Qoopz-based) kernel w/corrected Phenom FSB detection

Hi guys,

I am making available a kernel that I modified from the 10.2.0 AnV/Qoopz diff file that includes a corrected FSB detection specifically for Phenoms. I did not alter the diff in any other way, so they deserve most of the credit for this one. Basically, my change checks for whether the processor is a Phenom or Shanghai and if it is, doubles the detected FSB speed. If it isn't, the kernel is then the same as AnV/Qoopz's. I've included the diff file in case anyone wants to use what I've done in other kernels.

The reason it doubles the FSB is that the busratio is then detected as the actual CPU multiplier set in the BIOS and not double it. This means that you are no longer capped to 3.0 GHz as a maximum CPU clock speed since the kernel has a busratio cap of 30. Now, you can be able overclock your Phenom to up to 6GHz (theoretically) and the kernel won't panic due to the cap.

I hope this benefits all you Phenom users out there!!

http://www.innovativecinemasystems.c.../10.2.0-BK.zip

*EDIT*
Had to remove Shanghai support. I'll keep working on adding it and post an update when I think it'll work. I don't have one so I can't test, but when I added it to the kernel, it broke the Phenom support. When I get that fixed, I'll re-upload so people with Shanghais can test it.

*UPDATE 03/23/2010*
I changed the patch a little to try to add Shanghai support back in and I think it's working, but I don't have a Shanghai to test (please test if you have one and let me know). Also, the kernel has been updated using Andy's new Release2. I need to know if this still works with Intel (any) and Athlon (older than Athlon 2 and Phenoms). Please test and let me know.

Also, I have updated the diff file to only apply to xnu-1486.2.11 that has already been patched by one of the other methods. This should really just help Andy incorporate it into his future kernels and doesn't really apply to others unless they are already patching the kernel using the Voodoo methods. All it does is add the Phenom/Shanghai detection.

*UPDATE* now available for 10.6.3
Here's the new kernel and diff file for 10.3.0:http://www.innovativecinemasystems.c.../10.3.0-BK.zip

Let me know if it works for you. Also, -force64 is still not working correctly for AMD and I think it has something to do with one of Andy's mods, but I don't know for sure.

Hackintosh 1: OS X 10.6.8 / Antec P180B / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 / Phenom II x2 550 @ 3.4 GHz / 2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / Gigabyte Radeon 4550 512MB / ASUS EAH4870X2 [email protected] 800/950 / 2x150GB Velociraptors RAID 0
Hackintosh 2: OS X 10.6.8 / Full-ATX Mac Pro case / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-UD5P / Phenom x4 9950 @3.2GHz / 4x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / HIS Radeon HD 6950 u/l to 6970 / 2x300GB Velociraptors RAID 0 / 4x2TB WD20EARS Pictures

Last edited by blackknight; 04-18-2010 at 06:25 AM. Reason: Now updated to 10.3.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2010, 06:09 AM
toanbk toanbk is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 43
does it work well with fly - cpuid and AMD ATHLON ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2010, 06:19 AM
blackknight blackknight is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62
No, all it does is correctly identify the FSB in addition to all of the other AnV features. You can read about AnV's kernel in his thread.

Hackintosh 1: OS X 10.6.8 / Antec P180B / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 / Phenom II x2 550 @ 3.4 GHz / 2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / Gigabyte Radeon 4550 512MB / ASUS EAH4870X2 [email protected] 800/950 / 2x150GB Velociraptors RAID 0
Hackintosh 2: OS X 10.6.8 / Full-ATX Mac Pro case / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-UD5P / Phenom x4 9950 @3.2GHz / 4x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / HIS Radeon HD 6950 u/l to 6970 / 2x300GB Velociraptors RAID 0 / 4x2TB WD20EARS Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2010, 12:19 AM
RetroRen RetroRen is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 46
Thanks for thre kernel but It doesnt work for me yet, same as with Andys kernel:

I put system.kext that Andy provided with kernel in S/L/E and installed thekernel but my boot just stops. When I try to boot to safe mode i get KP.

This is where my boot stops:

GA MA-790X UD4P, AMD Phenom II X2 550
8 Gb DDR2 667 RAM, ATI HD 3850
WD 640 Gb, Seagate 320 GB
Win XP 64bit & OSX 10.5.5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2010, 02:30 AM
blackknight blackknight is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62
I just use the vanilla System.kext. I actually don't have any modified Apple kexts in my system. Try that and see if it works. Also, make sure you're using PC_EFIv10.5 as it seems to work the best.

