InfiniteMac OSx86  

🌅 Dive into Web3 and Crypto, join FTX! 🚀

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2009, 11:28 AM
fman1234's Avatar
fman1234 fman1234 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
iDeneb Endless reboot loop...

So i finally managed to install iDeneb 10.5.4 V1 on my system (specs in sig). It finishes the installation fine.. and when it said to reboot i pressed the reboot button and it just hung with a grey screen and the pointer.. so i manually rebooted it. Took the disc out and it tries to load but after a couple of seconds it reboots.. loaded into -v mode but it loaded everything too fast to know what it was upto when it reboots.

I formatted the hard drive with disc utility (Mac something journal?) and that was all fine. What could be the problem?

Cheers,
Fman

EDIT: I didnt customise my installation just did a standard one

Soon to be HACKINTOSH
CPU: Celeron D 2.2GHZ
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-8S648FX-775
( North-bridge: SiS648FX
South-bridge: SiS964 MuTIOLŽ Media I/O )
RAM: 2GB DDR-333 Kingston
HDD: 40GB IDE (Will upgrade to SATA)
Graphics: ATI Radeon 9800Pro
DVD Drive: IDE LG DVD Burner
Network: TP-LINK Wireless Card

Looking to install iPC release!

Last edited by fman1234; 01-09-2009 at 11:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:10 PM
McMadd's Avatar
McMadd McMadd is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
I had the exact same issue on my install (detail in this thread).
Because it didn't give me any proper error to work with I soon forgot about iDeneb and tried iPC.
Of course iPC also wasn't flawless the first time but at least it booted and gave me the ol' "Still waiting for root device".

Since you already mention it in your sig. my advise would be to try iPC. The only customization you should do is add support for your chipset.
(I don't know anything about which one you should use but I'm sure you can find it here or on InsanelyMac).

Good luck!

Code:
CPU : AMD Athlon64 X2 5600+ Dual-Core 2.9GHz
MB  : ASRock AliveNF6G-GLAN
Mem : 4Gb (2x 2GB, PC-6400 DDR-II 800MHz)
Chip: nForce 430
GFX : Integr. NVIDIAŽ GeForce 6150SE, 256MB shared
LAN : Gigabit LAN 10/100/1000 Mb/s, Giga PHY Realtek RTL8211B
Snd : ALC662 Audio Codec
HD  : SATA 7200RPM 250GB
DVD : SATA 22x DVD rewriter

Running iPC Public release.
Shared mem. GFX will probably never work. Replacement is underway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2009, 01:42 PM
fman1234's Avatar
fman1234 fman1234 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Nothing :(

I might have to forget about iDeneb.. I'll download iPC's release tonight and patch all the latest PPF's to them..

If anyone still has any idea's on why iDeneb won't boot then please post stilll..

Cheers,
Fman

Soon to be HACKINTOSH
CPU: Celeron D 2.2GHZ
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-8S648FX-775
( North-bridge: SiS648FX
South-bridge: SiS964 MuTIOLŽ Media I/O )
RAM: 2GB DDR-333 Kingston
HDD: 40GB IDE (Will upgrade to SATA)
Graphics: ATI Radeon 9800Pro
DVD Drive: IDE LG DVD Burner
Network: TP-LINK Wireless Card

Looking to install iPC release!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:41 PM
Voyn1x's Avatar
Voyn1x Voyn1x is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 554
Instant reboot is normally caused by the incorrect choice of kernel.

You may find a vanilla kernel is installed if you don't select anything, so just reinstall and make sure you choose a patched one like voodoo.

Mac OS X 10.6.4 Retail || Intel Core2 Duo E8200 2.66GHz || Gigabyte G31M-ES2L || GeForce 6600 GT 128MB || Realtek ALC883 Audio || Realtek RTL8169 LAN || Samsung SpinPoint F1 1TB HD || Sony Dual Layer IDE DVD RW DW-D22A || Apple Aluminium Keyboard || Mighty Mouse

MacBook Pro || 2.4Ghz Core 2 Duo || 200Gb HD || 2Gb Ram || NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT

iPhone 4 || 16Gb
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:53 PM
fman1234's Avatar
fman1234 fman1234 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voyn1x View Post
Instant reboot is normally caused by the incorrect choice of kernel.

You may find a vanilla kernel is installed if you don't select anything, so just reinstall and make sure you choose a patched one like voodoo.
Thanks very much.. I'll try and install voodoo and we'll see how it goes..

umm is it possible just to change the kernel and then once everything is up and running add more drivers (kexts? is that what they are called) etc?

Cheers,
Fman

Edit: There is no Voodoo kernel so i'll just try the other ones

Soon to be HACKINTOSH
CPU: Celeron D 2.2GHZ
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-8S648FX-775
( North-bridge: SiS648FX
South-bridge: SiS964 MuTIOLŽ Media I/O )
RAM: 2GB DDR-333 Kingston
HDD: 40GB IDE (Will upgrade to SATA)
Graphics: ATI Radeon 9800Pro
DVD Drive: IDE LG DVD Burner
Network: TP-LINK Wireless Card

Looking to install iPC release!

Last edited by fman1234; 01-09-2009 at 03:01 PM. Reason: Added more info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2009, 03:18 AM
fman1234's Avatar
fman1234 fman1234 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
Which kernel do i use for my system? on iDeneb V1 10.5.4

Soon to be HACKINTOSH
CPU: Celeron D 2.2GHZ
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-8S648FX-775
( North-bridge: SiS648FX
South-bridge: SiS964 MuTIOLŽ Media I/O )
RAM: 2GB DDR-333 Kingston
HDD: 40GB IDE (Will upgrade to SATA)
Graphics: ATI Radeon 9800Pro
DVD Drive: IDE LG DVD Burner
Network: TP-LINK Wireless Card

Looking to install iPC release!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2010, 06:01 AM
bizkarl bizkarl is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Talking Reboot Loop

Hi I found a solution to a reboot loop error I had with an old kaliway 10.4 disk and a newer iPC 10.5.6 disk. This error occurred on 3 different PCs; A Lenovo Idea Center k210, a new HP Elite PC (intel i7), and a new ASUS laptop.

I found a website that explained all the flag options to pass to the bootup loader after pressing F8. http://apple2pc.blogspot.com/2008/02...t-options.html

I typed this: -v -x cpus=1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2010, 07:57 PM
CrazyXBMax CrazyXBMax is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
@fman1234
There is an description on the bottom of the installer. If your processor is sse2 I think you have to choose voodoo kernel. It should work then.



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.

Reply With Quote