InfiniteMac OSx86  

🌅 Dive into Web3 and Crypto, join FTX! 🚀

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2008, 12:27 AM
Seawane's Avatar
Seawane Seawane is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 26
Little problems with Phenom, voodoo, Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3

Hello guys,
I'm booting a vanilla install with the EFI partition on a Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 board and a Phenom cpu using the Voodoo kernel. Almost everything is working perfectly and even did the 10.5.6 update without nothing to worry about. But I have a tiny problem with the shutdown on this mobo(I used to have a MSI K9A2 which didn't have that problem). It just says that it safe to turn it off from the button. If someone is using a similar mobo, please share your experience. The other little problem i s that my CPU speed isn't shown correctly. In the About This Mac it says 4.3GHz Unknown, in the system profiler it says 18.63GHz, and Geekbench shows "AMD Phenom 9500 Quad-Core @ 719 THz (4 cores)" !!! I tried with different AppleSMBIOS.kext and still nothing. When I'm using the voodoo kernel with the Lawless' version it shows the speed correctly. So do you have an idea, how to fix that also?
Thanks.

AMD Phenom II 945 || Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 || A-DATA 4GB kit DDR2 800 || Galaxy 9800GT Low Power || 320GB (SATA) || USB DAC || Optiarc DVDRW (PATA) || CM Mystique 631S Case || Asus PW201 || Apple Aluminum Keyboard + Mighty Mouse + Remote
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2008, 12:50 AM
LawlessPPC's Avatar
LawlessPPC LawlessPPC is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 506
regarding shutdown review bios settings sounds like an acpi issue to me

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:07 AM
nexusmac nexusmac is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 114
This is because of the 10.5.6 update. after update , I saw that CPU 4 Ghz and ı am happy , I have new CPU I think they changed some kexts and because of this, it seems so and system profiler also does not show hardware info.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:08 AM
nexusmac nexusmac is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 114
I forgot that I dont have AMD CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2008, 01:17 AM
Seawane's Avatar
Seawane Seawane is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 26
@LawlessPPC - I can't find anything in the BIOS which could be related...


@nexusmac - for me it was the same with 10.5.4. It should be some kext which I'm missing.

Lawless, do you see the correct speed on your computer?

AMD Phenom II 945 || Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 || A-DATA 4GB kit DDR2 800 || Galaxy 9800GT Low Power || 320GB (SATA) || USB DAC || Optiarc DVDRW (PATA) || CM Mystique 631S Case || Asus PW201 || Apple Aluminum Keyboard + Mighty Mouse + Remote
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2008, 02:32 AM
inhibitor inhibitor is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Seawane, in BIOS look for power saving options, enable advanced mode or enable some of them (like if you don't want that system spins down HDD u could set it to never, thus it will be not disabled as an option).

Mac OS X 10.5.5 on Voodoo Kernel
CPU : AMD Phenom 9850 BE
MB : Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DQ6
RAM : 4Gb @ 1066Mhz
GPU : ATI HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2008, 04:49 PM
Seawane's Avatar
Seawane Seawane is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 26
I don't have these options I tried everything that the BIOS can do about it, and still nothing.

AMD Phenom II 945 || Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 || A-DATA 4GB kit DDR2 800 || Galaxy 9800GT Low Power || 320GB (SATA) || USB DAC || Optiarc DVDRW (PATA) || CM Mystique 631S Case || Asus PW201 || Apple Aluminum Keyboard + Mighty Mouse + Remote
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-26-2008, 12:14 AM
Seawane's Avatar
Seawane Seawane is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 26
any other ideas for the shutdown problem?

AMD Phenom II 945 || Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 || A-DATA 4GB kit DDR2 800 || Galaxy 9800GT Low Power || 320GB (SATA) || USB DAC || Optiarc DVDRW (PATA) || CM Mystique 631S Case || Asus PW201 || Apple Aluminum Keyboard + Mighty Mouse + Remote
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-27-2008, 02:59 AM
nfoav8or's Avatar
nfoav8or nfoav8or is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seawane View Post
any other ideas for the shutdown problem?
have you tried the PowerOff_Fix.pkg that iDeneb v1.3 has on it?

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-27-2008, 03:57 PM
Seawane's Avatar
Seawane Seawane is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 26
yes I've tried it... it doesn't work...



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


AMD Phenom II 945 || Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 || A-DATA 4GB kit DDR2 800 || Galaxy 9800GT Low Power || 320GB (SATA) || USB DAC || Optiarc DVDRW (PATA) || CM Mystique 631S Case || Asus PW201 || Apple Aluminum Keyboard + Mighty Mouse + Remote
Reply With Quote