View Single Post

Old 11-08-2009, 07:45 AM
Cheetah

NIXin,

Thanks for the helpful article... I spent most of the day trying to install this on a drive for my X61s and haven't succeeded yet... I'm a noob to the Apple world, and the learning curve is steep. I bought a new WD 320 GB Drive to install Snow Leopard on, installed it in a USB2 external case, partitioned it with 1 partition, Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and GUID.

I was a bit stumped, but with a little help from the net, I found out how to configure Finder to show hidden files and folders so I could run OSInstall.mpkg. After that, the installation went smoothly, I dragged & dropped dsdt.aml to the drive's root. Then I backed up the 3 kexts I was to remove and deleted the originals from my hard drive, backed up the kext I was to replace, then I dragged and dropped all the new kexts to the '/System/Installation/Packages' directory- ist this how I was supposed to install the kexts, or was I supposed to use something like 'kexthelper'??? (for 'VdooPS2Controller', I used it's own installer).

I didn't add the Atheros ID because I've got an Intel 4965AGN adapter (is there a kext or solution for this???) Not too big of a deal if I don't get this to work right away because I've got a Sierra Wireless USB broadband adapter thats supported on Apple computers.

Everything went pretty smoothly until this point. I have zero experience with Terminal, but I followed your instructions to the 'T'. When I type in the commands, I get 'No such file or directory'. I tried prefixing the commands with sudo -s in case it was a user permissions problem, tried using the paths:

'/Volumes/Snow Leopard/System/Library/Extensions/* ' ,
'/Volumes/Snow_Leopard/System/Library/Extensions/* ' ,
'/Volumes/SNOW LEOPARD/System/Library/Extensions/* ' ,
'/Volumes/SNOW_LEOPARD/System/Library/Extensions/* ' ,