Hackintosh 1: OS X 10.6.8 / Antec P180B / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 / Phenom II x2 550 @ 3.4 GHz / 2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / Gigabyte Radeon 4550 512MB / ASUS EAH4870X2 [email protected] 800/950 / 2x150GB Velociraptors RAID 0
Hackintosh 2: OS X 10.6.8 / Full-ATX Mac Pro case / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-UD5P / Phenom x4 9950 @3.2GHz / 4x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / HIS Radeon HD 6950 u/l to 6970 / 2x300GB Velociraptors RAID 0 / 4x2TB WD20EARS Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2010, 08:27 AM
RetroRen RetroRen is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackknight View Post
I just use the vanilla System.kext. I actually don't have any modified Apple kexts in my system. Try that and see if it works. Also, make sure you're using PC_EFIv10.5 as it seems to work the best.
I knew it was a bad idea to use a modified kext.
Will replace it as soon as a find vanilla System.kext, because I was stupid enough not to back it up

I guess it's that modified kext, I'm using PC_EFIv10.5.

GA MA-790X UD4P, AMD Phenom II X2 550
8 Gb DDR2 667 RAM, ATI HD 3850
WD 640 Gb, Seagate 320 GB
Win XP 64bit & OSX 10.5.5

Last edited by RetroRen; 01-05-2010 at 11:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2010, 09:10 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Thanks Black Knight for the fixes to Shanghai/Phenom.
Feel free to redistribute the patches etc...
Anybody may use my code as they see fit
Keep up the great work.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2010, 10:12 PM
blackknight blackknight is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyvand View Post
Thanks Black Knight for the fixes to Shanghai/Phenom.
Feel free to redistribute the patches etc...
Anybody may use my code as they see fit
Keep up the great work.
Glad I could help. I hope that this feature is added to future kernels too so I don't have to modify it every time. Thanks for the code to start with Andy and you keep up the great work too!!

Hackintosh 1: OS X 10.6.8 / Antec P180B / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 / Phenom II x2 550 @ 3.4 GHz / 2x1GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / Gigabyte Radeon 4550 512MB / ASUS EAH4870X2 [email protected] 800/950 / 2x150GB Velociraptors RAID 0
Hackintosh 2: OS X 10.6.8 / Full-ATX Mac Pro case / Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-UD5P / Phenom x4 9950 @3.2GHz / 4x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 MHz / HIS Radeon HD 6950 u/l to 6970 / 2x300GB Velociraptors RAID 0 / 4x2TB WD20EARS Pictures
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2010, 05:33 AM
bhokuto bhokuto is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackknight View Post
Hi guys,

I am making available a kernel that I modified from the 10.2.0 AnV/Qoopz diff file that includes a corrected FSB detection specifically for Phenoms. I did not alter the diff in any other way, so they deserve most of the credit for this one. Basically, my change checks for whether the processor is a Phenom or Shanghai and if it is, doubles the detected FSB speed. If it isn't, the kernel is then the same as AnV/Qoopz's. I've included the diff file in case anyone wants to use what I've done in other kernels.

The reason it doubles the FSB is that the busratio is then detected as the actual CPU multiplier set in the BIOS and not double it. This means that you are no longer capped to 3.0 GHz as a maximum CPU clock speed since the kernel has a busratio cap of 30. Now, you can be able overclock your Phenom to up to 6GHz (theoretically) and the kernel won't panic due to the cap.

I hope this benefits all you Phenom users out there!!

http://www.innovativecinemasystems.c.../10.2.0-BK.zip

*EDIT*
Had to remove Shanghai support. I'll keep working on adding it and post an update when I think it'll work. I don't have one so I can't test, but when I added it to the kernel, it broke the Phenom support. When I get that fixed, I'll re-upload so people with Shanghais can test it.
thanks mang

iDeneb 10.5.7 -cpus=4
Windows Vista x32 H.P.
Btldr: Chameleon 2 RC4 PCEFI 10_5
Legacey Kernel 10.2.0

PC SPEC:
AMD P2 X4 955 @3.5GHz - MB: MSI 785GM-E65 - Graphics: MSI R5670 1 GB DDR5 - HDD SataII 500Gb + 320Gb - USB SataII 300Gb Seagate; 4Gig DDR3 1333Mhz; Antec 550w True Power PSU
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-19-2010, 05:08 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
http://rapidshare.com/files/36547018..._rel2.diff.zip
Could you update this with your patch?
It corrects a little mistake I've made with the first release...
You may then upload that version (will work with AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement, previous one didn't... also sets core detection better)



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.

Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes