InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2011, 11:45 AM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Legacy kernel 10.6.8 with custom dyld and new SSE3 emulator and VIA Nano cpu support

The full package included, as usual.
I've also added support for VIA (Nano) cpu's (the cpuid of those can be modified by a few rdmsr/wrmsr instructions).
Furthermore I included the new SSE3 emulator as default (thanks for the person who supplied it, I forgot his name, credits go to him).
It also includes the custom dyld.
BTW: Sorry for the late entry but at work my workstation wouldn't allow rapidshare so I had to bring along my netbook (to link it to the corporate WLAN network, then it worked).

Download including sources:
https://rapidshare.com/files/2811076...-AnV-0.4.1.zip
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2011, 12:27 PM
wastez's Avatar
wastez wastez is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 182
Hello,

Did you fix the problem with the fsb detection for amd if the bootloader detect itīs fsb correct?
Because the old fsb "fix" take the default fsb and multiply it x2.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2011, 04:10 PM
jackokk jackokk is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Thank you very much. You are my hero!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2011, 07:41 AM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by wastez View Post
Hello,

Did you fix the problem with the fsb detection for amd if the bootloader detect itīs fsb correct?
Because the old fsb "fix" take the default fsb and multiply it x2.

Thank you.
No, I haven't done that yet.
Haven't updated the FSB algo's (just added there support for Via Nano, which is mostly Intel compatible).
BTW: If you could point me to the patch I may be able to add it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2011, 09:12 AM
Unrealized's Avatar
Unrealized Unrealized is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 176
What about Lion? Could your diff work for Lion's kernel?

My Hardware
CPU: Intel Celeron G530
Memory: 4.00 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
OS: Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 - Vanilla kernel
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2011, 11:17 AM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unrealized View Post
What about Lion? Could your diff work for Lion's kernel?
Not without modifications.
Somebody (some geekXXXX) made a patch for Lion to run on 32bit kernel.
With my diff it wouldn't work for 32bit so I need his patch too before I can make a new diff for Lion.
If somebody could contact him (I believe you can find him on InsanelyMac forum somewhere) and ask him the diff + get it to me I could get to work...
I allready compiled up a test kernel from within Snow Leopard in case of Lion and I can make one from within my environment (untill I can get the final version of Lion + suitable kernel).
I just need his diff...
EDIT: Oh yeah, if anybody could upload me the final version of the Mac OS X 10.7.sdk (from under /Developer/SDKs) I would be very grateful. it will be used for the new custom dyld.

Last edited by andyvand; 08-11-2011 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2011, 11:31 AM
Unrealized's Avatar
Unrealized Unrealized is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Nice, gonna look on InsanelyMac if I can find him and ask for the diff. Lion on AMD/Via Nano would be so awesome.
From what I've understood, Lion requires a "full 64-bit mode" ?

It's like finding a needle in a haystack, but I think it's worth it. Not sure if I can find him though..

My Hardware
CPU: Intel Celeron G530
Memory: 4.00 GB DDR3 1333Mhz
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
OS: Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 - Vanilla kernel
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H61M-D2-B3

Last edited by Unrealized; 08-11-2011 at 11:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2011, 02:51 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unrealized View Post
Nice, gonna look on InsanelyMac if I can find him and ask for the diff. Lion on AMD/Via Nano would be so awesome.
From what I've understood, Lion requires a "full 64-bit mode" ?

It's like finding a needle in a haystack, but I think it's worth it. Not sure if I can find him though..
Yes but that guy, geek (with a number behind it) would have a kernel that works in 32bit mode too.
If we can get our hands on that patch, we can make the legacy kernel also available for 32bit booting.
If we can't, it's gonna require 64bit cpu's (64bit Intel/AMD/Via).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2011, 03:12 PM
m28ew m28ew is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyvand View Post
Yes but that guy, geek (with a number behind it) would have a kernel that works in 32bit mode too.

is that him ?





Code:
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=263074
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2011, 03:14 PM
akimoa's Avatar
akimoa akimoa is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London ,England
Posts: 129
the only guy with a lion 32bit kernel is smartie77 all he did is he compiled one from the sources but he didn't involve any patching talked to him about that and exualy the rest without one boots it with arch=i386 so why would it need a patch if it boots already in 32bit mode ? vanilla offcourse only



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.



AMD Phenom x4 955 3,2 GHZ Black Edition
Graka:
ATI HD 5770 (Batmobil) 1 GB DDR5 (GIGABYTE)
Lion 10.7 Kexts / Vervet Framebuffer
Mem:
8 GIG RAM Kingston 4x2
OS:
Snow Leopard Retail 10.6.8 Legacy Kernel V8 2
AnV cparm Boot Beta 3
Mobo:
GA-MA-770 UD3 (GIGABYTE)
AMD Tutorial (German)
Another AMD Tutorial (English)
http://f.cl.ly/items/0M2n330k2r2j2L1q2a2g/logo.png
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes