InfiniteMac OSx86  
  #1  
Old 09-20-2010, 11:10 AM
georgegeorge georgegeorge is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
What's wrong with my boot.plist?

CPU is i7 980X
Graphics card is nVidia Fermi

After I installed Snow Leopard 10.6.3, bootloader (PC EFI) keeps restarting my computer after I click the hard drive with the Apple icon where the OS is installed.

Could my 12 GB of RAM be the issue? I hear Snow Leopard will restart if there are more than 4 GB of RAM.

So I altered the com.apple.Boot.plist file in Library\Preferences\SystemConfiguration with Notepad:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>-v -f -x cpus=1 busratio=25 maxmem=4096</string>
<string>rd=disk0s2</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1280x1024x32</string>
<key>Boot Graphics</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Quiet Boot</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>5</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Even though all the boot flags go through and screen resolution changes with "1280x1024x32", when I add maxmem=4096, the bootloader still shows "12279MB memory" on the upper left corner and computer restarts again. Why is the maxmem=4096 string not working? With Windows msconfig I am able to reduce the amount of RAM available to 4GB, so I know my RAM's not at fault.

boot.plist is the only file I modified. Are there any other files that need modifying to boot Snow Leopard? Perhaps mach_kernel or smbios.plist? I read something about a DSDT file but I don't understand what it is nor where to find it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2010, 09:04 AM
Nameci's Avatar
Nameci Nameci is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
why not remove the other 6 gb and try if you will the same problem?

Hasee W230N  iAtkos S3 v2 10.6.3 updated to 10.6.4 via Apple Software Update . Intel T8300 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo
Intel Mobile GM965 ICH8 . Intel X3100 . Atheros Ar9280 WiFi . Realtek RTL8101E . ALC 883 . Optiarc DVD+RW . KingSpec MLC SSD 32Gb SATA

"Do I want a real Mac? Yes of course!!!"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2010, 06:29 PM
Taisto's Avatar
Taisto Taisto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TriCity, Poland
Posts: 517
Try what Nameci suggested.

But on the other hand - were you able to boot this install earlier ? Cause to be honest i don't think this is a problem related to the memory. Does it reboot instantly after you hit enter ? With no info/text on the screen ?



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.



www.ultimae.com
Panoramic music, for panoramic people.

AMD Phenom II X6 3.5Ghz
AMD 990FX Chipset
Kingston HyperX 16GB 1600Mhz
AMD Radeon HD6850 X2 CrossFire
Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB
Reply With Quote