InfiniteMac OSx86  


View Poll Results: Which cpu are you using?
Pentium 4/EE 0 0%
Intel Core/CoreDuo/Core2Duo 21 37.50%
Intel Xeon and Core i7 3 5.36%
Intel Celeron and Atom 5 8.93%
AMD Athlon 64/X2/FX 19 33.93%
AMD Phenom (all) 3 5.36%
AMD Opteron (all) 2 3.57%
AMD Sempron 1 1.79%
AMD Turion/X2 1 1.79%
Other 8 14.29%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 56. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2009, 08:09 PM
naquaada's Avatar
naquaada naquaada is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,216
Which cpu are you using?

I wanted to start a poll of the cpu models we are using in the community. It's mainly because I'm using rather rare Opteron Server CPUs which may be different to consumer models and are perhaps 'forgotten' in some kexts or new kernel versions.

I could imagine that Athlon 64 FX cpus are also not often used.

2 Opteron systems: OSx86 10.5.8, Andy's 9.8.0 kernel, Asus A8N-SLI Premium, Opteron 185 o'clocked @ 2 x 2,95 GHz (2nd system 2.6 GHz), ATI Radeon HD2600XT 256MB Dual-Monitor 2x HP L2035, 4 GB RAM, Griffin FireWave as main audio device, Marvell + nForce LAN, Asus U3S6 USB3/SATA6 card, 5,5 TB harddisk, Firewire 800 card, Apple Remote + eHome IR receiver, 2x Wacom serial graphics tablet, Canon Pixma iP4700, Logitech Internet Navigator wireless keyboard/mouse combination.

My Audio stuff: M-Audio Transit USB (default audio), M-Audio ProFire 610, M-Audio ProFire Lightbridge (34 channels) using Creamware A16 ADAT converter MIDI: M-Audio Midiman 4x MIDI interfaceBehringer Audio Mixers: Xenyx 1002, Xenyx 1002FX, Xenyx 1202FX, Eurorack UB1002FX, Eurorack MX1804FX, Eurorack MX262A • FX devices: Lexicon MPX100 DSP, Behringer DSP-1000 Virtualizer, Behringer MiniFEX 800 DSP, Behringer Multicom Pro MDX4400 compressor RETRO: MSSIAH midi/sequencer/synthesizer cardridge for the C64 (Dual-SID), Steinberg M.S.I. MIDI Interface for C64

Last edited by naquaada; 04-27-2009 at 10:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2009, 09:56 PM
Taisto's Avatar
Taisto Taisto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TriCity, Poland
Posts: 517
AMD Turion 64X2 TL-52 on board here. Working with rather no problems - but as hot as most AMD Cpus i guess.

@added : using 10.5.6 right now. And SB450 as well.


www.ultimae.com
Panoramic music, for panoramic people.

AMD Phenom II X6 3.5Ghz
AMD 990FX Chipset
Kingston HyperX 16GB 1600Mhz
AMD Radeon HD6850 X2 CrossFire
Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB

Last edited by Taisto; 04-28-2009 at 07:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2009, 10:19 PM
naquaada's Avatar
naquaada naquaada is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,216
It's depending on the OS, too. 10.5.6 is about 6°C hotter than 10.5.3 on the same machine.

2 Opteron systems: OSx86 10.5.8, Andy's 9.8.0 kernel, Asus A8N-SLI Premium, Opteron 185 o'clocked @ 2 x 2,95 GHz (2nd system 2.6 GHz), ATI Radeon HD2600XT 256MB Dual-Monitor 2x HP L2035, 4 GB RAM, Griffin FireWave as main audio device, Marvell + nForce LAN, Asus U3S6 USB3/SATA6 card, 5,5 TB harddisk, Firewire 800 card, Apple Remote + eHome IR receiver, 2x Wacom serial graphics tablet, Canon Pixma iP4700, Logitech Internet Navigator wireless keyboard/mouse combination.

