InfiniteMac OSx86  

🌅 Dive into Web3 and Crypto, join FTX! 🚀

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2008, 06:31 PM
KingBecks KingBecks is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
Installing OS X on an AMD Phenom

First I have to say, that im not american or english, so i want to apologize for every mistake im going to do
Now my problem: A few weeks ago i got a new pc, which looks like that:
Mainboard: ASUS M3N78-EH (nForce 730a)
GraphicCard: Gainward NVidia 9600
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 9950

Now i wanted to ask if its possible for me to use macOS. If so, then please tell me where to download the stuff i need. thanks

Last edited by KingBecks; 12-15-2008 at 05:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2008, 07:44 AM
nfoav8or's Avatar
nfoav8or nfoav8or is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingBecks View Post
First I have to say, that im not american or english, so i want to apologize for every mistake im going to do.
Now my problem: A few weeks ago i got a new pc, which looks like that:
Mainboard: ASUS M3N78-EH (nForce 730a)
GraphicCard: Gainward NVidia 9600
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 9950

Now i wanted to ask if its possible for me to use macOS. If so, then please tell me where to download the stuff i need. thanks
We can tell you WHAT to download, but not where... this forum does not wish to establish any connection with any torrent sites which point trackers to people seeding this stuff all over the world on the net.

Next, check around for the support of nForce 730... before reading any other distros support sites, the first thought that comes to my mind is LawlessPPC's 10.5.4 AMD distro. This was a great Phenom supporter and still is the best (IMO). You might have support from iDeneb (although I am not sure about their Phenom support). Best of luck searching the sea for a pirated version ;-)... little torrent humor there for ya.. Har Har... OK its late. I'm going to bed.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2008, 09:06 PM
KingBecks KingBecks is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
After I startet the Lawless-PCC DVD the system holds on with the following issue: "waiting for root device". I think thats because of my chip. Is there any chance for me to get MacOS working?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2008, 09:27 PM
Puttabong's Avatar
Puttabong Puttabong is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Berlin
Posts: 933
Hi KingBecks,

http://www.infinitemac.com/f5/possib...-device-t1467/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2008, 10:26 PM
KingBecks KingBecks is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
Unfortunetly, none of this works for me Anything else I can try??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2008, 10:36 AM
KingBecks KingBecks is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
no ideas??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2008, 11:27 AM
axhi axhi is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 67
You need a distro w/ nforce support. Not sure if Lawless has it but you need to boot with the flag nforce. I know its a common problem with all nforce boards. Look into in this forum or other osx86 forums

.:AMD Machine:.
2.6GHz Quad Phenom 9850.:.Biostar TA790GX.:.8GB DDR2 1066MHz.:.nVidia 8600GT.:.500GB Sata HD.:.Running: LawlessPPc 10.5.4 Update to 10.5.7.:.Voodoo Kernel REV A:.

.:Macbook Pro:.
Intel Core 2 Duo.:.2GB DDR2.:.200GB HD:.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2008, 01:00 PM
nfoav8or's Avatar
nfoav8or nfoav8or is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 933
check over at insanely mac via this link:
http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=127212


however this is only for Intel... I would try to grab any kexts they are using and attempt to fix your install DVD's .iso file with it.


Last edited by nfoav8or; 12-13-2008 at 01:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2008, 01:09 PM
KingBecks KingBecks is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
nfoav8or, as i can see in your signature it is possible to use MacOS with an nForce chipset. Did you do anything special for the instalation?

Some weeks ago i tried to install OpenSuSE on my pc. But I also couldnt connect to my hard drive. I think the 730a is a bit roblematic

Is it possible to get this chip supported by myself or do i have to wait for another version of LawlessPCC?

Last edited by KingBecks; 12-13-2008 at 01:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-13-2008, 01:18 PM
nfoav8or's Avatar
nfoav8or nfoav8or is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 933
well mine's an earlier nForce chipset that doesn't have as many complications... thats why I gave such short advice earlier in the thread... because thats all that was needed for mine to work. It helps that I've got OS X running on my macbook so I can create a flash drive installer that I can edit later and put the correct kexts on it... EXCEPT that the correct kernel extensions are already on these install DVDs that we've been mentioning...

so I'm kind of at a loss as to what is going on with your 730...



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes