InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:09 AM
pentiumpc pentiumpc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Various DSDT mods.

There are many threads on installing OS X with DSDT override, if you do that you can mod it to fix and activate some features.

Things you can do/fix.
1. Activate the PWRB - Power button.
2. fix the blank display on System Wake.
3. Activate Clamshell sleep with Clamshell.kext. (superhai depreciating it)
4. Activate the ASUS Hotkeys.

Unconfirmed fix.
1. USB sleep issue. (works on my 1000H but not on my DS3L.)

that is generally what I found out last weekend, if you have more to share please feel free to chip in.
All these tested working on my systems, you will have to try if you don't have the same specs as me.
You can use this finds as a reference for your own fix.

Last edited by pentiumpc; 01-19-2009 at 06:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:18 AM
pentiumpc pentiumpc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Activate your Power button.

change _HID to _CID

Device (PWRB)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0C0C")) ---> Name (_CID, EisaId ("PNP0C0C"))
Name (_UID, 0xAA)
Name (_STA, 0x0B)
}


This one I got it off some site, cannot remember where. (credit goes to him/her)
This will activate your power button to bring up the shutdown menu.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture 1.jpg (23.2 KB, 4116 views)

Last edited by pentiumpc; 01-19-2009 at 06:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:38 AM
pentiumpc pentiumpc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Fix blank screen on wake..

On the 1000H, the screen is blank on wake, you will need to press the brightness key to turn it on. Current fix is to use Sleep watcher and Reggie to write direct to turn it on.

By modding the DSDT to set brightness, you can fix this issue.

Method (WAK, 1, NotSerialized) //WAKE up
{
\_SB.PCI0.SBRG.EC0.EC0W (Arg0)
\_SB.PCI0.NWAK (Arg0)
\_SB.PCI0.SBRG.SWAK (Arg0)
LPWK (Arg0)
Store(\_SB.ATKD.PBLG(),local0) //---> Get Brightness level from NVS
\_SB.ATKD.PBLS(local0) //---> Set Brightness level.

}

Add the 2 red lines to reset the brightness on wake.

Your Method name might be different on your system, look for something similar.
you also need to find out which method to get and set brightness.
can be used for some other issue.

ASUS EEEPC 1000H - Atom N270 - 2GB RAM, 500GD HD.
OSX 10.5.6 (vanilla)

Gigabyte P35-DS3L, E2180, 2 GB RAM, 2 1 TB HD, GT8800 512M.
OSX 10.5.6 (vanilla)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:53 AM
pentiumpc pentiumpc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Clamshell sleep.

Most portable system don't sleep on closing the LID, I tried to find a DSDT fix for it but cannot find it. (google is my best friend.) so I wrote 1 to fix my own.

If you have a better or alternative method, please let me know. Thanks.

Device (LID0)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0C0D")) //LID detection
Method (_PRW, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Return (Package (0x02)
{
0x0B,
0x04
})
}
Name (LIDS, One)
Method (_LID, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Store (^^PCI0.SBRG.EC0.SF13, LIDS) //LID register
XOr (LIDS, One, Local0)
IF (Local0) //if LID is closed
{
Notify (SLPB, 0x80) //Set system to sleep
}
Return (LIDS)
}


LID device should be easy to find, just need to add a line to notify the system to sleep.

On most system, (I think) depends on the OS to set the system to sleep bit OS X don't understand the notification sent by the LID device, so I did it in the hardware instead.

ASUS EEEPC 1000H - Atom N270 - 2GB RAM, 500GD HD.
OSX 10.5.6 (vanilla)

Gigabyte P35-DS3L, E2180, 2 GB RAM, 2 1 TB HD, GT8800 512M.
OSX 10.5.6 (vanilla)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2009, 07:18 AM
pentiumpc pentiumpc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
activating the ASUS Hotkey.

if you look at your IOreg tree and you can see "ASUS010" or "ATKD" that mean you have a Asus hotkey device, you FN+Fx buttons will work.

you will have to find out what keys send what ACPI notifications, I made a KEXt to log and analyze the Notification code, then I look at the _GPE scope to find the corresponding interrupt. once all that is mapped out, I added codes to to toggle functions to turn on and off.

now I can turn on and off , Backlight, WIFI, Bluetooth, Card reader, Webcam, adjust brightness etc. Still figuring out some functions, key switching to ext monitor, setting FSB etc.

Sample code..
Method (CAMS, 1, Serialized) //Camera Set
{
Return (OCMS (Arg0))
}

Method (CAMR, 0, Serialized) //Camera toggle : added
{
Store (OCMG (), Local0)
XOr (Local0, One, Local0)
Return (OCMS (Local0))
}

Method (CAMG, 0, Serialized) //Camera Set
{
Return (OCMG ())
}


The code above is very tell tale, it is for switching the Camera on and off.


Method (_Q2A, 0, NotSerialized) //Camera
{
^^^^ATKD.CAMR() //Toggle Camera
ATKN (0x1D) //notify ATKD
}


the interrupt handler to service the event.

