InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2012, 01:51 AM
todesto's Avatar
todesto todesto is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Irvine
Posts: 66
Are AMD w/ SL doomed?

AMD can't get lion....which means
no iCloud.....

now NO Messages!

I invested so much in my system that I don't want to change to Intel for now....

Do we really have to switch over to intel if we want lion or moutain lion?



Moved to INTEL
i5-2500K / GA-Z77-DS3H / HD5770
OS X 10.7.4 all working!
Win 7 ultimate running on Parallel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2012, 05:23 PM
no1youknowz no1youknowz is offline
Puma
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by todesto View Post
Do we really have to switch over to intel if we want lion or moutain lion?
Yeah, I had to chuckle at this myself. If you check out another thread here, there was a flurry of activity and now it has all gone silent.

Maybe they hit a road block or have stopped, who knows.

Like you, I've got a nice AMD system which does everything I want it to. But I think with Mountain Lion, if it runs nicely on Intel I might just go out and get another box. Is a shame as I'd happily do with ML in a VM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2012, 12:54 AM
todesto's Avatar
todesto todesto is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Irvine
Posts: 66
Can you run lion or M Lion on VM on AMD?



Moved to INTEL
i5-2500K / GA-Z77-DS3H / HD5770
OS X 10.7.4 all working!
Win 7 ultimate running on Parallel
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2012, 05:17 PM
davisin666 davisin666 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by todesto View Post
Can you run lion or M Lion on VM on AMD?
No, VM's use your processor, so if you have an AMD cpu, it will be the same like trying to run Lion without the VM.

So we are here, hopeless
Looks like we will have to spend some bux to buy an expensive Intel platform...

System
  • MoBo: MSI K9N2GM-FD, Chipset GeForce 8200 (MCP78)
  • CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ @3,02 Ghz
  • RAM: Kingston 2GB DDR2 800Mhz + Corsair 2GB DDR2 800Mhz @747Mhz
  • VGA: EVGA 9800GT SSC
  • HDD: 300GB WD SATAII
  • Optical Drive: Sony SATA 24X
  • OS: Vanilla Mac OS X Server 10.6.0 + Nawcom ModCD, upgraded to 10.6.8 and Windows 7 x64.
Everything works, except sleep, so system isn't Energy Star compilant .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2012, 01:32 AM
alaskan's Avatar
alaskan alaskan is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Central Arizona Desert
Posts: 4
near as I can tell you just need a motherboard and Intel processor. All your other stuff should go right onto it.

Done right, that might run you 200 bucks.

I am still hoping Anv will be able to come up with an AMD kernel for Lion, and hopefully Mt. Lion, also.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2012, 09:42 PM
sulphide sulphide is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 37
As i can see, Billdozer supports all needed CPU instructions and I it is interesting can it run native kernel or slightly pathced kernel? got FX-8150 and can't wait the patched kernel
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2012, 11:56 PM
todesto's Avatar
todesto todesto is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Irvine
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by alaskan View Post
near as I can tell you just need a motherboard and Intel processor. All your other stuff should go right onto it.

Done right, that might run you 200 bucks.

I am still hoping Anv will be able to come up with an AMD kernel for Lion, and hopefully Mt. Lion, also.
I actually did research switching to Intel and you are right. I just need M/B and CPU. I figure decent Gigabyte board and i5 would run $250-$280 which would be better cpu than what I have.

But I don't want to spend all that money just so that I can run Lion or Mountain Lion to get iCloud or messages. I have nearly perfect system running with 10.6.8 retail and 10.6.7 hazard as backup and virtually have no issue (almost no panic, sleep works, all USB port, facetime, photobooth, iLife, sound works, Parallels running without any issue under 64bit userland) and i figure iCloud and message doesn't justify spending $$$.
I got iPhone and iPad on the side as well.

I really hope nawcom or Andy creates a miracle for us.
We just need AMD kernel right?
I could totally spend time working on that if I knew as much as those geniuses.



Moved to INTEL
i5-2500K / GA-Z77-DS3H / HD5770
OS X 10.7.4 all working!
Win 7 ultimate running on Parallel

Last edited by todesto; 03-01-2012 at 07:07 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2012, 03:49 PM
davisin666 davisin666 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by todesto View Post
I actually did research switching to Intel and you are right. I just need M/B and CPU. I figure decent Gigabyte board and i5 would run $250-$280 which would be better cpu than what I have.

But I don't want to spend all that money just so that I can run Lion or Mountain Lion to get iCloud or messages. I have nearly perfect system running with 10.6.8 retail and 10.6.7 hazard as backup and virtually have no issue (almost no panic, sleep works, all USB port, facetime, photobooth, iLife, sound works, Parallels running without any issue under 64bit userland) and i figure iCloud and message will justify spending that.
I got iPhone and iPad on the side as well.

I really hope nawcom or Andy creates a miracle for us.
We just need AMD kernel right?
I could totally spend time working on that if I knew as much as those geniuses.
How do you fixed sleep???
Sleep is the only thing that doesn't work on my pc (And the IDE channel)

System
  • MoBo: MSI K9N2GM-FD, Chipset GeForce 8200 (MCP78)
  • CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ @3,02 Ghz
  • RAM: Kingston 2GB DDR2 800Mhz + Corsair 2GB DDR2 800Mhz @747Mhz
  • VGA: EVGA 9800GT SSC
  • HDD: 300GB WD SATAII
  • Optical Drive: Sony SATA 24X
  • OS: Vanilla Mac OS X Server 10.6.0 + Nawcom ModCD, upgraded to 10.6.8 and Windows 7 x64.
Everything works, except sleep, so system isn't Energy Star compilant .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2012, 09:19 PM
todesto's Avatar
todesto todesto is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Irvine
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by davisin666 View Post
How do you fixed sleep???
Sleep is the only thing that doesn't work on my pc (And the IDE channel)
Honestly, I don't know how I did it.
When I first installed 10.5, sleep never worked, it would try to go to sleep, then it will wake up by itself, also when I used sleepenabler and put to sleep, it would sleep but the fan (CPU, PW,VGA) still ran!

When SL came out, I installed 10.6.2 Hazard but still no sleep. I never had a issue not dectecting IDE channels as two of my optical drives are IDE and reads the disc in there fine.

Updated to 10.6.3, 10.6.5, 10.6.6 still no sleep.

Then when I went to 10.6.7 with Nawcom Lecacy kernel with sleepenabler for 10.6.7 and latest chameleon at that time. But no multibeast...... Voila!
Sleep worked.

Maybe it has to do with Sleepenabler.kext and combination of Chameleon bootloader and kernel.

I now have that setup as back up and spent time installing Retail verson 10.6.3 with Nawcom bootCD, and updated to 10.6.8 with latest chameleon, sleepenabler 10.6.8, AnV V8-R2 kernel for 64bit userland and sleep still works.

I hear so many stories about sleep and I tried every possible way and I almost gave up, but since 10.6.7, it started to sleep.
Also, I need to mention BIOS setting. I could either put S3 or Auto, and both still works. I have Cool n Quite enabled and PWM is set at silent.
I even overclock my CPU and enable 4 core active and seems to have no issue.

My mobo is ASUS M4A78T-E (3 year old system) so I don't know if my situation would work on yours. Good Luck.



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.




Moved to INTEL
i5-2500K / GA-Z77-DS3H / HD5770
OS X 10.7.4 all working!
Win 7 ultimate running on Parallel

Last edited by todesto; 02-20-2012 at 09:23 PM.
Reply With Quote