InfiniteMac OSx86  

🌅 Dive into Web3 and Crypto, join FTX! 🚀

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2009, 08:41 AM
demigod's Avatar
demigod demigod is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: India
Posts: 80
Folder Created by worm

i have a 2GB Transcend pen-drive .. i use it for transferring data's .its often get infected with worms and viruses. when i connect it in mac i can see it locked .i able to unlocked and deleted those files.but i am not able the delete forlder created by worm like "AutoRun" or "System" like that .only solution i have is formating it.

it's really annoying is there any other solution than this ?

demigod

MAC OS x : Yet to figure out version.
CPU:AMD E-350D APU MOBO:GA-E350N RAM: 4GB 1333Mhz GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6310
HDD:Seagate 160GB SATA DVD-RW: Transcend USB Burner USB Mouse & Keyboard
WebCam: Logitech C910

Chipset:
AMD Radeon HD 6310
North Bridge: AMD A45 FCH
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2009, 11:59 PM
nfoav8or's Avatar
nfoav8or nfoav8or is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 933
using the terminal and removing the items has no effect?

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2009, 04:43 PM
demigod's Avatar
demigod demigod is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: India
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfoav8or View Post
using the terminal and removing the items has no effect?
yup . it says no permission even i use sudo -s

Edit :

bash-3.2# rm -rf AutoRun
rm: AutoRun: Operation not permitted
bash-3.2#

MAC OS x : Yet to figure out version.
CPU:AMD E-350D APU MOBO:GA-E350N RAM: 4GB 1333Mhz GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6310
HDD:Seagate 160GB SATA DVD-RW: Transcend USB Burner USB Mouse & Keyboard
WebCam: Logitech C910

Chipset:
AMD Radeon HD 6310
North Bridge: AMD A45 FCH

Last edited by demigod; 02-04-2009 at 02:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2009, 04:58 PM
eMatoS's Avatar
eMatoS eMatoS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Argentina
Posts: 185
Perhaps repairing it with disk utility may help. It works for me, although it only seems to work with paragon ntfs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:14 PM
demigod's Avatar
demigod demigod is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: India
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by eMatoS View Post
Perhaps repairing it with disk utility may help. It works for me, although it only seems to work with paragon ntfs.
what is paragon ntfs ?

MAC OS x : Yet to figure out version.
CPU:AMD E-350D APU MOBO:GA-E350N RAM: 4GB 1333Mhz GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6310
HDD:Seagate 160GB SATA DVD-RW: Transcend USB Burner USB Mouse & Keyboard
WebCam: Logitech C910

Chipset:
AMD Radeon HD 6310
North Bridge: AMD A45 FCH
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:42 PM
eMatoS's Avatar
eMatoS eMatoS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Argentina
Posts: 185
It's a program from paragon that will give you read/write access to ntfs partitions, just like macfuse but more stable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2009, 04:52 PM
aquanutz aquanutz is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
I had an issue similar to this (sans the viruses) with a drive that I had imaged to Windows XP. I couldn't remove anything from the drive. I had to play with Disk Utility (open and close it, right click on drive over and over) and eventually "Erase" was not greyed out and I could format the drive and now it's functioning properly.



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.

Reply With Quote