ASUS EEEPC 1000H - Atom N270 - 2GB RAM, 500GD HD.
OSX 10.5.6 (vanilla)

Gigabyte P35-DS3L, E2180, 2 GB RAM, 2 1 TB HD, GT8800 512M.
OSX 10.5.6 (vanilla)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2009, 07:28 AM
pentiumpc pentiumpc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
USB sleep fix

Device (HPET)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0103"))
Name (_CID, EisaId ("PNP0C01"))
Name (CRS, ResourceTemplate ()
{
Memory32Fixed (ReadOnly,
0xFED00000, // Address Base
0x00000400, // Address Length
_Y03)
})
OperationRegion (^LPCR, SystemMemory, 0xFED1F404, 0x04)
Field (LPCR, AnyAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
{
HPTS, 2,
, 5,
HPTE, 1,
Offset (0x04)
}

Method (_STA, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Return (0x0F)
}


Giving the HPET status a 0x0F seems to fix my USB sleep issue, loosing USB after sleep and no Hot plug on USB ports.

This is not verified, as I did not try to reproduce the problem, not on my piriority list, but my system run 10.5.6 vanilla, with Decrypter, AnV SMBIOS, PS2nub and Controller and openhalt.

No IOUSB fixes. ( it crash my system.)

Update -- this is fixed by DSDT Patcher with -newHPET option. no need Disabler after the patch.

ASUS EEEPC 1000H - Atom N270 - 2GB RAM, 500GD HD.
OSX 10.5.6 (vanilla)

Gigabyte P35-DS3L, E2180, 2 GB RAM, 2 1 TB HD, GT8800 512M.
OSX 10.5.6 (vanilla)

Last edited by pentiumpc; 01-19-2009 at 02:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2010, 02:11 AM
Nameci's Avatar
Nameci Nameci is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentiumpc View Post
Most portable system don't sleep on closing the LID, I tried to find a DSDT fix for it but cannot find it. (google is my best friend.) so I wrote 1 to fix my own.

If you have a better or alternative method, please let me know. Thanks.

Device (LID0)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0C0D")) //LID detection
Method (_PRW, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Return (Package (0x02)
{
0x0B,
0x04
})
}
Name (LIDS, One)
Method (_LID, 0, NotSerialized)
{
Store (^^PCI0.SBRG.EC0.SF13, LIDS) //LID register
XOr (LIDS, One, Local0)
IF (Local0) //if LID is closed
{
Notify (SLPB, 0x80) //Set system to sleep
}
Return (LIDS)
}


LID device should be easy to find, just need to add a line to notify the system to sleep.

On most system, (I think) depends on the OS to set the system to sleep bit OS X don't understand the notification sent by the LID device, so I did it in the hardware instead.
Noob here.

Never did work on my dsdt, I have errors after compiling on which it cannot find the registers. After much of googling, I have edited one value on my dsdt, on the LID0, instead of 0x03 I have made it to 0x04. I have sleep on lid close now, but I still don't have wake on lid open or wake on keyboard press after sleep via Fn+F1.

Here is my DSDT.dsl if somebody care to point me to the right direction.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DSDT.dsl.zip (14.7 KB, 4 views)

Hasee W230N  iAtkos S3 v2 10.6.3 updated to 10.6.4 via Apple Software Update . Intel T8300 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo
Intel Mobile GM965 ICH8 . Intel X3100 . Atheros Ar9280 WiFi . Realtek RTL8101E . ALC 883 . Optiarc DVD+RW . KingSpec MLC SSD 32Gb SATA

"Do I want a real Mac? Yes of course!!!"

Last edited by Nameci; 01-31-2010 at 02:15 AM. Reason: Forgot to attach file
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2010, 11:18 PM
Nameci's Avatar
Nameci Nameci is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
I have repatched the dsdt once again with a fresh one. I delete all dsdt and did the patching once again, i still have sleep on lid close, Fn+F1, on the power button. I can wake thru power button with no problems, I can wake buy plugging or unplugging a usb device. But no wake on lid open or keyboard.

With this dsdt, clamshelldisplay.kext is not necessary anymore, so I have removed this kext.

Btw I have modded my dsdt on LID as almost the same on earlier post by pentiumpc.

Any ideas on how to enabel wake on lid open?

Hasee W230N  iAtkos S3 v2 10.6.3 updated to 10.6.4 via Apple Software Update . Intel T8300 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo
Intel Mobile GM965 ICH8 . Intel X3100 . Atheros Ar9280 WiFi . Realtek RTL8101E . ALC 883 . Optiarc DVD+RW . KingSpec MLC SSD 32Gb SATA

"Do I want a real Mac? Yes of course!!!"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2009, 10:05 AM
sk1nhd33t sk1nhd33t is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by pentiumpc View Post
change _HID to _CID

Device (PWRB)
{
Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0C0C")) ---> Name (_CID, EisaId ("PNP0C0C"))
Name (_UID, 0xAA)
Name (_STA, 0x0B)
}


This one I got it off some site, cannot remember where. (credit goes to him/her)
This will activate your power button to bring up the shutdown menu.

hmm weird, tried doing this on my gigabyte board but the shutdown menu wont show, when i press the power button my hack will just sleep thats it
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2009, 10:03 PM
The Edge3000's Avatar
The Edge3000 The Edge3000 is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk1nhd33t View Post
hmm weird, tried doing this on my gigabyte board but the shutdown menu wont show, when i press the power button my hack will just sleep thats it
Uncheck "Allow power button to put the computer to sleep" in energy saver =P.

Asus P5KC | Q6600 3.02GHz | 4 GB DDR2 887MHz | 9800GTX | 1TB WD Caviar Black

Snow Leopard 10.6.2
Sleep | Vanilla Speedstep | DSDT

Everything you need can be downloaded here.

Leopard 10.5.8 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Windows XP SP3
Reply With Quote
Reply