My Audio stuff: M-Audio Transit USB (default audio), M-Audio ProFire 610, M-Audio ProFire Lightbridge (34 channels) using Creamware A16 ADAT converter MIDI: M-Audio Midiman 4x MIDI interfaceBehringer Audio Mixers: Xenyx 1002, Xenyx 1002FX, Xenyx 1202FX, Eurorack UB1002FX, Eurorack MX1804FX, Eurorack MX262A • FX devices: Lexicon MPX100 DSP, Behringer DSP-1000 Virtualizer, Behringer MiniFEX 800 DSP, Behringer Multicom Pro MDX4400 compressor RETRO: MSSIAH midi/sequencer/synthesizer cardridge for the C64 (Dual-SID), Steinberg M.S.I. MIDI Interface for C64
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2009, 10:24 PM
andyvand's Avatar
andyvand andyvand is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tienen
Posts: 515
Intel Celeron M 420 on ATI based laptop board...
ATI SB450 south bridge
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2009, 09:28 PM
erick2red's Avatar
erick2red erick2red is offline
Tiger
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Posts: 303
I'm buying a AMD Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition, and already buy it an AMD Athlon X2 QL-62 (Turion) too, juts waiting to get it to install.

CPU: Intel Pentium Dual E2140 1.6 GHz. Graphics: Intel(R) 82945G (128 MB). Board: Asus P5GC-TVM/S Chipset: Intel Lakeport-G i945GC. HDD: 232 Gb S-ATA Samsung
Version 10.6.2 32bit. Kernel: Vanilla. Audio: VoodooHDA 0.2.2 with prefpane. Video: Stock GMA. PS2 fix: VoodooPS2
USB 2 not working

Acer Aspire 4530-6823
CPU: AMD Athlon™ X2 QL-62 2.0GHz. Graphics: Integrated GeForce® 9100M G. Chipset: nForce® MCP77MH.

Last edited by erick2red; 04-29-2009 at 06:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2009, 04:35 AM
HappyQuadCore HappyQuadCore is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 13
Checked Other for Core 2 Quad Q8200

Running 10.5.6 loaded from iPC OSx86, EFI system.

Intel DG43NB, ICH10, Ethernet Intel 82567V, Audio Realtek ALC888VC, nVidia 9400 GT, Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33 GHz, 4GB, SATA WD 500GB, DVD Sony DRU-865S
EFI v9 courtesy iPC OSx86 10.5.6 - Updates via Software Update!

God made man knowing his new creation would not live up to Gods' own standards, so God gave him a loophole, ignorance. Now man can exist in their imperfect state and God won't have to squish him. So, if I am ignorant at times, chill. God made me that way.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2009, 07:00 AM
Wayang-NT's Avatar
Wayang-NT Wayang-NT is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 28
use Core2Quad .... Q6600 .....

E7500@4.1GHz, GA-EP43-UD3L, OCZ BLADE 4GB kit 1066
DA 9600GT 512MB
2x 640GB + 2x 1TB WDC, Pioneer DVR SATA, Dell S2209W DVI
Seven Ultimate
Lion Server
Snow Leopard Server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2009, 07:28 AM
oneshot's Avatar
oneshot oneshot is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 242
I have a AMD Athon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200 + 2.70 GHz

Mac OS X 10.5.5 Voodoo 9.5.0 2.7 GHz AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+ 2 GB 1334 MHz DDR2 NVIDIA GeForce 9500M-M MB Maxtor 75 GB IDE
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:29 AM
Valentine
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Of course mine
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:53 AM
NebKiwi's Avatar
NebKiwi NebKiwi is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Christchurch, NZ & Devon, UK
Posts: 55
Cpu

I have an Intel Atom in my nettop, running vanilla kernel and then, Core 2 duo in my MacBook (obviously).



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


Previously known as NebulOSX. MacBook, 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo Penryn, 2GB RAM, x3100 Graphics. - Mac Nano (Benchmarks)- Gigabyte GA-GC230D, Intel Atom 230 1.7GHZ (Overclocked), 2GB 533Mhz RAM, Mac OS X Leopard: Boot132 Method. ULTRAcheap build. With desktop GMA950 graphics fix.

My Twitter
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes